FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10.5 - POLL (make your vote)

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.

Do You find FOLD as an useful tool for a New Cubase 10 feature ?

Poll ended at Sun Aug 18, 2019 1:33 am

YES I FIND THIS VERY USEFUL
27
69%
IS NOT OF MY INTEREST
10
26%
I'M NEUTRAL
2
5%
 
Total votes: 39

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by nordlead26 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:40 am

Centralmusic wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:20 am



P.S: I am not a Techno Dance Producer with stupid repeating notes e.g. - but everyone works differently. No problem.

So, please accept that I do not need this function in cubase and vote against it.


:lol: Im very sorry but... opinions are opinions and yours have no fundaments...

"stupid producer" "techno music" :P :lol: :P ??? what kind of assumptions are those?... is a rhetoric question of course, I'm not interested on know from where you got those erratic ideas encrusted on your mind... everyone thinks differently. No problem.
Last edited by nordlead26 on Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by nordlead26 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:02 am

-steve- wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:35 am


The experienced users in this thread know what the feature does, as do I. Consider modulating your condescension.
This is off topic, but from my point of view, i was not condescending, however your are behaving a little bit like that...

What was the point to post a: -1 after ive taking the time to explain my opinion and my point of view to each person in a nicely way?? your vote was already in the poll and also your opinion was already there. To post just a -1 without a word and after my effort explaining, was a rude move...

anyway, on my side.. I apologize if I made you feel offended, its the only I can say.

Im off of this thread...
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by Centralmusic » Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:09 am

Why do you not use Abelton?
I can imagine that the workflow with Abelton is better for you.

I use cubase because it does not work like Abelton. :)
I don´t need a fold feature in Cubase´s big key editor. That does not make sense.
hint: People use the key editor in ableton as a drum editor (!) a fold function is important in this case.
In Cubase we have a fold solution in the drum editor, that´s great and ideal in this editor. But not in Cubase´s key editor.
My opinion.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by nordlead26 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:43 am

Centralmusic wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:09 am
Why do you not use Abelton?
I can imagine that the workflow with Abelton is better for you.

I use cubase because it does not work like Abelton. :)
I don´t need a fold feature in Cubase´s big key editor. That does not make sense.
hint: People use the key editor in ableton as a drum editor (!) a fold function is important in this case.
In Cubase we have a fold solution in the drum editor, that´s great and ideal in this editor. But not in Cubase´s key editor.
My opinion.
Come on! a feature request doesn't make the DAW.... Is just a feature request, you know? like the thousands and thousands of features requests on this forum... Requests exist because there are DAWS with the wished features ... ..

I wonder how, if this is the worst and "stupid" feature asked (here apparently), why in protools forums, reaper forums, and many others users from other DAWs are asking for a fold as an extra option. Just make a google re search ...

P.S: Fold is not only from Ableton, if you ever tried Logic X, you know than there is also this feature.
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by Centralmusic » Mon Aug 20, 2018 10:08 am

Sorry, I´m a former Logic user since End of the 80´s, namend Notator, I use Logic 10.3. But Cubase is in so many ways better.
BTW, in this article are many points that I must confirm:
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com/music/2 ... Pro-X.html

I stay with my opinion and I'm not alone with that: there are more important features that Cubase is missing.

Im off of this thread. It´s your thread. Bye.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3044
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by peakae » Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:44 pm

nordlead26 wrote:
Sun Aug 19, 2018 11:50 pm
peakae wrote:
Sun Aug 19, 2018 9:21 pm
But isn't it most likely that such a "painting by numbers" feature would limit the creative part of the process of making music?
nope, have nothing to do with that you mention... I would love if you guys could try the function in Ableton to really understand what I'm talking about...

Im starting to feel this is hard to explain just with words...
No I get it, I just don't like it !!
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by nordlead26 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:04 pm

Centralmusic wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:20 am
P.S: I am not a Techno Dance Producer with stupid repeating notes e.g. - but everyone works differently. No problem.
Centralmusic wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:09 am
Why do you not use Abelton?
I can imagine that the workflow with Abelton is better for you.
Centralmusic wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 10:08 am
Sorry, I´m a former Logic user since End of the 80´s, namend Notator, I use Logic 10.3. But Cubase is in so many ways better.
BTW, in this article are many points that I must confirm:
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com/music/2 ... Pro-X.html
one more time... I was not speaking about which DAW is better, this is not a DAW wars, If im here is because my chose and my main now is Cubase, its an expensive DAW, Im not throwing the money its my choice, it fill my expectations. Im no going to change to Ableton by his fold function or to Logic by his fold option, request is a request like the ones of everybody else here.

Your replies attitude is like say: "Track header and Column/ Insert Sends" ? no, no no, just move to Protools or keep in Nuendo, this looks ugly and I don't like your request -1 I think by this request, this is not the DAW for you, those features are for stupids, because I don't find useful myself or maybe you go back to Logic, I can imagine is better for you
viewtopic.php?f=252&t=142704&p=767700#p767700

(of course is an example of your kind of replies... im making a sarcasm referent to your latest comments It is not my thought)

I was just requesting a simple feature, thats all..
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3843
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by raino » Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:51 pm

Centralmusic wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:09 am
hint: People use the key editor in ableton as a drum editor (!) a fold function is important in this case.
In Cubase we have a fold solution in the drum editor, that´s great and ideal in this editor. But not in Cubase´s key editor.
My opinion.
However, if the Key Ed did fold I would abandon the Drum Editor in a moment for the Key Ed. Hate the way it only shows one drum's velocity at a time.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by nordlead26 » Sat Sep 22, 2018 10:33 am

nice, 11 ppl but fold is wining lol....
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by Centralmusic » Sun Oct 14, 2018 4:41 pm

I must correct myself!
FOLD option on MIDI editor IS the future.
Many people's lives would be a lot easier if we had this Fold Option.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

Elias1957
Member
Posts: 422
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:34 pm
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by Elias1957 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:13 am

I like the fold option, know it from my experience with Live a couple of years ago. It focused to the existing notes not the unexisting which are mostly the majority ;-) when editing controllers, velocity, timing etc.
I like to see it within the inline editor too.

The drum editor in my opinion is not well implemented, I like to see not all 127 notes but the notes which are assigned by the drummap. So if you start e.g. with the kick and you fold, you don't see other instruments, so you have it unfold first to add a snare note. And drum editors folding only "looks" in the selected part which is also a little bit curious.
C10.5 Pro,WL Pro.10 / MacMini 2018 i7 32GB 10.14.6 RME UFX II / MacBookPro 2011 i7 10.13.4 8GB UR44

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by nordlead26 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:04 pm

Im surprised how this is becoming for good! :)
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

BatteryPack
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 3:31 pm
Location: Central IL
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10.5 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by BatteryPack » Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:21 am

I'd argue that the way Steinberg has implemented the fold feature within the Drum Editor is not only sufficient, but equally as good as the way Live has implemented it. And Cubase BY FAR has Live beat when it comes to BASIC MIDI editing. I love Live but it's severely lacking in the midi editing department. As far as building ideas though? Live is far superior to Cubase if you're in to making beats and just wanna mess around with ideas. Session View and Clips in Live are a Godsend. Those along with m4L are the only thing Live does better than Cubase imo.
  • Cubase 9.5.2 Pro
    Absolute 3 VST Collection
    Panorama P4
    ATH-M50x
    Live 9.7.6
    Push 2
    Windows 10
    i7 6700HQ
    32GB DDR4 Ram
    256GB SSD
    500GB SSD SAMPLE DRIVE
    GTX 970m 3GB


Roc1
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 4:37 am
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10.5 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by Roc1 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 4:47 am

Was the fold feature ever implemented , it's incredibly important ?
Any work around for this the drum editor ain't cutting it I tried .
Ableton and Logic does this so effortlessly , please Steinberg implement the fold feature in Cubase midi editor it's essential to my work .

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10.5 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by nordlead26 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:53 am

bump
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

nick galea
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:15 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10.5 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by nick galea » Sun Mar 10, 2019 12:39 pm

yes please!
10.10.5 Yosemite
Hackintosh 4790k
Processor 4.4ghz
Memory 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 ECC
Amd Pulse Rx580 8gb
noctua nh-d15 cpu cooler
2 x Samsung840 1tb Ssd Drives
Uad apollo twin
Uad Satellite Quad,Fabfilter Bundle, Native Instruments komplete 10. Slate Digital

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1422
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10.5 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by In_Stereo » Fri May 24, 2019 4:41 am

I do everything from complex orchestral work to beat programming and Fold would be an incredible tool to have at my disposal when needed. SO many examples of when it would be great and save time.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Mojave 10.14.5, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

eshy
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10.5 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by eshy » Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:28 am

This is one of my favorite features on Ableton. I mainly use it to fold a scale (which in Ableton requires adding the notes of the scale first). That can be solved with a way to select a scale and "disable" notes not in the scale. It's also useful for samplers/drum machines, where not all notes have sounds on them.

demogorgon
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:53 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10.5 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by demogorgon » Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:31 pm

This will be an amazing addition to Cubase! As someone who spends a large amount of my life working with drum programming this is a GIGANTIC time saver! The continuing collapse of my key editor when smashed into the project window makes that view style more usable. I only see the kit pieces I use and don't have to switch views to edit. If I need more articulations, I simply press the Fold or Uncollapse button, add the articulation, and fold it again to now see that articulation in the collapsed view.

I just found out about this feature in Logic Pro X when I loaded it up to try out because my workflow in Cubase 10 continues to be sloppy and frustrating. Logic had some real wins over Cubase and collapsing the piano roll to only include the notes I use was one such revelation. PLEASE IMPLEMENT THIS!

User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10.5 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by NoMad92 » Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:34 pm

+1
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10.5
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

WK
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: FOLD option on MIDI editor - Cubase 10.5 - POLL (make your vote)

Post by WK » Sun Oct 20, 2019 2:52 am

+1

YES!!! Finally somebody who suggests a new function that improves creative speed and work flow a lot.
I ONE 100% SUPPORT this suggestion, and hope Steinie can implement this, in the most simple straightforward way possible.

Thanks OP, keep it coming :)
One who doesn't smoke,drink or drive is a tax evader...

15" Macbook Pro late 2013 i7 2,8
16GB
OSX Mavericks
Cubase 8.5

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest