Halion 6 Questions - CC's

Interested in HALion 6 or HALion Sonic 3? Having questions regarding the update or upgrade to the latest version? Please post here!
Post Reply
audioguy
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:23 am
Contact:

Halion 6 Questions - CC's

Post by audioguy » Thu May 25, 2017 12:26 pm

I am looking at purchasing a sample library however I need to know how it might respond to MIDI CC's, in particular CC7 and CC11.

Currently I use SampleTank but it only responds to CC7 so if I send a volume change to it, any subsequent changes means I must "restore" the volume before adding any more changes which is time consuming.

I have used CC7 and CC11 with hardware modules and believe that CC11 is a relative controller so would prefer to use this if I can and need to know if Halion 6 can respond to both CC7 and CC11 controllers separately.

Thanks for any help.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 6 Questions - CC's

Post by Romantique Tp » Thu May 25, 2017 7:40 pm

Halion 6 and Halion Sonic behave just like hardware modules in this case. It responds to both CC7 and CC11 and CC11 is relative to CC7.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

audioguy
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: Halion 6 Questions - CC's

Post by audioguy » Thu May 25, 2017 9:45 pm

Thanks for writing.

So it's possible that the same control responds to both CC7 and CC11 or must they be assigned to different controls?

For example, with SampleTank, you can't assign more than one CC to one control unless I'm confused about something.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion 6 Questions - CC's

Post by Romantique Tp » Thu May 25, 2017 10:34 pm

You can assign the same MIDI controller several times to different parameters (for example, you could set CC28 to change the volume, pan and fine tuning all at the same time). However, you cannot assign different MIDI controllers to the same parameter.

This part of the manual addresses MIDI controllers. Check the subsections: https://steinberg.help/halion/v6/en/hal ... ers_c.html
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest