DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Geppastro
Junior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Geppastro » Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:40 pm

Thanks Steve, and sorry you're right, just found that on the online help but you arrived first! THAT'S great!!!
Paolo
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 9.5 v9.5.10 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9 v9.0.35 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.10 (64 bit).
Monitors: Genelec 8030.

Geppastro
Junior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Geppastro » Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:51 pm

Did I say great? no: GREAT!!!
Paolo
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 9.5 v9.5.10 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9 v9.0.35 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.10 (64 bit).
Monitors: Genelec 8030.

User avatar
skillet
Member
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by skillet » Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:05 am

OSX Version 10.11.6 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 9.0.20 | Nuendo 7.1.30 + Expansion Kit | Pro Tools 12.8 | Logic 10.3 | Digital Performer 8.0.7 | Ableton Live 9.7

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: M-Audio Venom Keyboard, Roland A-33; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2

User avatar
Prock
Senior Member
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Prock » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:19 am

I guess we didn't have to wait for H... to freeze over for this one (seemed like it though :lol: ). This is a great improvement.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: VB3, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth » Sat Mar 17, 2018 12:55 pm

Metronome programmability is great. But Cubase *still* doesn't understand the beat value is 1/4D in compound time sigs.
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.4 | Cubase 9.5.1 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7588
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by -steve- » Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:26 pm

StrangeDaysOnEarth wrote:
Sat Mar 17, 2018 12:55 pm
Metronome programmability is great. But Cubase *still* doesn't understand the beat value is 1/4D in compound time sigs.
It does. Did you turn on Use Metronome Click Pattern for grid line? https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... rns_c.html

What were you expecting that's not happening?

(edit: Whether one considers the 4th beat in 12/8 as the 9th 8th note, or 4th dotted 1/4 is a matter of perspective. And Cubase does still see it as beat 9. But that is what what it is, no?)
Cubase Pro and Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth » Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:11 am

No it doesn't. It's not about the grid. It's about the metronome *tempo* relating to 1/4D representing the beat in a compound time signature. Cubase still uses 1/4 as beat value for tempo calculation, regardless of how the grid is set.
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.4 | Cubase 9.5.1 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7588
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by -steve- » Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:10 pm

That's true. The tempo is shown as relating to the quarter note in the transport. As a workaround you can use the Score Editor to calc the tempo based on other values.
Attachments
sig.gif
(257.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro and Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth » Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:12 am

Thanks Steve, I do multiply by 2/3. But Cubase should just deal with it really. Studio One, for example, deals with it correctly. It might seem minor but in my view music theory should be core to any DAW. It's taken this long to get a workable metronome, nine versions (more with the .5's)! But hey, I'm happy we finally got that!
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.4 | Cubase 9.5.1 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 7588
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by -steve- » Thu Apr 19, 2018 3:46 pm

StrangeDaysOnEarth wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:12 am
Thanks Steve, I do multiply by 2/3. But Cubase should just deal with it really. Studio One, for example, deals with it correctly. It might seem minor but in my view music theory should be core to any DAW. It's taken this long to get a workable metronome, nine versions (more with the .5's)! But hey, I'm happy we finally got that!
How does Studio One do it, exactly, can you explain, or do you happen to know of an article or video that demonstrates? I had a look at the time sig and metronome sections in their docs and don't see any mention of automatically showing compound time sigs' tempo differently. And if it's automatic, how do they supply the option to "turn it off" for when 6/8, 9/8, and 12/8 are not meant as compound sigs.

That said, a nice feature in Cubendo would be that the little quarter note icon in the transport be transformed into a pop-up menu wherein one could choose any note value upon which to compute the tempo.
Cubase Pro and Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions available.
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth » Tue May 08, 2018 1:13 pm

Hi Steve, Studio One simply calculates the tempo off the dotted crotchet when using a compound time signature. Not sure about 'turning it off'. It would be very uncommon for 6/8 or 12/8 to be hybrid, more so the 9/8. Like you say, the best solution is to have the option. Options are always good. But music theory default says it's compound and beat = 1/4D.
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.4 | Cubase 9.5.1 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests