Master bus in bypass after previewing DOP

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
KSD
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:44 am
Contact:

Master bus in bypass after previewing DOP

Post by KSD » Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:19 am

Hi

When I use direct offline processing and preview it, the inserts on my master go in bypass mode. After I'm finished with direct offline processing I exit that window, but my master stays on bypass. Very annoying...

Anyone with the same problem?

Best, Alan
N8.2.10 64bit
Mac Pro 10.12.6 six core 3,33 / 40GB RAM / 3xSSD
Mac Pro 10.12.6 twelve core 3,46 / 96GB RAM / 3xSSD
Mac Mini 10.13.2 3.0 i7/16 GB RAM / Flash
Mac Book Pro 10.12.6 quadcore Intel 2,4 i7 / 8GB RAM / 1xSSD
Rednet 16/Rednet 4/Rednet 2
Trinnov DMON8
Colin Broad TMC-1
Artist Control+Transport+Mix
Blackmagic Decklink Studio

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3328
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Master bus in bypass after previewing DOP

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Oct 12, 2018 3:21 pm

Could this be that the audition path is different from the master path, and you therefore aren't really bypassing the inserts but rather bypassing the entire channel? (I'm talking about control room btw)
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2304
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Master bus in bypass after previewing DOP

Post by Fredo » Fri Oct 12, 2018 5:15 pm

There are *some* third party plugins who forget their bypass status after "going offline".
To give an example, a bunch of Izotope RX6 plugins are stuck in bypass after closing and reopening your project.
So if you use certain RX plugins as insert, there is a fair chance that they are bypassed when you reopen your project the next day.
Not saying that is the problem though.. Just saying that it *might* by worth looking into this.
And just as Mattias says, are you using Control Room (properly)?

Fredo

rbesser
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: Master bus in bypass after previewing DOP

Post by rbesser » Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:02 pm

I´m having the same problem with ALL plugins including Steinbergs.....is really annoyng. The Master inserts remain bypassed until I close the DOP window.

I´m using N8.3. W10-Enterprise 64.

KSD
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:44 am
Contact:

Re: Master bus in bypass after previewing DOP

Post by KSD » Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:32 am

Hi guys

Thanks for the replies.

I'm not using the control room (external monitor controller), so that can't be it.

I have an Isotope Ozone on my master, so, as Fredo mentioned, it can be a third party plugin thing. But as I read rbesser's post it is also happening with Steinberg plugins....

I'll investigate further.

Best, Alan
N8.2.10 64bit
Mac Pro 10.12.6 six core 3,33 / 40GB RAM / 3xSSD
Mac Pro 10.12.6 twelve core 3,46 / 96GB RAM / 3xSSD
Mac Mini 10.13.2 3.0 i7/16 GB RAM / Flash
Mac Book Pro 10.12.6 quadcore Intel 2,4 i7 / 8GB RAM / 1xSSD
Rednet 16/Rednet 4/Rednet 2
Trinnov DMON8
Colin Broad TMC-1
Artist Control+Transport+Mix
Blackmagic Decklink Studio

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3328
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Master bus in bypass after previewing DOP

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:47 pm

From the online manual:

"When auditioning, audio will be routed directly to the Control Room if the Control Room is activated. If the Control Room is deactivated, the audio is routed to the default output bus, bypassing the audio channel’s settings, effects and EQs."

That's for parts/events, but I'm wondering if perhaps it's the same 'rule' for all auditioning.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests