LP automation is late.. why ?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

LP automation is late.. why ?

Post by sylvainmoreau » Mon Apr 01, 2019 2:04 pm

Hi,

i have a region where i want a low HC filter pre.
i use the Fill Loop, put markers around the region enter loop and play to record my automation at the right Freq.
i press stop, and play the sound starting before the region.
i can clearly hear that +/- 10ms of the begining of the region is played without the HC :evil:
i zoom to check automation start and it's perfectly on the region. it starts to go down few ms before the region, reach my freq at region start but the sound is not correct.

i had this for long time and never looked into it. what is going on exactly ?
nuendo 10.1.0 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3630
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: LP automation is late.. why ?

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon Apr 01, 2019 3:09 pm

I don't have time to check in depth, but I too see a discrepancy between the loop range that we punch to and the actual point that the filter is applied. In my version it also appears at the end.

I created a range, sent white noise to a group, punched low-cut on that group to that range, and it will cut before the automation line shows the filter being engaged, and it will disengage before it is supposed to at the end.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: LP automation is late.. why ?

Post by Getalife2 » Mon Apr 01, 2019 4:17 pm

Seems to me like there is either a programming flaw that is a constant or else there is an oversight in compensating for a user created variable. Try changing variables, one at a time, while repeating your test.

1. Change audio buffer sze.
2. Add a mastering type plugin to a different channel that requires large latency compensation.
3. Change Record Latency Compensation in VST settings
4. Change Automation Thinning setting

Vary any other parameter you can think of relating to this issue, one at a time. My bet is that this parameter is subject to another setting that was not fully considered by SB during programming.

I'm not saying these tests will fix it just that an end-user identifying the problem specifically and posting it is likely to result in a fix sooner than later. I use very little automation having other means I prefer to use. MattiasNYC is a smart guy. He will probably figure it out.

Yes, I know it should not be our job but in the real world sometimes this is what works. I've been finding problems like these since 1988 with C-Lab Creator on an Atari St :-)
N10.0.20 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4.3GHz with x7 SSDs - Win 7/64 - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad - VEP

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: LP automation is late.. why ?

Post by twelvetwelve » Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:36 pm

Automation is unfortunately not sample accurate and can depend on your audio buffer size. There is however an option in the mixer to change EQ/Filter transitions from soft to quick. Try that.

ErikG
Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: LP automation is late.. why ?

Post by ErikG » Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:14 am

Last post is correct its bufferdependant and can always vary a bit depending on buffer size when played in real time.

BUT perhaps the filters are also affected by the on purpose introduced slow response of the eq? I do not know but that is my gut response when reading this post.

This slow eq response has been a problem for quite some time now. As far as I can remember it was introduced because many music users wanted to be able to use ans switch eq presets. When you did that there were unwanted results in the sound, so they slowed the response of the eq. I think this happened around N5.5 - N6,0 or so. To me the response If the eq has been a problem since then.

Is this the same? Not at all sure, check if it is affected by the eq response setting?
Filmlance
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 2k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: LP automation is late.. why ?

Post by sylvainmoreau » Tue Apr 02, 2019 11:58 am

Hi,yes quick setting solved my problem thx ;)
nuendo 10.1.0 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest