[Bug?] Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jim Fox
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:11 pm
Contact:

[Bug?] Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole

Post by Jim Fox » Wed May 23, 2018 4:17 am

Hello, N8.2 is working better than ever. Thank you SB.

Except: In Preferences I select < Editing < Project & MixConsole < "Sync Selection in Project Window and MixConsole" checked.

Channel and Track sync selection is not fully working anymore. I have a some group Tracks in a closed folder in the Project window. If I go to the mixer and select one of these groups channels, the corresponding "Channel Setting" follows as it should. But now if I go to the project window and select a track that is not in the closed folder, N8.2 will not sync the channel or "Channel Setting". "Channel Setting" is stuck there.

So if you go back to the mixer, select a channel that is not in a closed project window folder, N8.2 will again work as expected until the next time one of those closed folder group channels are select. If you open the folder then N8.2 will also sync as expected. Problem is, I work with the folder closed, as in hundreds of my project.npr's.

Is there a new preference I am missing? Or this needs to work like previous versions. Please, could some of you confirm this behavior. Thank you. SB please check it out.

[Feature Request] "Channel Settings". In fact I would rather not have to sync tracks & channels selections but instead have "Channel Settings" follow Track selection - Or - Channel selection. Which ever track or channel is selected. Currently "Channel Settings" only follow channel selection hence the need to sync Tracks and Channels.

Nuendo is great,
Fox
N8, Win7-64bit, i7 Quad Core 3.33GHz, 12GB RAM, RME MADI, RME AES-32, Intensity Pro, Powercore PCIeMkII

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 11435
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug?] Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed May 23, 2018 10:47 am

Hi,

The core of the problem is somewhere else. The problem is, the "hidden" channel (collapsed in the folder) stays selected (if the "hidden" track is placed before the selected one). See attached GIF, please.

Is it the same on your side?

Are you sure it's new since N8.2, please?
Attachments
Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole.gif
(1.57 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug?] Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole

Post by ffg » Wed May 23, 2018 8:52 pm

Martin

This issue sounds very much like the one I raised in the Cubase Issues forum, which you kindly answered (though your findings are different to mine) here

viewtopic.php?f=253&t=138018

Thanks for your reply on Tuesday about trashing the prefs, will try that.
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 8.2
Cubase 9.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
MacPro 2.8 8-core OSX 8.5
Macbook Pro OSX 10.11
RME Fireface 800

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 11435
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug?] Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed May 23, 2018 9:06 pm

ffg wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 8:52 pm
Martin

This issue sounds very much like the one I raised in the Cubase Issues forum, which you kindly answered (though your findings are different to mine) here

viewtopic.php?f=253&t=138018

Thanks for your reply on Tuesday about trashing the prefs, will try that.
I was also thinking, if it's linked. But you referred clearly to the Key Commands.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug?] Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole

Post by ffg » Wed May 23, 2018 9:13 pm

That's true, that's what I noticed at first, but today I'm finding very inconsistent behaviour of the Channel Settings, whether KC or clicking on "e"

I'm fairly sure something is broken in 9.5.2 (haven't gone to 9.5.3 - lots of problems being reported today)
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 8.2
Cubase 9.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
MacPro 2.8 8-core OSX 8.5
Macbook Pro OSX 10.11
RME Fireface 800

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 11435
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug?] Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed May 23, 2018 9:40 pm

The issue I described is definitely not new in Cubase 9.5.20. I'm not sure, if its new since Cubase 9.5. I would say its even older. But I haven't tested an older version with this yet.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)

User avatar
Jim Fox
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug?] Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole

Post by Jim Fox » Thu May 24, 2018 2:21 am

Thanks for your replies,
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 10:47 am
Are you sure it's new since N8.2, please?
I am sure this started in N8.2.
N8.1.1 sync selection was correct, like it has been since N1.1

Nuendo is great,
Fox
N8, Win7-64bit, i7 Quad Core 3.33GHz, 12GB RAM, RME MADI, RME AES-32, Intensity Pro, Powercore PCIeMkII

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 11435
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug?] Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu May 24, 2018 9:11 am

You are right, I can confirm, it's new since Cubase 9.5 and Nuendo 8.2.

Reported to Steinberg.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug?] Sync Selection in Project & MixConsole

Post by ffg » Thu May 24, 2018 11:03 am

The similar issue I had in Cubase (see thread reference above) has been fixed by trashing C9.5 prefs, forcing Cubase to return to C9.0 prefs.

Thanks Martin for this suggestion.
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 8.2
Cubase 9.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
MacPro 2.8 8-core OSX 8.5
Macbook Pro OSX 10.11
RME Fireface 800

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dolfo and 3 guests