Smart tool

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 8 can be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Audiomangler
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 12:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Smart tool

Post by Audiomangler » Wed Jun 21, 2017 8:11 pm

Still no smart tool, still have to right click make selection cut selection adjust change clip gain then glue or crossfade clip, gets very tiresome made a macro but it sad state for such an easy fix :(
Halftime playback with automation, and adding markers with it stopping playback, please.

Robin Walsh
Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by Robin Walsh » Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:54 pm

+1 for the Smart Tool. It also needs to function on the automation lanes.
Nuendo 8.1.1/64bit- Windows 10/64 gigs ram -Nvidia K4000 - RME Raydat - UAD - Amphion

tim_heinrich
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by tim_heinrich » Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:06 pm

+1 Smart Tool

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3154
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:59 pm

+1
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

ju
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by ju » Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:37 pm

Do yo guys think that a fusion between static clip gain and enveloppe could be satisfying there?
It has always been a pain to switch between the two...

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by Niekbeem » Tue Jun 27, 2017 10:20 am

+1
Nuendo 8.2 (Mac Pro) and 8.1 (MacBook Pro) / Pro Tools 11HD / Logic X / MixBus 4 / WaveLab 9.5
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 2.4 GHz Intel Xeon/ 24GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo/ 8 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

In_Stereo
Member
Posts: 897
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:57 pm

+1
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Sierra 10.12.1 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by Dog and Pony » Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:17 pm

+1
5 systems with N7, N8, Cubase 9.5, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

User avatar
Toronja
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:25 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by Toronja » Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:09 pm

+1
Music Composer / www.pabloborghi.com

tim_heinrich
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by tim_heinrich » Wed Jul 05, 2017 2:12 pm

+1

heisenberg9
Junior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by heisenberg9 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:24 pm

Agreed.

ErikG
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by ErikG » Sun Jul 09, 2017 6:56 pm

Let's not suggest a smart tool to fix a in my view slightly of the beaten track workflow.
Why on earth would you keep glueing parts together after separating them?

I have nothing against a smart tool per se.

Could we then turn this into a creative idea wall as in what do we all want it to accomplish?

My guess is that with the multitude of workflows and the many options in Nuendo may be hard to get to a conclusion about what is needed.

My list:
Select
Range select
Clip gain control (clip gain as such needs an update to)

I see no need for anything else but I am sure that some think very different.
How many switches are to many?

To be honest I never liked the PT smart tool, and I'm faster switching tools in Nuendo than I was as a ten year user of PT.
Filmlance
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 2k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

ltf3
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by ltf3 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 1:48 pm

Two suggestions

1: have zones in the events themselves ( upper, lower, corners, mid points etc) that can be assigned to tool switches. Wavellab does this ( or used to ... Haven't used it for years ) quite successfully.

2: even with no smart tool and relying on keyboard key switches how about a momentary tool switch? So for instance if I'm using the selctor tool I push and hold down the 3 key, the split tool appears, i split an event, then release the 3 key and the select tool returns.

This saves a key press ... It doesnt sound like much but in another app that does this i've found workflow is much more fluid. Significantly so....
Lee

Cubase 8.5, Nuendo 8, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), Arturia Audio Fuse, OS 10.12.6, Mac Mini Quad Core 2.6GHz i7, 16GB RAM, Intel Graphics 4000

ErikG
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by ErikG » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:52 pm

2. We already have that since a long time.
To change an when using the selector tool you press alt.
Filmlance
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 2k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

sambosun
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by sambosun » Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:15 pm

+1 on smart tool
Using Tapatalk

PeterGx
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:00 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Smart tool

Post by PeterGx » Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:22 pm

The only useful function of Smart tool I find in Pro Tools is switching from Grabber to Range tool.
+1 for such Smart tool, but everything else Pro Tools does with smart tool can be done in Nuendo with select tool.

What I'd like to have is more Actions in editing Tool Modifiers section in Preferences.
Currently Steinberg provides only 6 or 7 actions for Select tool, and I find two really useful: Alt for Split Event and Alt Shift for Slip Event.
Simple, just give us more tool switching actions. Or let us choose them from a pool of actions.

+1 for momentary tool switch. Video editing programs have it. Very fast and useful.

But we already have momentary tool switch in Nuendo.
In automation window we can switch from Select tool to Pencil tool momentarily with Alt modifier.
And select tool works as range tool without switching.
Plus we can manipulate automation data range with compress etc. without ever needing to switch tools.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest