HALion 64 bit only

Post general topics related to HALion 6 and HALion Sonic 3 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 832
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

HALion 64 bit only

Post by Matthias Quellmann » Sun Jan 22, 2017 4:32 pm

Hi all,

I would like to point out that HALion 6, HALion Sonic 3 and all of Steinberg's future releases will only be released as 64 bit versions.

We have already announced this in a official statement a couple of month ago.

https://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeve ... -3778.html
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

maggie
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by maggie » Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:51 pm

Very good and reasonable step, 32bit is dead.
Cubase 10 pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, Padshop Pro, Tone2 Electra 2, Tone2 Ultraspace, U-He Diva, U-He Presswerk, U-He Hive, Tubeohm Vintage, Virtual CZ, Arturia Solina V2, Arturia Analog Lab, Waldorf Nave, Synapse Dune 2, UVI Falcon, UVI Grand Piano Type D, AiR Xpand!2, KV331 Synthmaster, Steinberg UR22, Arturia Keylab 49 (Black Edition), Intel i7 2600, 16GB RAM, ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN 3, Windows 10 64bit

SqueekSqueek
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 8:47 pm
Location: Vienna, Barcelona, Bratislava, Prague
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by SqueekSqueek » Sun Jan 22, 2017 9:46 pm

maggie wrote:Very good and reasonable step, 32bit is dead.
Yes... actually for more than a decade now.

I vividly remember getting my first 64 bit capable CPU like... 10 years ago... and being frustrated, like back in the day, when I got my 386, that there is no software that can make use of all that oooomph... :D
Cubase 9 Pro, all the great Steinberg VSTis and quite a few expansions.

Windows 10 Pro, 6x 4.1 GHz of Ivy Bridge glory, 32 GB of RAM

Big fan of Steinberg software.

The Sarge
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by The Sarge » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:39 am

only 64bit I´m with you, Steinberg

but why is there prompted that System Requirements is Win8/10?
why no more Win7-Support?

I don´t wanna have Win8/10, because everything (and I mean everything) runs without problems on my Win7!

regards,
The Sarge!
i7-3770k, CubasePro8.5 und Pro10, M-Audiophile2496, 2x Midisport2x4, E-MU Orbit + PlanetEarth + Orbit3 + Mo´Phatt + Proteus1-3, Roland M-VS1 + JV1010 inkl.Asia + MC303, Yamaha QS300 + RM1x, Nubert nuPro A-200,
NI KOMPLETE12UCE + MASCHINE Mk2, Korg Legacy+Analog Collection inkl. MS-20Controller, Arturia V-Collection6, Absolute VST Sound Collection4, u-he Diva & Zebra & HiVE2 & Bazille & ACE & Repro1+5, Reveal Sound Spire, air AIEP3complete, Carbon Electra, VirtualCZ
how horny is that then ^^

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 832
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by Matthias Quellmann » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:59 am

The Sarge wrote:only 64bit I´m with you, Steinberg

but why is there prompted that System Requirements is Win8/10?
why no more Win7-Support?

I don´t wanna have Win8/10, because everything (and I mean everything) runs without problems on my Win7!

regards,
The Sarge!
It's Steinberg policy. We only support the last 2 operating systems on each platform.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
StefK
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by StefK » Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:29 pm

Matthias Quellmann wrote:
The Sarge wrote:only 64bit I´m with you, Steinberg

but why is there prompted that System Requirements is Win8/10?
why no more Win7-Support?

I don´t wanna have Win8/10, because everything (and I mean everything) runs without problems on my Win7!

regards,
The Sarge!
It's Steinberg policy. We only support the last 2 operating systems on each platform.
Has there been a policy change recently. because all ++three WIN(7.x, 8.0, 8.1, 10) were supported for HALion5, oh.. I should say four not ( 3 +.1 ) : https://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id= ... lion_5&L=1
Cubase 9.x|Reason 10.x|Halion6,HSO]|NI Komplete 9|VI-Labs Ravenscroft275
WIN10|GA-Z370-G7|8086K|64Gb|SAMSUNG-970|Thunderbolt3|UAD-Apollo.X6
Win 7 |GA-X58|W3680|12Gb|SAMSUNG 850|ECHO-MIA
MacBook Pro|MR816:CSX| Maudio:FW410 | Line6:KB37

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 832
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by Matthias Quellmann » Wed Feb 08, 2017 2:06 pm

StefK wrote: Has there been a policy change recently. because all ++three WIN(7.x, 8.0, 8.1, 10) were supported for HALion5, oh.. I should say four not ( 3 +.1 ) : https://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id= ... lion_5&L=1
Actually on the release of HALion 5 only W7 and W8 were supported. 10 was added later on, when Microsoft released it.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
StefK
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by StefK » Wed Feb 08, 2017 2:35 pm

Matthias Quellmann wrote:
StefK wrote: Has there been a policy change recently. because all ++three WIN(7.x, 8.0, 8.1, 10) were supported for HALion5, oh.. I should say four not ( 3 +.1 ) : https://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id= ... lion_5&L=1
Actually on the release of HALion 5 only W7 and W8 were supported. 10 was added later on, when Microsoft released it.
BUT! - I asked if there has been a policy change by SB recently to only support "last two OS versions" ?

WIN7 extended EOL is Jan 14 2020 : https://support.microsoft.com/en-au/hel ... fact-sheet

..And are SB really suggesting that when WIN 8.1 was released, then "officially " SB only supported 8.1 and 8.0 (and yes 8.1 was a totally different OS and kernel compared to 8.0 ) , because I doubt that these two platforms had any real traction, in terms of users running systems on them , but, I ask, "were 8.0 and 8.1 the only two supported" or has policy changed

I recall the announcement to only support 64 bit - and we all welcome this, and this makes a whole lot of sense.
..but not supporting win7 !?!? damn, I wish this was revealed a whole lot earlier in the H6 and H5 forums - unless I missed it?









WIN7 is stio
Cubase 9.x|Reason 10.x|Halion6,HSO]|NI Komplete 9|VI-Labs Ravenscroft275
WIN10|GA-Z370-G7|8086K|64Gb|SAMSUNG-970|Thunderbolt3|UAD-Apollo.X6
Win 7 |GA-X58|W3680|12Gb|SAMSUNG 850|ECHO-MIA
MacBook Pro|MR816:CSX| Maudio:FW410 | Line6:KB37

Timo
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:57 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by Timo » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:06 pm

Matthias Quellmann wrote:I would like to point out that HALion 6, HALion Sonic 3 and all of Steinberg's future releases will only be released as 64 bit versions.
Sad, but consequent. Please keep your word and publish one last 5.x/2.x update afterwards for us 32 bit elephants to make use of for a few more years (final maintenance update). Both have been real work horses for years and won't stop just because 6/3 are released. Thanks!
Tanzmusik und Hochzeitsband: The Rainbows - Music & Fun

User avatar
StefK
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by StefK » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:17 pm

Timo wrote:
Matthias Quellmann wrote:I would like to point out that HALion 6, HALion Sonic 3 and all of Steinberg's future releases will only be released as 64 bit versions.
Thread topic : is "HALion 64bit only" :

and WIN7-64bit qualifies
and WIN7-64bit is still a valid OS until its end of life = Jan 14 2020 : https://support.microsoft.com/en-au/hel ... fact-sheet

+AND a valid C9 os platform according to steinberg system requirements: https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/c ... urces.html
Cubase 9.x|Reason 10.x|Halion6,HSO]|NI Komplete 9|VI-Labs Ravenscroft275
WIN10|GA-Z370-G7|8086K|64Gb|SAMSUNG-970|Thunderbolt3|UAD-Apollo.X6
Win 7 |GA-X58|W3680|12Gb|SAMSUNG 850|ECHO-MIA
MacBook Pro|MR816:CSX| Maudio:FW410 | Line6:KB37

User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by kimbo72 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:29 pm

Are there still people who's run a 32 bit system?
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

SqueekSqueek
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 8:47 pm
Location: Vienna, Barcelona, Bratislava, Prague
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by SqueekSqueek » Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:13 pm

kimbo72 wrote:Are there still people who's run a 32 bit system?
Yes. On 64 bit CPUs, which is something I can't comprehend.
Cubase 9 Pro, all the great Steinberg VSTis and quite a few expansions.

Windows 10 Pro, 6x 4.1 GHz of Ivy Bridge glory, 32 GB of RAM

Big fan of Steinberg software.

stein67
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by stein67 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:01 pm

I was all set to buy but no Win7 support means no deal at the minute!!

vespesian
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by vespesian » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:48 pm

Matthias Quellmann wrote:Hi all,

I would like to point out that HALion 6, HALion Sonic 3 and all of Steinberg's future releases will only be released as 64 bit versions.

We have already announced this in a official statement a couple of month ago.

https://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeve ... -3778.html
Why wasn't the extinction of win7 support announced in the same manner as well?

User avatar
StefK
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by StefK » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:54 am

vespesian wrote:
Matthias Quellmann wrote:Hi all,

I would like to point out that HALion 6, HALion Sonic 3 and all of Steinberg's future releases will only be released as 64 bit versions.

We have already announced this in a official statement a couple of month ago.

https://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeve ... -3778.html
Why wasn't the extinction of win7 support announced in the same manner as well?
++1 : see also : viewtopic.php?f=262&t=112380
Cubase 9.x|Reason 10.x|Halion6,HSO]|NI Komplete 9|VI-Labs Ravenscroft275
WIN10|GA-Z370-G7|8086K|64Gb|SAMSUNG-970|Thunderbolt3|UAD-Apollo.X6
Win 7 |GA-X58|W3680|12Gb|SAMSUNG 850|ECHO-MIA
MacBook Pro|MR816:CSX| Maudio:FW410 | Line6:KB37

User avatar
Mike001
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:43 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by Mike001 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:28 am

Matthias Quellmann wrote: It's Steinberg policy. We only support the last 2 operating systems on each platform.
Hi Matthias,

How come Cubase 9 is Windows 7 compatible then.

Please see attached capture. :?:
Mike001
Attachments
Cubas 9.PNG
(18.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Never forget your ? . Cubase 9, Scan 3xs Windows7 i7 64bit 16Gig ram,Focusrite 18i6,Mackie HR824 Mk1,Komplete11,Korg Legacy Analog & Digital,Halion6,Sylenth1,Ace,Z3TA,Stutter Edit,Groove Agent4,Arturia V Collection
Yamaha Dx7 Mk1,Ensoniq Asr10,Juno106,Basstation,Super Basstation,Mikro Korg,Yamaha O1v Mk1,Shure SM58,etc,etc

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1354
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by fenderchris » Fri Feb 10, 2017 11:42 am

Mike001 wrote:
Matthias Quellmann wrote: It's Steinberg policy. We only support the last 2 operating systems on each platform.
Hi Matthias,

How come Cubase 9 is Windows 7 compatible then.

Please see attached capture. :?:
Mike001
Bazinga!
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

User avatar
C.LYDE101
Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by C.LYDE101 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:40 am

:D .. support .. does not imply does not function :lol:

Steinberg will only respond to issues for the last 2 operating system releases - for the rest you have the world wide web ;)

BAZINGA :lol:
The objective of good design, whether products or services, is to …satisfy customers by meeting their actual or anticipated needs and expectations.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 64 bit only

Post by Romantique Tp » Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:48 am

Note that Windows 7 is now officially supported: viewtopic.php?f=262&t=113206

Just a heads up for anyone reading this thread late.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests