How to update from file all scripts at once?

Post topics about HALion scripting.
Post Reply
User avatar
TheMaestro
Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:13 pm
Contact:

How to update from file all scripts at once?

Post by TheMaestro » Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:41 pm

I may use dozens of scripts, or duplicates of the same script, from file, in multiple programs and HALion instances.

Whenever I make a change to the external script files, I have to find all the related Lua Script modules and reset from file one by one.
This is not very efficient and very time consuming, as I may have hundreds of scripts to update each time.

Why doesn't HALion automatically reload all the scripts from file ?

Is there an option somewhere to do so, or at least manually with one click for each instance of HALion ?
Did I miss something ?
Cubase Pro 9.5 | Halion 6.1 | VEP 6
Windows 10 x64 | i7 920 | 48GB RAM | M-AUDIO Delta 1010LT

AposMus
Junior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: How to update from file all scripts at once?

Post by AposMus » Mon Mar 06, 2017 9:40 pm

I don't think there is a central or automatic way to do this.

This probably has to do with the scripts having to be re-initialised and error checked by the script module.
Cubase Pro 8.5.2
Halion 6
HSO
Padshop Pro
Dark Planet
Windows 7 64bit, AMD Phenom IIx6 1055t, 8GB Ram, Gigabyte GA-880G-UD3H F2, Nvidia GeForce GTS450
https://dewetvanderspuy.co.za/

User avatar
TheMaestro
Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: How to update from file all scripts at once?

Post by TheMaestro » Tue Mar 07, 2017 10:42 am

This is a big handicap as one can very well use the same script file dozens or hundreds of times in different programs and HALion instances.
If only the combined mode display of Modules worked as intended with Lua Script it would be ok, but it doesn't.

In my opinion when a preset is loaded, HALion should check for all the scripts loaded from external files and propose to update if there is any change in the source file. Or there should be at least a button to update them all manually.
This is precisely the whole point of pointing the Lua Script Modules to external files.
Cubase Pro 9.5 | Halion 6.1 | VEP 6
Windows 10 x64 | i7 920 | 48GB RAM | M-AUDIO Delta 1010LT

Matthias Klag
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:33 am

Re: How to update from file all scripts at once?

Post by Matthias Klag » Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:18 pm

To update all script modules that reference the same script from disk, you have to reload the programs or the whole project. All MIDI modules that use your script will update. Loading times might be an issue then. I suggest that you develop your script in a smaller environment. This will reduce loading times and it has the advantage that you have more oversight.

Cheers,

Matthias
Matthias Klag - HALion Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
TheMaestro
Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: How to update from file all scripts at once?

Post by TheMaestro » Wed Mar 08, 2017 4:34 pm

Oh actually it does! You're right! I was sure of the opposite.
Problem solved.
Thank you Matthias.

I have lots of small scripts, mainly executing "notes operations", that will load in numerous programs. I didn't notice any longer loading times so far.
But I have another question about performance of those scripts that I will probably raise in another thread.
Cubase Pro 9.5 | Halion 6.1 | VEP 6
Windows 10 x64 | i7 920 | 48GB RAM | M-AUDIO Delta 1010LT

Matthias Klag
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:33 am

Re: How to update from file all scripts at once?

Post by Matthias Klag » Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:51 pm

You're welcome!

With "loading times" I ment loading of samples and not the script. It seams, your programs are small enough so they load fast.

Good to hear that this is solved.

Cheers,

Matthias
Matthias Klag - HALion Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
TheMaestro
Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: How to update from file all scripts at once?

Post by TheMaestro » Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:08 pm

That's what I understood, no impact on the loading time of the whole programs (samples) (~3 GB each).
I try to keep my scripts as short and simple as possible, 20-50 lines, maybe that's why.
Cubase Pro 9.5 | Halion 6.1 | VEP 6
Windows 10 x64 | i7 920 | 48GB RAM | M-AUDIO Delta 1010LT

Post Reply

Return to “Halion Scripting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest