Audition tool in audio editor

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:46 pm

I recently started using Cubase 9.5 as my main DAW and found an issue and I was wondering if any of you have also experienced it.
When using the audition tool (play tool with the speaker icon) in the audio editor most of the time when it is activated and the scroll bar starts coloring over the waveform, the audio is not in sync with the waveform as the scrolling advances over the waveform.
Rarely is scrolling in sync with the waveform, in fact normally the audio goes ahead of the waveform. Hope that with this explanation it is clear.
Please let me know if you also have this issue.
Thanks.

User avatar
kirkiliadis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 7:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by kirkiliadis » Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:55 pm

Yes, you are right. I have the same problem in 9,5 but also in older versions.
I don't remember when it started, maybe at 7 version , but I am not so sure.
So anyway, this problem exist for me, too.
....
Just I checked, from version 7.5 exist this problem.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:59 am

kirkiliadis wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:55 pm
Yes, you are right. I have the same problem in 9,5 but also in older versions.
I don't remember when it started, maybe at 7 version , but I am not so sure.
So anyway, this problem exist for me, too.
....
Just I checked, from version 7.5 exist this problem.

Thanks for confirming. For me this is a very important issue and if in fact it has been present all the way back since version 7.5 it should have been taken care of by Steinberg.

KHS
Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by KHS » Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:46 pm

It's most likely caused by having some high latency plugins running in the project, causing everything to be delayed to stay in sync.
Cubase Pro 10.0.50 - Steinberg UR242 - Windows 10 Latest build - I7-7700K - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo - Corsair MP510 960 GB - Corsair MP510 1920 GB - Samsung 840 EVO 240 GB - Crucial MX300 525 GB.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:33 pm

KHS wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:46 pm
It's most likely caused by having some high latency plugins running in the project, causing everything to be delayed to stay in sync.
Nope, I tested with just one track with audio, no plugins and the delay is there. Just sometimes when I click start the tool it's in sync but most of the times it's not.
Looks like a bug to me.

KHS
Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by KHS » Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:09 pm

Did you check the ASIO driver buffer isn't set too high as that would also give you some latency.
Cubase Pro 10.0.50 - Steinberg UR242 - Windows 10 Latest build - I7-7700K - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo - Corsair MP510 960 GB - Corsair MP510 1920 GB - Samsung 840 EVO 240 GB - Crucial MX300 525 GB.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:35 pm

KHS wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:09 pm
Did you check the ASIO driver buffer isn't set too high as that would also give you some latency.
It makes no difference what the buffer is set to. I have an RME Fireface 802 and checked from down to 48 samples up to 2048 and it's exactly the same.
If I click on the icon to start the the tool let's say like 6 times, once it will be in sync and the other five times the audio is played before its corresponding position in the waveform.

Have you checked it? I'm pretty sure it's a bug.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:45 pm

By the way, the scrub tool works fine. It's the audition tool used in audio editor that's causing this out of sync issue.
Could anyone of you be so kind to check this? It's as easy as opening a wave file, with silent parts in the recording and check that this out of sync issue is also reproduced in your system (audio played before the colored scrolling bar goes over the waveform).
I really consider it an important tool fo my workflow and would like to have it working correctly.
Thanks in advanced.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:39 pm

So, nobody else has this problem? Could any of you check please? I use to use this tool a lot in previous versions and miss it in my workflow.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by Romantique Tp » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:55 pm

It seems to work like it should here. I have a very old interface.

Have you tried disabling ASIO Guard in the Studio Setup menu?
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Tue Mar 13, 2018 1:38 pm

Romantique Tp wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:55 pm
It seems to work like it should here. I have a very old interface.

Have you tried disabling ASIO Guard in the Studio Setup menu?
Yes I have, makes no difference. Maybe this is an issue caused by Windows 10. Hopefully Steinberg can check it and see if it is actually an issue.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Fri Mar 16, 2018 10:34 pm

I have rechecked this issue and confirm that I have it independently of any settings I change. As I said befor it only happens in the editor window. In the main project window this play (audition) tool works perfectly all the time. It's in the editor window where I just can´t get the scroll to sync with the waveform. Maybe just one out of ten times I get it to sync. Does this really only happen to me?

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by planarchist » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:46 am

Don't see it here on my Windows 10 Laptop which is my slower Windows 10 machine, even when using onboard soundcard. Looks to be in sync.

Unless you're talking about millisecond lags (like the latency which on this PC with onboard soundcard is 17mS each in and out).
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Sat Mar 17, 2018 3:10 pm

planarchist wrote:
Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:46 am
Don't see it here on my Windows 10 Laptop which is my slower Windows 10 machine, even when using onboard soundcard. Looks to be in sync.

Unless you're talking about millisecond lags (like the latency which on this PC with onboard soundcard is 17mS each in and out).
I'm talking about 2 - 3 seconds lag. Strange thing is that it only happens in the editor window and not in the main track window. That's what has me puzzled.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:33 am

Steinberg, have you had a chance to check this? I wrote Steinberg Support about this issue but have had no reply so far.
This certainly remains an issue in my system.

User avatar
kirkiliadis
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 7:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by kirkiliadis » Sun Apr 08, 2018 5:28 pm

Just I checked this problem, and it's solved in update 9.5.21

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3120
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by peakae » Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:03 pm

Really ? It has been broken for years.
Will test when I get a little time, I hope it has been resolved.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:07 am

peakae wrote:
Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:03 pm
Really ? It has been broken for years.
Will test when I get a little time, I hope it has been resolved.
I just updated to 9.5.21 and it's definitely still there. I didn't know this was a known issue, when I wrote about it nobody but you and kirkiliadis seemed to know about it.

My latest findings is that I have exactly a 1 second delay between the scroll play function and the waveform being the blue scroll in advance.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3120
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by peakae » Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:36 am

Here it is pretty random, using the Play tool in the sample editor and clicking multiple times wil tricker playback from this exact location or somewhere else.
Martin was Kind to inform me that it had been reported.
Btw I have no problems using the Play tool in the arrangement, just in the editor.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:11 am

peakae wrote:
Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:36 am
Btw I have no problems using the Play tool in the arrangement, just in the editor.
That's exactly what happens to me and as I said before the delay is 1 second.

MityVee
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:11 am
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by MityVee » Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:27 am

Hello!
I can confirm and I am having the same said issues with the playback tool. This problem btw not only applies to the editor but also when skipping around in an audiofile in the media bay for example be it in the side panel or as an extra window.
This has been going on for a long time now and it's time Steinberg fixes this bug. Heard that other colleagues are having the exact same problem.
I do a lot of SoundDesign for Trailers and OnlineContent and am always skipping around in audiofiles picking only a little slice. For finding those I focus on transients but since "what you see is NOT what you get (and not what you hear either)" it always needs extra steps to make sure it's the right piece of audio I am looking for. This is time consuming and contra fast workflow.

PLEASE have this fixed in the next update. It's about time.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Wed Oct 24, 2018 8:31 am

I was in contact with Steinberg support about this issue, I even sent a video with the problem but never heard back from them.
I think it's important to point out that when there is a delay (not always present) it is exactly one second, at least in my case.
It has definitely not been solved in the most recent update 9.5.40.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:32 pm

Could someone from Steinberg please confirm if this is a known issue?
The person I was in contact with from Steinberg said that this problem was unknown to him and had never been reported.
Please confirm if it is a known problem.

tovaldi
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by tovaldi » Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:24 am

Is it possible that someone from Steinberg could confirm or simply check if this is actually a known issue?
For my workflow this is a very important tool that simply does not work correctly.
Thanks!

gamelany
Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 6:34 pm

Re: Audition tool in audio editor

Post by gamelany » Mon Jan 21, 2019 4:48 pm

Exactly the same problem here ! Only in sample editor.
most of the time the behaviour is wrong, sometimes it is correct.
SW: Win10 (64) , Cubase Pro (latest), WaveLab Pro (latest), GA5, AD2
HW: Intel i5/3.2GHz/16GB/Asus/SSD, Delta2496, Mackie Mixer

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests