DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
mixalis
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by mixalis » Fri Nov 27, 2015 11:55 pm

Great ideas on this topic.....
Intel i5 64bit , 16GB ram on windows 10

Cubase 9 pro . Steinberg UR242

hesca116
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by hesca116 » Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:54 pm

+1
Its been 3 years since ppls is asking about this. C'mon Steinberg!

I would like to be able to set up complicated time signatures, like a bar comprising 5/8 + 3/8 + 7/8.

I need the click to mark the first beat of every 5, 3 and 7. Finale has an option for this, in which you can break any time signature.

In Cubase I have to either sum the compound signature and just use 15/8, or painstakingly write EVERY signature change (because oddly enough, these events cannot be duplicated or repeated).

jpm999
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 2:16 am
Location: Chicagoland!
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by jpm999 » Sun May 08, 2016 6:09 am

7/8 = ABBABAB

A = downbeat.

Reaper has a simple feature where the user can enter their down beat by just filling out the above letter pattern indicating which beat they want as the downbeat(s), which then triggers the click track accordingly.

Works amazingly… and sooooo simple.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by -steve- » Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:30 am

bump
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth » Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:17 pm

On 18th Feb 2017 we can celebrate FOUR more years of FOUR/FOUR since this topic was opened.
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.6 | Cubase 10.0.10 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

gravehill
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:52 am
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by gravehill » Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:28 pm

Yay, happy topic anniversary! :)

And a +1 to everything!
i9 9900k, 32 GB RAM, AsRock Taichi Ultimate MoBo, Focusrite Saffire 24 DSP with Win10 64 bit and Cubase 10. http://www.chaosresearch.net

jpm999
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 2:16 am
Location: Chicagoland!
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by jpm999 » Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:18 am

4 years. Unacceptable.

Come on Steinberg!
+1

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by Geppastro » Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:01 pm

+1 (really...c'mon!)
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10 v10.0.40 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

ColinPark
Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by ColinPark » Thu Mar 16, 2017 8:45 pm

In the key editor, I'd like to see the heavy lines indicate the beat when using compound time. How hard can that be? In the meantime, one could place muted dotted quarter notes into the grid, thereby creating an alternate reference.
Win 10 (64 bit), 3.5GHz i7-4770K, 32GB RAM, Sabertooth Z87, Samsung SSD 850 Pro 512GB, RME fireface UFX, Novation 61SL MkII keyboard controller, Yamaha HS7 monitors. Cubase Pro 10.0.30 [build 236], HALion 6, HALion Symphonic Orchestra, Dark Planet; Ozone 8 Adv, Neutron 2 Adv, Rx7 Std; Sonarworks Ref 4; Melodyne Essential 4.2.2.004

User avatar
skillet
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by skillet » Thu Mar 16, 2017 8:54 pm

ColinPark wrote:In the key editor, I'd like to see the heavy lines indicate the beat when using compound time. How hard can that be? In the meantime, one could place muted dotted quarter notes into the grid, thereby creating an alternate reference.
I agree and nice suggestion as a temp workaround.
OSX Version 10.11.6 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 9.0.20 | Nuendo 7.1.30 + Expansion Kit | Pro Tools 12.8 | Logic 10.3 | Digital Performer 8.0.7 | Ableton Live 9.7

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: M-Audio Venom Keyboard, Roland A-33; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2

User avatar
TheMaestro
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,C

Post by TheMaestro » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:43 am

+1 of course.
Obvious.
Cubase Pro 10 | Halion 6.1 | VEP 7
Windows 10 x64 | i7 920 | 48GB RAM | M-AUDIO Delta 1010LT

Larioso
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Larioso » Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:18 pm

+1 or some more, no doubt.

My reference is Digital Performer on this - all the flexibility you could want.
Make your own click patterns as desired.

1 1 1 1 / 4 will be click on each of quarter notes where the number takes the 4 as reference.
2 2 1 1 1 1 / 8 Two quarter notes followed by four 8th notes
The last number tells the value 1 in the first example is quarternote, and 1 in the next is 8th note.

predefined symbols for dotted and triplets and such, 8t is 8th note triplet, 8d 8th dotted note etc.
3 3 3 3 / 8t would be click as 4/4 but can be customized as desired.

In the pattern designer you can bold/color a symbol to make it accent type.

There are three types of clicks, tacet clicks, beat click, and pattern click for their conductor track.
So MOTU really take this seriously.

Time for yet another track type in Cubase maybe???? :D

Reaper has some pattern ability but much too simple to measure up with DP.
Windows 7 Pro - Intel i7-860 2.8GHz 16 GB - Cubase Pro 9.5 latest - RME HDSP 9632 + AI4S + Audient ASP 800 - Nvidia GT730

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by -steve- » Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:32 pm

That would be great. Who knows though? Maybe they will come up with something way better than motu DP's solution.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
MovingWaves
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 10:39 am
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by MovingWaves » Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:37 pm

+1
Been waiting for years for this feature. And the wait goes on.......
DAW
W10 64Bit-Cubase 10
Intel Core i7 4770K @ 3.50GHz - 32 Gig Ram - 2x238GB ATA OCZHDD's -2048MB DELL U3415W on NVIDIA Quadro K2000
Interface AD/DA
MOTU 828es - (Retired:- Focusrite Saffire PRO 40 - Focusrite OctoPre MkII Dynamic)
Monitoring
Mackie HR624 Studio Monitors
Opal Event Studio Monitors

User avatar
skillet
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by skillet » Tue Jul 18, 2017 4:07 pm

+1 Fingers crossed with the power of the Dorico team at hand.
OSX Version 10.11.6 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 9.0.20 | Nuendo 7.1.30 + Expansion Kit | Pro Tools 12.8 | Logic 10.3 | Digital Performer 8.0.7 | Ableton Live 9.7

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: M-Audio Venom Keyboard, Roland A-33; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by -steve- » Tue Jul 18, 2017 4:40 pm

skillet wrote:
Tue Jul 18, 2017 4:07 pm
+1 Fingers crossed with the power of the Dorico team at hand.
:? :?:
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1715
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Stephen57 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 7:11 pm

+1 (I think)

It should easy to simply specify what unit gets the beat when meters change or not, and, it would be best if that specification could be inserted at any point on the time line. Tempo could then be made to automatically change if desired, or not; in addition, the metronome would just take on the new beat unit on the fly and ideally, if needed, in advance of the change.

Rather than separate tempo and signature tracks, the two could be somehow merged, or connected, in a Conductor Track? Also, sub-measures for meters (especially prime number meters, 11/8, 13/16th, etc.), could have a ":" mark to show the measure's sub-parts. 1-2-3 : 4-5-6 : 7-8-9 : 10-11 = 11/8 (setting in the new "Conductor" track).
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by djw » Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:35 am

+1, but also for proper time signature support.

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth » Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:29 pm

bump
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.6 | Cubase 10.0.10 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

User avatar
Rommelaar
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 4:09 pm
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Rommelaar » Fri Oct 27, 2017 9:40 am

FL Studio has implemented it in its 12.9 beta (see forum thread on kvr).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QbDbza0VKoA
Rig: i7-5960X, Asus X99 Deluxe, Corsair LPX DDR4 64 GB RAM, Samsung 34" C34F791, Asus Strix GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Audio hardware:KRK Rokit 6, Steinberg UR44 / CMC: AI, 4xFD, CH, QC, TP, PD, Waldorf Blofeld & Pulse 2, ZOOM H6, Akai MAX49, Akai MPD226
Software: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Nuendo 10.2, Wavelab Pro 9.5.50, Dorico 3, Spectralayers, RapidComposer v3.71
Favourite plugin developers: Fabfilter, Image Line, Spectrasonics, Steinberg, Synapse audio, Vengeance sound, Waldorf, Zynaptiq

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: User defined beat values: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth » Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:36 am

Yes, and if you choose 6/8 in Studio One it knows the beat is therefore a dotted crotchet. This is music theory 101 and we're at Cubase version 9 and it still can't do it. I mean seriously: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 versions later...
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.6 | Cubase 10.0.10 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by -steve- » Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:57 pm

Done! And it's fabulous.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2317
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by MrSoundman » Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:36 pm

-steve- wrote:
Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:57 pm
Done! And it's fabulous.
Yay! Finally, more cowbell, I mean metronome! :D
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Geppastro » Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:16 pm

Done? :?: Yes new metronome is great, but grid (see Subject title)? I can't find anything new:

http://i63.tinypic.com/e7at5h.jpg

9/8 still 2+2+2+2+1!! :evil:

Maybe I'm missing something (I hope so)?
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10 v10.0.40 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by -steve- » Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:31 pm

See subject title? I wrote it. ;) :P Did a little deeper- right click on the ruler...
Attachments
2017-11-15 15_29_53-Cubase Pro Project - Untitled1.png
(4.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
2017-11-15 15_30_18-.png
(5.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests