[BON-18556] External FX cannot ping delay compensation

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Locked
User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 869
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

[BON-18556] External FX cannot ping delay compensation

Post by toader » Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:55 pm

This is in old Cubase 8 issues, but was not yet listed in Cubase 9 issues:

PROBLEM:
When using external hardware insert effects, Cubase reports 0ms every single time I try to ping to calculate delay.

1. Set up external effect in connections window
2. Route a converter input directly to a converter output to create a loopback - this way any external effects cannot give misleading results.
3. Tell Cubase to calculate the delay
4. Cubase reports ALWAYS reports 0ms, which I know must be incorrect.
5. If I route through external effects instead of using a converter loopback, Cubase still reports 0ms delay.
Computer 1: Cubase 10.0.15, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 9.5.40, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

tonysenghore
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [BON-18556] External FX cannot ping delay compensation

Post by tonysenghore » Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:26 pm

Is there any news from anyone at Steinberg regarding this? I never used to have a problem at all in cubase 8.5 but now in 9.5 (64bit engine) I get "0" as a measurement every time i ping. It makes the program utterly unusable for my workflow because I use a lot of outboard and my D/A (Prism Orpheus) has a dynamic buffer assignment (different roundtrip delay every time i restart my computer).

rockrecorder
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: [BON-18556] External FX cannot ping delay compensation

Post by rockrecorder » Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:51 pm

I am also very interested in any status updates on this. It has always worked, right up until C9.5

A status update on this would be greatly appreciated.
Cubase Pro 10 64bit | Wavelab Pro 9.5 | Win10 64bit | Intel core i7-5820K 3,3Ghz | ASRock X99 Extreme4/3.1 w/ ASRock Thunderbolt 2 AIC | 64Gb RAM | Lynx Aurora 16VT TB x 3 | UAD Quad x 2, Octo x 4

User avatar
lordadb
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Contact:

Re: [BON-18556] External FX cannot ping delay compensation

Post by lordadb » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:17 pm

tonysenghore wrote:
Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:26 pm
Is there any news from anyone at Steinberg regarding this? I never used to have a problem at all in cubase 8.5 but now in 9.5 (64bit engine) I get "0" as a measurement every time i ping. It makes the program utterly unusable for my workflow because I use a lot of outboard and my D/A (Prism Orpheus) has a dynamic buffer assignment (different roundtrip delay every time i restart my computer).
Same thing. I opened a ticket and the answer was that it's not a critical bug, so no priority for this fix. :shock:
Cubase Pro 10.5 (italian) - Win 10 Pro x64 - CPU AMD FX-8350 @ 4.42 GHz - RAM 16 GB - TC Electronic StudioKonnekt 48 (x2) - ATI Sapphire R7 250 Ultimate - Controller: Steinberg CMC-CH, Icon Qcon Pro X+XS, Novation Remote ZERO SL
My studio gears: http://lipstickstudio.maurolamanna.it/a ... -list-ita/

svennevs
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [BON-18556] External FX cannot ping delay compensation

Post by svennevs » Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:47 pm

+1

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1428
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [BON-18556] External FX cannot ping delay compensation

Post by mr.roos » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:40 pm

Hey, other ppl are saying that it works in the 32 bit Cubase mode but not the 64 bit mode. I have been using it in the 32 bit mode but haven't tried the 64 bit mode yet. All this aside, it does work in 32 bit mode, my latency number was pretty high because I mix at 1024 sample rate but it put the returned track where it should be, correctly aligned.
Cubase 10 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (1906 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via USB.

rockrecorder
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: [BON-18556] External FX cannot ping delay compensation

Post by rockrecorder » Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:41 pm

lordadb wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:17 pm
Same thing. I opened a ticket and the answer was that it's not a critical bug, so no priority for this fix. :shock:
That is very disappointing, to say the least.
Cubase Pro 10 64bit | Wavelab Pro 9.5 | Win10 64bit | Intel core i7-5820K 3,3Ghz | ASRock X99 Extreme4/3.1 w/ ASRock Thunderbolt 2 AIC | 64Gb RAM | Lynx Aurora 16VT TB x 3 | UAD Quad x 2, Octo x 4

rockrecorder
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: [BON-18556] External FX cannot ping delay compensation

Post by rockrecorder » Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:11 pm

Just a question: When "BON-xxxxx" is added to the title of an issue, does that mean it has been recognised and is being worked on?

Apologies if this is stated clearly somewhere in the forum already.
Cubase Pro 10 64bit | Wavelab Pro 9.5 | Win10 64bit | Intel core i7-5820K 3,3Ghz | ASRock X99 Extreme4/3.1 w/ ASRock Thunderbolt 2 AIC | 64Gb RAM | Lynx Aurora 16VT TB x 3 | UAD Quad x 2, Octo x 4

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9221
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: [BON-18556] External FX cannot ping delay compensation

Post by -steve- » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:08 pm

BON refers to Cubase 8. But yes, it's the bug report ID. Cubase 9 is CAN. But not seeing it doesn't mean it is not reported. I hope I have not made you not understand this. ;)

Please continue this in viewtopic.php?f=253&t=126856 where there is a bit more info.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Locked

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: klakota and 1 guest