The linking of the automation parameters?

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 8 can be posted here.
Post Reply
Kigor
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:34 pm
Contact:

The linking of the automation parameters?

Post by Kigor » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:52 pm

Came up with question: is it possible to implement linking of automation parameters? Example: send level to the reverb and the volume of the track in inverse proportion; the volume of the track and Low pass frequency ? And is it possible to link the parameters of the panorama and any parameters of the plugins in the project ??

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1337
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: The linking of the automation parameters?

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:24 pm

Oh yes, it does not work properly. We should be able to link parameters in mix groups.
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
Main machine: Hexacore 3.3 Cheese grater with USB3 and RME Raydat, 48GB RAM, Radeon HD 7970, Caldigit FASTA USB C, Intensity Pro, PT HD 11, macOS 10.13

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3304
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: The linking of the automation parameters?

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:34 pm

Has this ever been attempted in Nuendo though? I don't recall seeing either Nuendo or Pro Tools allowing something like this.

Also, I don't really how it would work in practice. Track volume is measured in dB and frequency in Hz. How would they correlate?

I really don't want more functionality like this in Nuendo given they can't even get the current version working properly - and heck, there's still a problem with VCAs!

So, seems definitely complicated and therefore prone to errors. My vote is no. Sorry for being a downer.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2304
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: The linking of the automation parameters?

Post by Fredo » Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:22 pm

The relation between two parameters whicha re not related at all is undefined, and specific for each and every user/project/parameter.
Making it impossible to implement.

Fredo

tepa
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: The linking of the automation parameters?

Post by tepa » Wed Oct 25, 2017 3:09 pm

If the paramater can be control in CC, a feature like "Macro Midi CC" would be so nice.
In the Cubase forum someone ask for this feature, some user post MIDI OX for Windows, in my case iam using Remote Control from Blue Cat Audio (not free), you can control multiple CC with 1 fader with the possibility to inverse and to configure the amplitude of each CC.
But i really wish to see a midi macro control feature with the quick control for exemple ;)
Nuendo 8 (last version) / Cubase 9 / Win Pro 10 / i7-4770 3.4Ghz / Ram 16G DDR3 / RME UFX / RME FF800 / PowerCore / UAD 2 (1 Octo & 1 Quad) / SSD / nVIDIA

diode303
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:43 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: The linking of the automation parameters?

Post by diode303 » Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:10 am

Ableton have had this type of functionality in Live for a very long time. You can create your own per-channel controls and map them to multiple parameters across multiple plugins/controls on the same channel. You can then of course automate that control. Not only that, you can tweak the range of each parameter you're mapping to (eg. you might want to map to the delay time param on 2 separate delays, but double the upper threshold on the second one so when you tweak your control, the delay time on the second unit is always double the delay time on the first). It's why I have Live; I find it more flexible for sound design, particularly when working with synthesis.

If Nuendo had this, I would be a very happy camper.
Workstations: Various (OSX and Win10). Apogee, RME & Focusrite interfaces.
Main DAW & Editing Software: Nuendo 8.1, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Ableton Live 9

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest