Steinberg Download Assistant

Post general topics related to HALion 6 and HALion Sonic 3 here.
Post Reply
ruffindajungle
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:36 am
Contact:

Steinberg Download Assistant

Post by ruffindajungle » Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:52 pm

Hi! When i try to download full Halion 6 it gives me no option to save it on other disk than the where my operating system is. Surely there has to be as ssd disks are expensive and operating systems will benefit from being on one. I can't free up another 30Gb plus maybe double of that when installing? For the record i have hdd disk right next to it (3TB).
Hackintosh i7 4790k, Sierra, Cubase 9, Halion 4, Groove Agent 4 etc

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2990
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Steinberg Download Assistant

Post by Romantique Tp » Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:00 pm

Please click the gear icon to the top right to change the download location:

Image
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

ruffindajungle
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Steinberg Download Assistant

Post by ruffindajungle » Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:52 am

Thank you , i just wish it were that easy. Seems very logical too, in the settings you can change these things. In my reality though, in the settings it tells me where the download location is but everything is grayed out. Even the " restore to defaults", i guess it is default. Pushing on the 3 dot button does nothing, nothing there is highlighted like it is on other pages. :roll:
Hackintosh i7 4790k, Sierra, Cubase 9, Halion 4, Groove Agent 4 etc

User avatar
Dirk Stegemann
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:32 am
Contact:

Re: Steinberg Download Assistant

Post by Dirk Stegemann » Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:35 am

ruffindajungle wrote:
Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:52 am
in the settings it tells me where the download location is but everything is grayed out. Even the " restore to defaults", i guess it is default. Pushing on the 3 dot button does nothing, nothing there is highlighted like it is on other pages. :roll:
Did you by any chance disable the installation of the optional aria2 download manager?
ARIA2-Installation.png
(31.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Could you have a look at your SDA's version information? Just click "Steinberg Download Assistant" in the upper left window area; it should look like this:
SDA-Settings.png
(30.73 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Dirk Stegemann
Software Developer & QA
SMTG Digital Unit - Services


Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

ruffindajungle
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Steinberg Download Assistant

Post by ruffindajungle » Sun Apr 22, 2018 5:41 pm

Back from the vacation...

Could the problem be that i don't have Aria2 installed at all? In the "about" tab it tells me Downloader: System Default. Seems like Aria2 is a must for me then?
Hackintosh i7 4790k, Sierra, Cubase 9, Halion 4, Groove Agent 4 etc

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2990
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Steinberg Download Assistant

Post by Romantique Tp » Sun Apr 22, 2018 5:42 pm

Just reinstall the Steinberg Download Assistant and it should give you the option to install Aria2.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
Dirk Stegemann
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:32 am
Contact:

Re: Steinberg Download Assistant

Post by Dirk Stegemann » Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:08 am

ruffindajungle wrote:
Sun Apr 22, 2018 5:41 pm
In the "about" tab it tells me Downloader: System Default. Seems like Aria2 is a must for me then?
The aria2 download manager "is a must" for you only if you want to use advanced features like pausing and resuming downloads, or choosing a different download location ;-)

Without the aria2 download manager installed, the Steinberg Download Assistant can only assist with finding and displaying the available downloads, but the download itself will be performed by the "system default", which is usually your default web browser -- and thus the downloaded files will end up wherever the default web browser's download location is configured.
Dirk Stegemann
Software Developer & QA
SMTG Digital Unit - Services


Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

ruffindajungle
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Steinberg Download Assistant

Post by ruffindajungle » Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:40 pm

Perfect! thanks
Hackintosh i7 4790k, Sierra, Cubase 9, Halion 4, Groove Agent 4 etc

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest