There is a serious bug in H6 filter [SOLVED]

Use this forum for an overview of collected bugs and to report new ones.
Post Reply
User avatar
abject39
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Ventura, Ca
Contact:

There is a serious bug in H6 filter [SOLVED]

Post by abject39 » Sat May 27, 2017 4:44 pm

Using Windows 10, 64bit.
There's a bug in Halion 6 in it's parameter reporting. I've been having several issues creating in the macro editor and I've finally pinpointed where the issue resides. The issue is that H6 is not updating the filter shape to match the filter type. No matter what filter type you choose all filter shapes are present. This causes synchronous graphical errors in the Marco page due to animations and other graphical elements not syncing up with the actual filter shape. This also causes the "show value" option in the macro page to display the wrong filter shape when it is connected to the filter shape if it uses a different filter type. To see the issue proceed with this set of instructions...
1. Open HALION. The default preset “Hexagon” should load.
2. Click the OPEN NEW WINDOW button and select "Macro Page Designer Extended".
3. In the PROGRAM TREE expand the "Anima" layer and select the synth ZONE.
4. Scroll down in the PARAMETER LIST until you see the "Filter" folder. Expand that and you see "Type" and filter "ShapeA" parameters.
5. Scroll down in the SOUND Editor (This is the docked bottom right tab) until you see the FILTER section.
6. Using either the PARAMETER LIST or SOUND Editor change the Filter Type to "Waldorf". Both the SOUND Editor and PARAMETER LIST will show this change.
7. Click the value drop down for ShapeA of the PARAMETER LIST.
8. Click the value drop down for filter shape A of the SOUOND Editor.

They will display two different sets of filter options. Scrolling your mouse wheel over the PARAMETER LIST value for ShapeA will cause the SOUND Editor to match and display the wrong filter shapes for this filter type as well. This becomes a problem especially when we want to tie this parameter to an Animation, fader, etc etc in the Macro Page. Although I want to use the Waldorf Filter type, the Macro element will respond to the PARAMETER LIST value which causes the element to display the wrong info and respond incorrectly.
Last edited by abject39 on Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
My vision is uncompromising: to transcend my clients dreams by mesmerizing their audience with the world's finest audio arrangements and products.

Gerrit Junge
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: There is a serious bug in H6 filter

Post by Gerrit Junge » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:32 pm

Hi abject39,
I'm able to reproduce it here. Its now in our Defect-Tracking-System and listed as Bug-ID "HALLY-6987".
I hope we can provide a fix for it soon.

Thanks for your report and please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Gerrit Junge
Senior Quality Engineer
VST Instruments
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

User avatar
abject39
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Ventura, Ca
Contact:

Re: There is a serious bug in H6 filter

Post by abject39 » Mon Jun 26, 2017 1:27 pm

Thank you!
My vision is uncompromising: to transcend my clients dreams by mesmerizing their audience with the world's finest audio arrangements and products.

rschuetze
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:38 pm

Re: There is a serious bug in H6 filter [SOLVED]

Post by rschuetze » Thu Nov 09, 2017 2:33 pm

Sorry for not getting back to this sooner.

This works as designed. The parameter list shows the parameters as they are defined and how they are accessible from other scripts or from other parts of the program, e.g. automation or quick controls. The shape parameter has some values that do not work with all filter types, but that is similar to other parameters not having an effect depending on other parameters.

The filter shape is a bit special because it has some UI support for convenience: in a combo box popup only the shapes sensible or the current filter types are shown. This also applies to macro pages. Other values are still accessible through automation or MIDI controller, though.

If you want to customize the accessible shapes, you have to write a small script defining a parameter with the valid options and forward changes to the zones. Here is an example that also shows how to switch the definition dynamically:

Code: Select all

-- MIDI module for restricted usage of filter types and shapes for zones of the same layer

-- definition to map parameters of this module to zone parameters
filterDefinition = {
	-- classic
	{ zoneType = 1, shapes = { { "LP24", 0}, { "LP12", 2 }, { "LP6", 3 }, { "HP24", 10 }, { "HP12", 12 }, { "HP6", 13 } } },
	-- waldorf
	{ zoneType = 8, shapes = { { "LP24", 0}, { "LP12", 2 }, { "HP24", 10 }, { "HP12", 12 }, { "Comb+", 28 }, { "Comb-", 29 } } },
}

-- (re)define the filter shape parameter
function defineFilterShape()
	local names = {}
	for i,n in ipairs(filterDefinition[FilterType].shapes) do
		names[i] = n[1]
	end
	defineParameter("FilterShape", "Filter Shape", 1, names, function() onFilterShapeChanged() end)
end

-- update zones with the mapped filter and shape parameter values
function onFilterTypeChanged()
	local zones = this.parent:findZones(true) -- all zones in same layer
	local ztype = filterDefinition[FilterType].zoneType -- map to HALion Filter type
	local zshape = filterDefinition[FilterType].shapes[FilterShape][2]
	for _,z in ipairs(zones) do
		z:setParameter("Filter.Type", ztype)
		z:setParameter("Filter.ShapeA", zshape)
	end
	-- update shape names
	defineFilterShape()
end

-- update zones with the mapped shape parameter values
function onFilterShapeChanged()
	local zones = this.parent:findZones(true) -- all zones in same layer
	local zshape = filterDefinition[FilterType].shapes[FilterShape][2]
	for _,z in ipairs(zones) do
		z:setParameter("Filter.ShapeA", zshape)
	end
end

-- define parameters
defineParameter("FilterType", "Filter Type", 1, { "Classic", "Waldorf" }, function() onFilterTypeChanged() end)
defineFilterShape()
I hope this helps.
Rainer Schuetze - HALion Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

User avatar
abject39
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Ventura, Ca
Contact:

Re: There is a serious bug in H6 filter [SOLVED]

Post by abject39 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:23 am

rschuetze wrote:
Thu Nov 09, 2017 2:33 pm
Sorry for not getting back to this sooner.

This works as designed. The parameter list shows the parameters as they are defined and how they are accessible from other scripts or from other parts of the program, e.g. automation or quick controls. The shape parameter has some values that do not work with all filter types, but that is similar to other parameters not having an effect depending on other parameters.

The filter shape is a bit special because it has some UI support for convenience: in a combo box popup only the shapes sensible or the current filter types are shown. This also applies to macro pages. Other values are still accessible through automation or MIDI controller, though.

If you want to customize the accessible shapes, you have to write a small script defining a parameter with the valid options and forward changes to the zones. Here is an example that also shows how to switch the definition dynamically:

Code: Select all

-- MIDI module for restricted usage of filter types and shapes for zones of the same layer

-- definition to map parameters of this module to zone parameters
filterDefinition = {
	-- classic
	{ zoneType = 1, shapes = { { "LP24", 0}, { "LP12", 2 }, { "LP6", 3 }, { "HP24", 10 }, { "HP12", 12 }, { "HP6", 13 } } },
	-- waldorf
	{ zoneType = 8, shapes = { { "LP24", 0}, { "LP12", 2 }, { "HP24", 10 }, { "HP12", 12 }, { "Comb+", 28 }, { "Comb-", 29 } } },
}

-- (re)define the filter shape parameter
function defineFilterShape()
	local names = {}
	for i,n in ipairs(filterDefinition[FilterType].shapes) do
		names[i] = n[1]
	end
	defineParameter("FilterShape", "Filter Shape", 1, names, function() onFilterShapeChanged() end)
end

-- update zones with the mapped filter and shape parameter values
function onFilterTypeChanged()
	local zones = this.parent:findZones(true) -- all zones in same layer
	local ztype = filterDefinition[FilterType].zoneType -- map to HALion Filter type
	local zshape = filterDefinition[FilterType].shapes[FilterShape][2]
	for _,z in ipairs(zones) do
		z:setParameter("Filter.Type", ztype)
		z:setParameter("Filter.ShapeA", zshape)
	end
	-- update shape names
	defineFilterShape()
end

-- update zones with the mapped shape parameter values
function onFilterShapeChanged()
	local zones = this.parent:findZones(true) -- all zones in same layer
	local zshape = filterDefinition[FilterType].shapes[FilterShape][2]
	for _,z in ipairs(zones) do
		z:setParameter("Filter.ShapeA", zshape)
	end
end

-- define parameters
defineParameter("FilterType", "Filter Type", 1, { "Classic", "Waldorf" }, function() onFilterTypeChanged() end)
defineFilterShape()
I hope this helps.
Thank you for the follow up. You said that only the shapes sensible to filter type are show up in a pop up. My question is if this behavior is override-able? I really like the "fatness" parameter that comes with the waldorf filter type and I also like that it is the only filter type with Comb filtering. But I really wish it had more than 13 filter shapes like classic does. Is there an actual way to combine elements of each filter or is that impossible? I assume it is impossible as the waldorf filter shapes do not self oscillate like the classic ones do.
My vision is uncompromising: to transcend my clients dreams by mesmerizing their audience with the world's finest audio arrangements and products.

rschuetze
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:38 pm

Re: There is a serious bug in H6 filter [SOLVED]

Post by rschuetze » Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:10 am

Is there an actual way to combine elements of each filter or is that impossible?
The waldorf filter only features the displayed shapes. What you can do is to present the full list of filter shapes to the user, but not the type, and then switch type and shape internally selecting your favorite filter for the given shape.
Rainer Schuetze - HALion Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

User avatar
abject39
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Ventura, Ca
Contact:

Re: There is a serious bug in H6 filter [SOLVED]

Post by abject39 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 4:55 am

rschuetze wrote:
Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:10 am
Is there an actual way to combine elements of each filter or is that impossible?
The waldorf filter only features the displayed shapes. What you can do is to present the full list of filter shapes to the user, but not the type, and then switch type and shape internally selecting your favorite filter for the given shape.
Only problem with that is that as soon as I switch to a filter type outside of Waldorf I lose the fatness parameter for that type. It's ok. Hopefully down the road the filter types converge a little more. It would be great to see those comb filters and fatness control make it to the other types or even the ability to have two truly independent filters besides just the offset we have now.
My vision is uncompromising: to transcend my clients dreams by mesmerizing their audience with the world's finest audio arrangements and products.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest