HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post general topics related to HALion 6 and HALion Sonic 3 here.
Post Reply
Florian Haack
Moderator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:20 am
Contact:

HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post by Florian Haack » Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:34 pm

The latest maintenance update for HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 has a lot in store for you! Our major improvement is the new pitch analysis for the wavetable editor and the sample editor. You can access the Pitch analysis also via scripting for samples. This makes it much more easier to edit large amounts of samples with scripting or to write scripts which make use of the pitch analysis in a more creative way.

Overall, the update includes four new scripting features that creators of HALion instruments will embrace. Not to forget, more improvements and fixes – all told we counted 24!

For the download of the update and the version history, please open your Steinberg Download Assistant.

Everything scripting related for the new pitch analysis can be found here:

Analyze pitch

Cancel pitch analysis

Get pitch

Get pitch analysis progress
Florian Haack - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

dlpmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post by dlpmusic » Sat Jul 20, 2019 6:51 pm

Hi Florian,

Seems to be a serious bug with the quick controls assigned to the filter (cutoff, etc...) with the latest update. It might not happen on older instruments, but I was making new instruments in Halion 6 with the latest update and any quick control assigned to the filter cutoff, resonance or distortion works fine in Halion 6, but when you export that preset as a Halion Sonic SE layer preset and then open it in Halion Sonic SE the quick control for the filter, etc....does not function. Going back to the previous version fixes the problem only if the preset is exported in the previous version of Halion 6.
Cubase 10.x, I7 8 5960k Core, 32 gb
Halion 6.x, Large VE PRO setup with about 3000 Tracks

https://www.samplefuel.com

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post by Denis van der Velde » Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:25 am

Halion 6.3 - The earlier versions stated Library Missing - Ignore. But next start the same happened. Now in Halion 6.3 this message does not come.
I am quite happy about the fix!

Anyway it installed like a charm without problems...

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D


HALLY-7782
MediaBay Fixed: Sometimes MediaBay attributes could not be removed.
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C10,W10,Halion6,Groove Agent5,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFi Pro. Yamaha MW12c USB mixer.
Behringer TRUTH B2031A active studiomonitors. Sony MDR-V900 Headphones.
Steinberg CC121 Controller. Mackie Control Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

Matthias Klag
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:33 am

Re: HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post by Matthias Klag » Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:57 pm

dlpmusic wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 6:51 pm
Hi Florian,

Seems to be a serious bug with the quick controls assigned to the filter (cutoff, etc...) with the latest update. It might not happen on older instruments, but I was making new instruments in Halion 6 with the latest update and any quick control assigned to the filter cutoff, resonance or distortion works fine in Halion 6, but when you export that preset as a Halion Sonic SE layer preset and then open it in Halion Sonic SE the quick control for the filter, etc....does not function. Going back to the previous version fixes the problem only if the preset is exported in the previous version of Halion 6.
Hi dlpmusic,

did you update HALion Sonic SE to version 3.3? This is a separate download in Steinberg's download assistant.

Please check if all versions match x.3.

Kind regards,

Matthias
Matthias Klag - HALion Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

dlpmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post by dlpmusic » Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:45 am

Matthias Klag wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:57 pm
dlpmusic wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 6:51 pm
Hi Florian,

Seems to be a serious bug with the quick controls assigned to the filter (cutoff, etc...) with the latest update. It might not happen on older instruments, but I was making new instruments in Halion 6 with the latest update and any quick control assigned to the filter cutoff, resonance or distortion works fine in Halion 6, but when you export that preset as a Halion Sonic SE layer preset and then open it in Halion Sonic SE the quick control for the filter, etc....does not function. Going back to the previous version fixes the problem only if the preset is exported in the previous version of Halion 6.
Hi dlpmusic,

did you update HALion Sonic SE to version 3.3? This is a separate download in Steinberg's download assistant.

Please check if all versions match x.3.

Kind regards,

Matthias
Yes of course both were updated on multiple systems in our studio. There is absolutely an issue with the quick controls for the filter section.

I tried to private message you but it did not work....

Here is the link to the files....



https://1drv.ms/u/s!AlVgBzynP8nFj896BR4 ... w?e=z1L0ea

The 6.3 Layer file was made with Halion 6 version 6.3.....you will see when you load that layer into Halion Sonic SE 3.3 the quick controls will not work for the filter section. That patch also will not work in Halion Sonic SE 3.2.20.

The same file exported with Halion 6 version 6.2.20 works fine when loaded into Halion Sonic SE 3.2.20
Cubase 10.x, I7 8 5960k Core, 32 gb
Halion 6.x, Large VE PRO setup with about 3000 Tracks

https://www.samplefuel.com

Matthias Klag
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:33 am

Re: HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post by Matthias Klag » Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:45 pm

Hi dlpmusic,

thanks for sending the files. This was really helpful.

I can confirm the bug you reported. I made this bug high priority and it will get fixed it in the next update, of course. However, we will need some time to clearify when this will be.

There are two workarounds:

1.) Rollback to Version 6.2.20. This should be the safest option.

2.) If you are working on an instrument for HALion Sonic SE, you can do the final sound design in HALion Sonic which allows for assigning QCs. If you assign the QCs in HALion Sonic they should not get lost. The library creator converts the HALion Sonic presets to SE presets when you build the vstsound.

Sorry, for the inconvenience this has caused you. I'll definitely keep you posted in this forum.

Kind regards,

Matthias
Matthias Klag - HALion Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
Frank Seidel
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post by Frank Seidel » Thu Jul 25, 2019 3:27 pm

Hi all,

unfortunately there is an unexpected behaviour in HALion 6.3 / HALion Sonic 3.3 with using and assigning quick controls.
We are already investigating this. It will be fixed with the next version.

If you need quick control assignment for your work, you can rollback to Version 6.2.20/3.2.20.
Please download from here:

https://download.steinberg.net/download ... er_mac.dmg
https://download.steinberg.net/download ... er_win.exe

Sorry again for the inconvenience.

Best regards
Frank
Frank Seidel | Product Planning Manager
Vitrual Instruments and Content
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Beim Strohhause 31
20097 Hamburg

dlpmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post by dlpmusic » Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:51 pm

Matthias Klag wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:45 pm
Hi dlpmusic,

thanks for sending the files. This was really helpful.

I can confirm the bug you reported. I made this bug high priority and it will get fixed it in the next update, of course. However, we will need some time to clearify when this will be.

There are two workarounds:

1.) Rollback to Version 6.2.20. This should be the safest option.

2.) If you are working on an instrument for HALion Sonic SE, you can do the final sound design in HALion Sonic which allows for assigning QCs. If you assign the QCs in HALion Sonic they should not get lost. The library creator converts the HALion Sonic presets to SE presets when you build the vstsound.

Sorry, for the inconvenience this has caused you. I'll definitely keep you posted in this forum.

Kind regards,

Matthias

Thank you to you and Frank for jumping on this right away. Fantastic instrument that keeps getting better. I also appreciate how fast you address matters like these....again very much appreciated.
Cubase 10.x, I7 8 5960k Core, 32 gb
Halion 6.x, Large VE PRO setup with about 3000 Tracks

https://www.samplefuel.com

User avatar
Simon Stockhausen
Junior Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:32 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post by Simon Stockhausen » Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:11 am

AU validation of HALion 6.3 fails in Logic 10.4.5 - the AU tool crashes and projects with HALion involved will not open anymore. Standalone works alright. I'm rolling back...
Image

User avatar
Simon Stockhausen
Junior Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:32 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.3 and HALion Sonic (SE) 3.3 maintenance update available now

Post by Simon Stockhausen » Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:31 am

Simon Stockhausen wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:11 am
AU validation of HALion 6.3 fails in Logic 10.4.5 - the AU tool crashes and projects with HALion involved will not open anymore. Standalone works alright. I'm rolling back...
I finally got it to work after forcing AU validation for about six times, then I had to restart Logic and H6 appeared in the plug-in list.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests