5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by ChrisPolus » Fri May 04, 2018 10:14 pm

Hi

I've got a setup like described by Fredo some time ago. I have dialog tracks routed to a Dialog Group. From there they go to a 5.1 Dialog Stem, and from there being sent to a 2.0 Stem.

Now when I want to export stems, I select the surround dialog, music, FX and stereo dialog, music, FX and export them. Funnily, the surround dialog stem is silent. Nothing in it. While the stereo dialog stem has all the dialogs.

I don't understand. Dialogs go to surround dialog stem, from there to stereo. When the surround is silent because I do something wrong in the routing, the stereo should be too, right? What's wrong?
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

ErikG
Member
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by ErikG » Sat May 05, 2018 7:46 am

I have the same setup but have not yet come across something like that. Unless you have accidentally only routed the dialog to the 20 bus it shouldn’t be possible.
Filmlance
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 2k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

glidator
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by glidator » Sat May 05, 2018 8:27 am

do you have any plugin inserted on your dialog group ? I had this bug with N7 (i don’t remember witch plugin)
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
Nuage 32 faders
AMS-NEVE DFC GEMINI (with Nuendo and Pro Tools)

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by ChrisPolus » Sat May 05, 2018 12:04 pm

Not on the dialog group, neither on the stems. I think I might have the built-in limiter from the Nuendo native channel strip, that's it. I have plugins on the individual dialog tracks. But as you said, it should be impossible. Why is the 5.1 track empty, the 2.0 track has voice, when the VO is routed through the 5.1 to the 2.0. It should either work or not. But this is VERY weird.

Anyway, thanks for now. Maybe it's one of those things. I started this project in N7, then moved it to N8. One of those glitches...
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

Vinylist
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by Vinylist » Sat May 05, 2018 1:13 pm

Do you use animyx in the 5.1 stem? how do you actually down-mix from surround to stereo? I have a guess that if you use anymix as pre fade insert it may be the the source of the problem.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by MattiasNYC » Sat May 05, 2018 3:28 pm

I guess a temporary workaround could be to just send the srnd stem to a separate 5.1 output that isn't connected to anything. If that output duplicates the signal fine then try selecting it instead for export.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by ChrisPolus » Sat May 05, 2018 3:55 pm

Thanks MattiasNYC, that's worth a try.
No Vinylist, I don't have any Anymix in my session. I use the built-in mixdown.
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 424
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Sun May 06, 2018 7:42 am

Just curious, is your meters moving on 5.1 dia stem?
Just to check that dia goes thru that stem.
Might be obvious but still as this sound very odd...
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 7.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by ChrisPolus » Sun May 06, 2018 9:12 am

Yep, meters are moving fine. Strange right?...
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

ErikG
Member
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by ErikG » Sun May 06, 2018 9:43 pm

Want to share your project file (no media needed)?
Filmlance
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 2k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by ChrisPolus » Sun May 06, 2018 10:12 pm

Sure I could, it's no top secret project. I'll do as soon as I can, I'm in the studio Monday or Tuesday. I hope I won't foget ;) Thanks!
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by ChrisPolus » Mon May 07, 2018 8:33 am

@MattiasNYC: Your proposal worked. I added a new bus, sent the existing 5.1 also to this new 5.1 DX bus as well as the 2.0 DX bus, and presto. It worked. Now I have sound in my 5.1 and 2.0 export. Still, when I render the original 5.1 bus, no sound can be heard. So weird.

Another strange fact, I have iZotopes DDLY delay effect on one of the voice tracks. And sometimes when I render, the effect is just bypassed and cannot be heard, and other times when I render, it's there and effects the voice fine. I hate ghost stuff like that where you spend hours finding the issue and it's only coincidence if it works. Really makes me mad.

Anyway, it's not that important anymore, luckily the project is now bounced, also with stems, it's finsihed. But boy, would this stuff have happened more during production when the director was sitting next to me, I'd have pulled my hair out,

Here's a link to the project with with no media and example bounces if you want to take a look ErikG:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/10wut884dcf2r ... t.zip?dl=0

Thanks for all your help!
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: 5.1 Dialog Stem Silent on Export, Stereo Works

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon May 07, 2018 2:36 pm

It's probably wise to troubleshoot the iZotope issue though since that can be very bad.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests