key commands triggered by MIDI input

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
HorNet505
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:48 pm
Contact:

key commands triggered by MIDI input

Post by HorNet505 » Thu May 10, 2018 12:34 am

it would be cool to have MIDI input triggering a Cubase command directly.
I use a KORG Nano keyboard and BOME MIDI Translator so far as a workaround but it would be neat to have a support directly in Cubase.
I trigger cubase commands by pressing a key on my Nano. Its great
Windows 7 x64 (1x Master, 3x VEPro Slaves)
Fireface UCX + Mindprint TRIO SPDIF
KRK-Rokit 5 speakers in max 5.1 setup
5 desktop screens

Cubase user from the beginning :-)

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7676
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: key commands triggered by MIDI input

Post by -steve- » Thu May 10, 2018 12:43 am

The Generic Remote device does just that. Create a new one from the Studio Settings>+ menu and set the input to your Korg device.

In fact, The cousin of that keyboard, the Korg Nanokey2, very cheap, can be set to Mackie Mode, and you can use it with the Mackie Control remote that's built into Cubase, which gives access to many functions right out of the box.
Attachments
2018-05-09 18_41_25-Studio Setup.png
(5.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
2018-05-09 18_41_35-.png
(7.94 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro and Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.11

User avatar
jorisdeman
Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: key commands triggered by MIDI input

Post by jorisdeman » Thu May 10, 2018 9:30 am

Generic Remote does indeed work...but it's a shame that the window is so tiny and unscaleable, and the process so laborious.

A Logic X like keycommand window with a separate column for assigning midi notes/controllers to specific commands would be infinitely faster...
Nuendo 8, Mac Os X Sierra 10.12.5 / Windows 10 | iMac 5k 4gh i7 2016 maxed with 32gb ram | X-keys |PT Control | VSLE Pro | UAD Apollo Quad via Thunderbolt | Dual Xeon & i7 Hexacore Slave PC's | G-tech G-Raid drives

brooke4444
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 3:24 am
Contact:

Re: key commands triggered by MIDI input

Post by brooke4444 » Fri May 18, 2018 3:45 am

agreed, Sonar had this - very helpful

User avatar
HorNet505
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: key commands triggered by MIDI input

Post by HorNet505 » Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:24 pm

oh, wow - what a nice info. Thanks a lot - I check it out.

update: I noticed though that not all "commands" are available (f.e. "extract controller data from track")
One could work around that creating MACROS of cause but it would be cool to have that enhanced in the future.


For anyone else who in interested in this thread: I found a great tutorial on that https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEEDnTr-3bE
Windows 7 x64 (1x Master, 3x VEPro Slaves)
Fireface UCX + Mindprint TRIO SPDIF
KRK-Rokit 5 speakers in max 5.1 setup
5 desktop screens

Cubase user from the beginning :-)

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest