Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post general topics related to HALion 6 and HALion Sonic 3 here.
Post Reply
Stephco
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:18 pm
Contact:

Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by Stephco » Tue Dec 04, 2018 5:52 pm

I successfully installed the instruments updates, but I have an issue with the VSTSound updates. When I click on one VSTSound file from the "Content Update from HALion Sonic 3 - 3.1" folder, Library Manager opens correctly but is saying that the sound is already registered. Is it possible to update all of them to avoid a one by one clicking ?
Help, anyone ?
Be Happy, Life is Beautiful.

User avatar
Frank Seidel
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by Frank Seidel » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:13 pm

Hi,

you dont need the content update if you have already installed HALion 6.1.15 (HS(SE) 3.1.15), or if you do a fresh installation.
The content update is for older version only. Please read also Installation Guide HALion 6.

Thanks
Frank Seidel | Product Planning Manager
Vitrual Instruments and Content
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Beim Strohhause 31
20097 Hamburg

Stephco
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by Stephco » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:25 pm

OK Thx!
Be Happy, Life is Beautiful.

dancetiger
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by dancetiger » Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:51 pm

Frank Seidel wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:13 pm
Hi,

you dont need the content update if you have already installed HALion 6.1.15 (HS(SE) 3.1.15), or if you do a fresh installation.
The content update is for older version only. Please read also Installation Guide HALion 6.

Thanks
I did exactly what that installation tells me to do when updating from 6.1.15. Result: I get an error message when I open Cubase Pro 10 saying Halion 6 has been blacklisted. Sure enough it's gone. In the plugin manager a Halion 6 vst2 version is on the blacklist!!!?????

Reinstalled 6.1.15 and everything is back to normal. What's going on here?

MW
Cubase Pro 10, Halion 6, Dark Planet, Triebwerk, Hypnotic Dance, HSO, The Grand, Groove Agent 5, Wavelab 9.5
Steinberg UR 824, CMC PD, Midex 8
UAD Quad and Solo
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Intel i7 4790k, Intel Onboard graphics, Asus Pro Gamer Z97, 16gb ram
Cubase user since Cubase VST 24 3.6

User avatar
ANeeman
Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:30 am
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by ANeeman » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:06 pm

Frank Seidel wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:13 pm
Hi,

you dont need the content update if you have already installed HALion 6.1.15 (HS(SE) 3.1.15), or if you do a fresh installation.
The content update is for older version only. Please read also Installation Guide HALion 6.

Thanks
Hey, I have HALion 6.1.15 and libraries with size 27,5 GB. New folder of libraries have size 28,2 GB. So you think that there is no updates inside .vstsound files? Installer (updater) itself installs new .vstsound files - one for each HALion instrument and filename ends with _SP.vstsound. Take a look in your HALion's VST Sound folder.

My Workflow I will do right now:
1. Run Halion_Application_6.2.10_Installer_win.exe
2. Copy all the content from "...\Downloads\WIN64\3. Content HALion 6.2\" to your "C:\ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\HALion\VST Sound\" folder.

UPDATE 1
There also are 21 new .vstsound file in downloads folder:
FCP_SMT_194_HS_Anima_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_057_HS_VST3_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_130_HS_Beat_Box_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_197_HS_Eagle_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_106_HAL_VST3_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_193_HS_VST3_Presets_04.vstsound
FCP_SMT_061_HS_Layer_VST3_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_200_HS_Raven_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_116_HS_VST3_Presets_03.vstsound
FCP_SMT_125_HS_Granular_Synth_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_198_HS_Skylab_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_099_HS_VST3_Presets_02.vstsound
FCP_SMT_131_HS_Ethno_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_126_HS_Organ_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_135_HS_Layer_VST3_Presets_02.vstsound
FCP_SMT_078_HSSE_GM_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_124_HS_Dance_Synth_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_123_HS_Synth_Bass_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_129_HS_HALiotron_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_195_HS_Studio_Strings_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_196_HS_Hot_Brass_Presets_01.vstsound
Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Win10, 3.40 GHz, 16GB.
Steinberg: HALion 6.2.15, HSO, Native Instruments: FORM, MASSIVE, PRISM
Hardware: UR242, MG10XU, MG12XU, CS1x
Albums: Millectrinium (2018) | Nature. Water (2017) | Oracle (2017) | Two. Midnight Talks (2015)

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3041
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by jaslan » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:51 pm

I first just downloaded the instrument update itself without the content. That went smoothly.
When I ran HALion 6, it said it couldn't find the Neo Soul Keys preset file. I have never purchased it and I notice it is no longer available in the store so maybe it is included now? Also, when I did click on the updated content file in Download Manager, it started about 40 separate downloads IN THE EDGE BROWSER and I guess I have to wait for each one to start and then specify what I want to be done with each file? Is this right?
It seems painful to wait for all these files to download while I wait and specify what to do with each and every one. Previously, I clicked once in the Download Manager and came back an hour later or so and installed it...

OK. I think I need to use the Aria ….
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

JeeTee
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by JeeTee » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:01 am

ANeeman wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:06 pm


My Workflow I will do right now:
1. Run Halion_Application_6.2.10_Installer_win.exe
2. Copy all the content from "...\Downloads\WIN64\3. Content HALion 6.2\" to your "C:\ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\HALion\VST Sound\" folder.
All the .vstsound files you list are probably already installed - just not where you think they should be!
Try checking "C:\Users\Username\Appdata\Roaming\Steinberg\Content\VST Sound"

Best.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3041
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by jaslan » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:20 am

I did download the 6.2 Content and installed it. It all installed fine EXCEPT I did still get the error that it could not find the Neo Soul Keys file and I searched the usual locations. So it does not appear that the Neo Soul Keys has been included unless they meant to include it and just forgot to include the vstsound file in the content. Clicking on "remove" in response to that error removes the Neo Soul Keys from the library manager so it will stop looking for the file.
I am hoping a SB representative will comment on this though.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
ANeeman
Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:30 am
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by ANeeman » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:43 am

JeeTee wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:01 am
ANeeman wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:06 pm


My Workflow I will do right now:
1. Run Halion_Application_6.2.10_Installer_win.exe
2. Copy all the content from "...\Downloads\WIN64\3. Content HALion 6.2\" to your "C:\ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\HALion\VST Sound\" folder.
All the .vstsound files you list are probably already installed - just not where you think they should be!
Try checking "C:\Users\Username\Appdata\Roaming\Steinberg\Content\VST Sound"

Best.
Nop! There are only these files which did not changed after update:
FCP_SMT_226_HS_Anima_MP_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_227_HS_Skylab_MP_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_228_HS_Studio_Strings_MP_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_229_HS_Eagle_MP_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_230_HS_Raven_MP_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_231_HS_Hot_Brass_MP_01.vstsound
Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Win10, 3.40 GHz, 16GB.
Steinberg: HALion 6.2.15, HSO, Native Instruments: FORM, MASSIVE, PRISM
Hardware: UR242, MG10XU, MG12XU, CS1x
Albums: Millectrinium (2018) | Nature. Water (2017) | Oracle (2017) | Two. Midnight Talks (2015)

Tech-dance
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by Tech-dance » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:01 am

Jeez this update is painfully slow to download!

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by avviano » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:15 am

@dancetiger. After my update to 6.2 I also received the message that Halion was blacklisted. Turns out, it was only the VST 2 version. The VST Version 3.6.1 is up and running normally.

Make sure also to install the new Halion Library Manger (which is now called Steinberg Library Manager) in case you download the full content. SLM did not appear on my desktop by default, I had to search for it. After opening it, all libraries registered and when I opened Cubase, I did not manually have to search for them on startup.

I downloaded the full content and placed it in my current vstsound library. As has been noted before, there does seem to be some size difference.

Cheers.
Cubase Pro 9.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection (Halion 6). UR-824, UR-44

dancetiger
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by dancetiger » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:13 pm

avviano wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:15 am
@dancetiger. After my update to 6.2 I also received the message that Halion was blacklisted. Turns out, it was only the VST 2 version. The VST Version 3.6.1 is up and running normally.

Make sure also to install the new Halion Library Manger (which is now called Steinberg Library Manager) in case you download the full content. SLM did not appear on my desktop by default, I had to search for it. After opening it, all libraries registered and when I opened Cubase, I did not manually have to search for them on startup.

I downloaded the full content and placed it in my current vstsound library. As has been noted before, there does seem to be some size difference.

Cheers.
Just to update. I reinstalled 6.2 the whole package and that did the trick. At first I got the error message about a missing Neo Soul keys, also mentioned by others in this thread. The fix is to update the eLicenser database. Frank Seidel from Steinberg was very helpful on sorting these issues for me.


MW
Cubase Pro 10, Halion 6, Dark Planet, Triebwerk, Hypnotic Dance, HSO, The Grand, Groove Agent 5, Wavelab 9.5
Steinberg UR 824, CMC PD, Midex 8
UAD Quad and Solo
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Intel i7 4790k, Intel Onboard graphics, Asus Pro Gamer Z97, 16gb ram
Cubase user since Cubase VST 24 3.6

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1599
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 6.2 and Halion Sonic 3.2.15 Content Update

Post by Puma0382 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:27 pm

Frank Seidel wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:13 pm
Hi,

you dont need the content update if you have already installed HALion 6.1.15 (HS(SE) 3.1.15), or if you do a fresh installation.
The content update is for older version only. Please read also Installation Guide HALion 6.

Thanks
After your advice in the other thread, I just ran the HALion v6.2 update. I launch Cubase 10 and it complains during launch that HALion cannot find the following files:-

FCP_SMT_057_HS_VST3_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_078_HSSE_GM_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_099_HS_VST3_Presets_02.vstsound
FCP_SMT_116_HS_VST3_Presets_03.vstsound
FCP_SMT_123_HS_Synth_Bass_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_124_HS_Dance_Synth_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_125_HS_Granular_Synth_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_126_HS_Organ_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_129_HS_HALiotron_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_130_HS_Beat_Box_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_131_HS_Ethno_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_061_HS_Layer_VST3_Presets_01.vstsound
FCP_SMT_135_HS_Layer_VST3_Presets_02.vstsound
FCP_SMT_106_HAL_VST3_Presets_01.vstsound

So, quite a bit 'not found'; I miss my Haliotron sounds for example - nothing loads. :( Disappointing... I'd like them back. Don't tell me I have to download 30Gb of content file, please...!?!
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, 2 x 1Tb HDD storage, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" LCD monitors at Full HD; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.0.5, WaveLab Pro v9.5.40, Studio One v3.5.6, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 10, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest