Track presets 2.0

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Track presets 2.0

Post by noiseboyuk » Sat Mar 10, 2018 6:28 pm

Track presets are a great idea. Sadly, I've never found a use for them until now since the functionality is too restricted - unlike a regular track, you can't even assign a routing when creating a new Track Preset track. Pro Tools may have been 10 years late to the feature, but they have done it exactly right. Here is what would could be improved in Track Presets 2.0:

Save routing (and dialog on loading to change if necessary)
Save sends
Save colour
Save multiple midi tracks and output assignments on Instrument tracks

Some of this can be achieved with Track Archives, but currently that is very clunky and buggy. Track Presets 2.0 would be more elegant.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by noiseboyuk » Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:57 pm

Wow, 222 views and not a single comment. Must just be me that finds Track Presets wanting I guess.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3003
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by Prock » Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:36 pm

Of course +1

FYI...there are a lot of similar FRs for track preset improvements. Like this one and lots of others which are possibly hampering this effort.

viewtopic.php?f=252&t=118198&p=685927&h ... et#p685927

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.40, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

outloaf
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by outloaf » Wed Apr 18, 2018 4:39 pm

Dear Lord, let it happen please.
Windows 7, i7 x950, RME UCX, Cubase 8 Pro, Lavry Converters, Audient ASP008, A-Designs MP2A, Mesa Mark V, 5150, Boogie and Bogner cabs

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by noiseboyuk » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:52 pm

Prock wrote:
Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:36 pm
Of course +1

FYI...there are a lot of similar FRs for track preset improvements. Like this one and lots of others which are possibly hampering this effort.

viewtopic.php?f=252&t=118198&p=685927&h ... et#p685927

Regards. 8-)
Huh - I did a forum search before starting this and came up with zip, but that's a great thread. Added my +1 there, many thanks.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

jules
Junior Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:07 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by jules » Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:45 pm

+1 !
W10 64, Asus prime Z370 a, i7 8700k, 64g ram, ssds, cubase pro 9.5

lordExtra
Junior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by lordExtra » Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:23 pm

Not using track presets at all, they're almost completely pointless at present. Especially as it takes centuries even to be listed due to laggy MediaBay.

+1
HP z820, dual 6core Xeon 2643v3 3.5GHz, 64GB ECC, AMD FirePro 5200, Samsung 850pro, UAD Octo PCIe, 2x RME Raydat, Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Windows 10 LTSB N Redstone, further stripped to the bone with NTLite.

In_Stereo
Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by In_Stereo » Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:42 pm

+1
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1403
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by Stephen57 » Thu May 03, 2018 7:58 pm

noiseboyuk wrote:
Sat Mar 10, 2018 6:28 pm
Track presets are a great idea. Sadly, I've never found a use for them until now since the functionality is too restricted - unlike a regular track, you can't even assign a routing when creating a new Track Preset track. Pro Tools may have been 10 years late to the feature, but they have done it exactly right. Here is what would could be improved in Track Presets 2.0:

Save routing (and dialog on loading to change if necessary)
Save sends
Save colour
Save multiple midi tracks and output assignments on Instrument tracks

Some of this can be achieved with Track Archives, but currently that is very clunky and buggy. Track Presets 2.0 would be more elegant.
I like the concept, I think.

Can the Library Function do this better perhaps? I've not worked with that and may be way off in suggesting it.
I think Ver 9.5 has some better track handling implementation, not sure if it addresses your concerns or not.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30; PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converter, Scarlett 2I4; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST Instruments: Steinberg: HSSE, Retrologue 2, Groove Agent SE, Padshop, Mystic, Prologue, Spector; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Generic Remote setups: viewtopic.php?f=226&t=102993
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

simthembile
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:27 am
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by simthembile » Sat May 05, 2018 6:15 am

+1

strummer
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 7:20 am
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by strummer » Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:28 am

This would be great!
+1
Laptop Win 10, i7-4700MQ, 16 GB ram, SSD, Cubase pro 9.5, RME UCX, Presonus Digimax D8, ART Tubefire 8, microphones:)

titchyblackcat
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by titchyblackcat » Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:39 am

I remember older versions of Cubase saved everything.
When you saved a Track Preset it saved all of the settings.
Cubase Pro 9.5 Wavelab 8 LE
Win 7 64 bit. Intel DQ77CP Motherboard with i5 3470 3.4Ghz Ram ddr3 8 GB
M-Audio 2496 Soundcard

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by matjones » Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:26 am

+1
Cubase 9.0.20/9.5 Asus P9X79 LE, i7 4820K@ 3.7GHz, 32GB Corsair 1600 RAM, Asus R5 230, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, Duende, UAD2 Solo/Quad, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 9, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5 elements, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC5, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS,Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by nordlead26 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:21 pm

+1 its very good addition
Cubase Pro 9.5.30 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

User avatar
7blanche
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Track presets 2.0

Post by 7blanche » Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:28 pm

+1
Cubase 9.5.21 on Win 7 x64
i4790k, 16GB RAM, RME ADI-2 PRO, UAD-2 OCTO
NI Komplete 10U, UAD, AA Nebula
Arturia BSP, IK iRig Keys Pro, Launchpad Mini & Behringer X-Touch Mini as MCU

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests