My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
TNM
Member
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:21 pm
Contact:

My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Post by TNM »

Hi.. i had this intermittently with 9,5,2,0

But I just installed 9,5,2,1 hoping it would fix the issue,

and now, no matter what colour preset I choose, EVERY fader on my mixer is transparent :(

What is going on?

System specs in sig, currently cubase is only installed on the macbook pro.

whether with intel graphics or nvidia ( i can force nvidia by disabling power saving graphics in system prefs), it makes no difference.

This is very unpleasant to work with, especially against the dark GUI as the faders are blending in.

Come on Steinberg! I have chosen Cubase as my DAW, weaning off Pro tools and have left Logic for good, but this is the sort of thing I expect from Avid or Apple!

I am just SO tired of basic things in my DAW broken.

Please an ETA for a fix.
iMac Pro 8 core, 64GB ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6, Motu Microlite, Apollo 8, Motif MoxF6, more midi synths :)
MBP 15", 4 core, 16GB ram, 750M, OS 10.14.6, On board headphone out.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Post by Romantique Tp »

Try starting Cubase in Safe Start mode:
https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support ... ences.html
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

TNM
Member
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Post by TNM »

Done.. I chose the option to disable preferences, and it asked me for an audio interface choice, asked me to register again, like it was starting for first time.

I didn't touch a single preference....left the default GUI.

input and master faders appear as normal.

As soon as insert any kind of track, all go transparent..

so it made absolutely no difference.

In 9.5.2.0, only the new tracks would go transparent..

Now it's everything..

I have loaded 10 projects just earlier, every single one of them is affected.

With this test I just did with the safe mode, i started a new "empty" project.

Just standard settings, 256 buffer, 44.1K

CPU load low.

I can guarantee you this is a bug. And I remember reading something about transparent faders affecting people a long time back too.. so this is not entirely new...Although possibly new for V9,5
iMac Pro 8 core, 64GB ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6, Motu Microlite, Apollo 8, Motif MoxF6, more midi synths :)
MBP 15", 4 core, 16GB ram, 750M, OS 10.14.6, On board headphone out.

TNM
Member
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Post by TNM »

Here's a pic of an empty project that had 2 tracks i removed..as you can see, even the in out faders are clear now too.. it's a preset theme with no adjustments... and before you ask.. it makes no difference if i remove that single limiter plugin.
Screen Shot 2018-04-26 at 18.24.11.jpg
(172.35 KiB) Not downloaded yet
iMac Pro 8 core, 64GB ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6, Motu Microlite, Apollo 8, Motif MoxF6, more midi synths :)
MBP 15", 4 core, 16GB ram, 750M, OS 10.14.6, On board headphone out.

bruno-n
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Post by bruno-n »

Search for file "Userpreference" in one of the (Steinbergs) subfolders (I don't remember the exact location) of the folder Appdata, try to rename or delete the file. Cubase will create a new one. Obviouly you will lost some configurations.
Windows 10 Pro - i7 8086k - SSD 1TB/2TB - 32GB Ram - Steinberg UR44
Cubase Pro 9.5

TNM
Member
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Post by TNM »

bruno-n wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:30 pm
Search for file "Userpreference" in one of the (Steinbergs) subfolders (I don't remember the exact location) of the folder Appdata, try to rename or delete the file. Cubase will create a new one. Obviouly you will lost some configurations.
i'll zip up the current one and put it somewhere safe, and i will delete preferences.. that was my first instinct but i first wanted to see if anyone else had it.

I doubt it is the answer, since safe mode created a fresh (temporary) preference file..

However, to be thorough, i will do as you say, and if it doesn't work, I will put the current preference file back. a preference file check app showed no corruption.
iMac Pro 8 core, 64GB ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6, Motu Microlite, Apollo 8, Motif MoxF6, more midi synths :)
MBP 15", 4 core, 16GB ram, 750M, OS 10.14.6, On board headphone out.

TNM
Member
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Post by TNM »

Ok it temporarily worked (thank you)

until i created my own colour scheme again and saved it..

That's when it started last time, but i didn't see the correlation at the time.

So.. once i have saved my own scheme.. even if i choose a preset after that, the faders are see through.

It's just a saved scheme *existing* that is causing the problem here.. I can actually create a scheme and use it, as long as I don't save it..

I did this immediately before adjusting any other preferences.. so.....

has to be related
iMac Pro 8 core, 64GB ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6, Motu Microlite, Apollo 8, Motif MoxF6, more midi synths :)
MBP 15", 4 core, 16GB ram, 750M, OS 10.14.6, On board headphone out.

Zaffer
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Post by Zaffer »

Hi TNM,
I had the same problem -- transparent faders and I couldn't see my tempo track edits at all. See my post here if you are interested in my work-around. Thanks for posting your problem and solution. It saved my sanity.
Zaffer
viewtopic.php?f=250&t=139904&p=753029#p753029

tihomir777
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:42 pm
Contact:

Re: My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Post by tihomir777 »

Yesterday it happened to me on Cubase 10 Pro. In addition, inserts are strange too. You can't be sure if it is on or bypassed. Even in some projects, audio tracks are transparent. They are audible but look like blurry glass. Same look when opening them in editor. You can see waves but very faded

Taurean Mixing
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My faders are all transparent.. what on earth?

Post by Taurean Mixing »

Confirmed. I see this in 9.5.50.
Cubase Pro 10.0.60 | Ryzen 2700x | Win 10 x64 | Lynx AEX16e

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Eran and 2 guests