DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Crotchety
Senior Member
Posts: 1149
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by Crotchety » Sun Jul 21, 2013 5:06 pm

+1 and backed up by thick bar lines
Instruments: Piano/keys, Guitar, Mandolin, Vocal
Current Sounds: Cactus Juice (@Soundcloud) - Former Sounds: Ask Murt (@MySpace)

Every day's a skool day...

User avatar
Prock
Senior Member
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by Prock » Sun Aug 18, 2013 5:54 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:This is still a good idea;)

+1
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

mcp
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 7:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by mcp » Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:48 pm

+1

should also include triplets etc.
Studio: i7 3770k. Asus P8Z77-Pro. 16GB RAM Corsair. Intel HD4000. Samsung 830 128GB. Crucial M4 512GB. WD VelociRaptor 1TB. Seagate Barracuda 3TB. SSL MX4. UAD2 Quad. M-Audio Axiom 49. Win 7 Pro 64 SP1. Cubase 6 64.
Home: Core2Quad Q9550. Asus P5K Deluxe. 8GB RAM Kingston. GeForce 9500GT. Samsung 830 128GB. Samsung HD 1.5TB. Mindprint Trio USB. UAD2 Single. Korg Micro Key. Win 7 Pro 64 SP1. Sam Pro X 64. Cubase 6 64.

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1514
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by Puma0382 » Sun Sep 15, 2013 9:56 am

+1
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, 2 x 1Tb HDD storage, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" LCD monitors at Full HD; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v9.5.30, WaveLab Pro v9.5.30, Studio One v3.5.6, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 10, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

KenMorgan
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:59 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by KenMorgan » Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:33 pm

A printed/printable click track is really REALLY needed...work-arounds are not acceptable in 2013...

Jan Gemke
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:14 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by Jan Gemke » Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:55 pm

Yes that would be great.
In addition the diferent ways of counting and the accentuation should be made visible in the timeline.
This would speed up editing.

Some examples I use in Flamenco music:
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
12 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
8 9 10 11 12 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
1 2 3 4 5 6 1 and 2 and 3 and
1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2

mart
Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by mart » Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:27 pm

+1

Very frequent that I need create a double timed click for a drummer when the song tempo is slow. Some sort of doubling of the intervals or programmable option would be neater

The ability to turn the click track into midi or audio is super needed as I need to make live tracks or sync licence stems very often which require click as a printable track. I always need to manually build a new click track as it stands
Windows 10 Anniversary, Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Samsung EVO 850 SSD, Cubase 9.5.30, 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.5, Vienna Ensemble Pro with Slave PC.

Feature Requests & Bugs not addressed in multiple iterations :
  • Import channels from Group, FX, Rack, Instrument, Sampler and all track type. Audio and MIDI Channel import just channels - no Media
  • Save as Template WITHOUT including Media
  • Folder Sync does NOT keep in Sync-ever.


User avatar
CubeDAW
Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:16 pm

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by CubeDAW » Wed Nov 13, 2013 6:41 am

I had a thread abut the metronome months ago. We use it all the time yet it seems so outdated. It could be so much more than what it is. It should have percussion loops for every time signature and tempo. I also have a problem with being limited to one tempo map. I would like to have several tempo maps so all the tracks don't have to be in the same time signature or the same tempo. I need to be able for instance, gradually slow down some tracks while other tracks remain at a steady tempo. This technique called phase music was pioneered by Steve Reich. You can not do it in Cubase unless you turn all midi into audio tracks.

User avatar
SeeWhat
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 10:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by SeeWhat » Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:44 pm

+1

And expand all meter improvement correction to MediaBay where the loop tempo analysis freaks out when we enter 12/8 ...... :cry: :evil:

come on Steinberg this compound meter mishandling is wrong since Cubase 1 on Atari ST

SeeWhat
Win10 pro 64; RME multiface; Sibelius 2018; Dorico 2.1; Cubase Pro 9.5.21 x64; Cubase Elements 9.5.21; Stream Deck; Melodyne; Amazing Slow Downer; Adam S2-A.
My native language is french, my english SoSo...

TwinOak
Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by TwinOak » Fri Nov 22, 2013 10:07 pm

+1
I've been longing for a metronome track type as long as I've used Cubase professionally, right now we almost always record a few bars of cowbell and a shaker with a suitable pattern, dupe it up and feed it to the cue sends to be able to mute and automate volume freely.

An alternative to a new track type could be a metronome plug-in for use in a regular audio track.

Some features I'd like to see:
-Possibility to add multiple metronome tracks/plug-ins, each with its own pattern, sound, and signature, with the option to map it either absolute or relative to the global tempo/signature. (for instance, a 3/4 metronome track with a global 4/4 signature could either mark every 3rd beat or give 3 over 4 pattern, great for practice)

-It would allow muting/automation locally for the track/plug, the "click" buttons and faders in the control room and on the transport panel would control all metronomes globally.


The only downside is that with more and more of these options the saved time and workflow difference would be less and less compared to slapping up some midi tracks and a groove agent one preset with your favourite click sounds. Maybe a simple solution with only basic automation would become the most used one after all.
/A
ASUS Z8NA-D6, 2 x Xeon 5620, Kingston 16GB, RME Fireface 800, Win 7 x64, Cubase 6.0.5, Cubase 7.0.7, Cubase 8.0.30

User avatar
CubeDAW
Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:16 pm

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by CubeDAW » Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:37 pm

I always look for a loop but not enough odd time signatures and not enough tempos or I have to make my own but that all takes too much time.

Perhaps a new VSTi plugin and they could call it Metro Gnome.

jpm999
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 2:16 am
Location: Chicagoland!
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by jpm999 » Wed Nov 27, 2013 6:10 am

+1, This would be super useful. Asymmetrical rhythms used so often in film scores, 7/8 can be (1,2) (1,2) (1,2,3) or (1,2,3) (1,2) (1,2) , etc.

User avatar
Prock
Senior Member
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by Prock » Sun Dec 01, 2013 4:14 pm

Just wondering if this FR was incorp'd in 7.5? Seems like a no-brainer to me to be able to adjust the click track to whatever is needed.
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

harcourt
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by harcourt » Wed Dec 04, 2013 1:36 pm

+1
Cubase 7.5.10 64bit, Dell M6600 laptop - i7 2920xm, 2.50 Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win7 64bit, Echo AudioFire Pre8. Panorama P6, MIDI controller keyboard.

User avatar
Prock
Senior Member
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by Prock » Sat Dec 07, 2013 5:12 pm

Bump (again)... I can't believe that Steinberg has not incorporated this elementary and very useful idea.

Maybe a good first project for one of the Steinberg's newer programmers. :lol:
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by JMCecil » Sat Dec 07, 2013 5:34 pm

wow, missed this one .. great FR
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

entoine
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:24 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by entoine » Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:37 pm

+1 !

It would be very usefull in some circumstances..
when we need click only on a few bars in the middle of the song for example.. or to automatically turn it off at the end of the song.. it what com's in mind first, but there's a lot more to find to cover all applications :)

User avatar
Rommelaar
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 4:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by Rommelaar » Sat Jan 11, 2014 4:38 pm

+1

Should be easy to implement.
Rig: i7-5960X, Asus X99 Deluxe, Corsair LPX DDR4 64 GB RAM, Samsung 34" C34F791, Asus Strix GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Audio hardware:KRK Rokit 6, Steinberg UR44 / CMC: AI, 4xFD, CH, QC, TP, PD, Waldorf Blofeld & Pulse 2, ZOOM H6, Akai MAX49, Akai MPD226
Software: Cubase Pro 9.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Dorico 2, RapidComposer v3.4
Favourite plugin developers: Fabfilter, Image Line, Spectrasonics, Steinberg, Synapse audio, Vengeance sound, Waldorf, Zynaptiq

MrSmith
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:57 am
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by MrSmith » Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:09 pm

Bump

MrSmith
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:57 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by MrSmith » Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:11 pm

Bump

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by suntower » Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:58 pm

I'm of the 'NO MORE FREAKIN' TRACK TYPES!' persuasion... I just can't stand all the real estate they take up. That said, I agree something should be done.

My smash hit idea would be to super-impose the click on the existing Tempo and.or Time Sig Track. (In fact, I want the Tempo and Sig tracks folded into one.)

On many projects one would not alter the click much within the song.

But (at least for me) a place where a change in click is necessary corresponds to a change in tempo or sig, so I think they go together like peanut butter and chocolate. Perhaps one could have a Click Marker... or wherever there is a Time Sig one could click on it and set a new click setting.

And then in Export Audio, one could select the Tempo/Sig Track as part of the Export... and there's yer click.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

harcourt
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by harcourt » Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:17 am

suntower wrote:My smash hit idea would be to super-impose the click on the existing Tempo and.or Time Sig Track. (In fact, I want the Tempo and Sig tracks folded into one.).
+1...I like that suggestion.
Cubase 7.5.10 64bit, Dell M6600 laptop - i7 2920xm, 2.50 Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win7 64bit, Echo AudioFire Pre8. Panorama P6, MIDI controller keyboard.

User avatar
Pondstreetstudios
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by Pondstreetstudios » Sun Mar 02, 2014 9:31 am

+1

Pondstreetstudios
Studio A | Cubase 7.0.7 64bit | W7 64bit | RME UFX | Midex8
Studio B | Cubase 7.0.7 64bit | W7 64bit | Scarlett 18i20 | UM-3G Midi

User avatar
CubeDAW
Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:16 pm

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by CubeDAW » Fri Mar 14, 2014 2:33 am

Suntower is right, no more track types. It should be a VST instrument. Do something original and useful. We all use the metronome.

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1792
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome click patterns/Programmable click track

Post by GargoyleStudio » Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:23 pm

+1 please.

For me, I'd like these things:

1) Different patterns as mentioned. Great, because very often I'm dealing with odd time signatures.

2) A click channel in the mixer so I can really easily grab it and adjust it.

3) Three sound/volumes not just two. For example, when using say 9/8 it would be helpful to accent the first beat of the bar (accent #1), and then the first of each triplet as well (accent #2) and then click the 8ths with the 3rd sound.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb9.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, Arturia]

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests