[FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 8 can be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jim Fox
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:11 pm
Contact:

[FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by Jim Fox » Mon Sep 04, 2017 1:13 am

Hello SB,
Please add an "option" to exclude media when "Save as Template" is selected (check box?). This is a safety feature request.

It is most important during a full band tracking session. Once you have just completed recording a new song, full of new media, with everyone's headphone mix tweaked, with gains and sub-mixes set, with channels assigned and named..., it should not be so difficult or so dangerous to create a new clean "media free template" of your open project, so as to start the next song.

Nuendo 7 Feature Request (17 +1's)
viewtopic.php?f=237&t=87401

Nuendo 6 Feature Request (23 +1's)
viewtopic.php?f=186&t=45509

As mentioned in some of the posted replies here, it can be very dangerous without this feature. The possibility of deleting brand new media files while creating a new template is real, unless you are very very careful. This is a safety feature. It is more than just a convenient time saver which it would also be.

Thank you, Nuendo is great.
Jim Fox
N8, Win7-64bit, i7 Quad Core 3.33GHz, 12GB RAM, RME MADI, RME AES-32, Intensity Pro, Powercore PCIeMkII

driskel
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:35 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by driskel » Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:59 pm

+1
PC | Nuendo 8.0.15 (64bit) | OS: Win10 64bit | MB: Asus P9X79-E WS | CPU: I7 3930k | Ram: Corsair Vengeance 64 gb | 1-UAD2 Octo - UAD2 Quad (9.3) | RME HDSPe-Madi (4.14) | Decklink HD Extreme (9.7.5)| Radeon HD 6670 | Storage: 5 Samsung 840 pro SSDs (2 OS, 2 Audio, 1 Samples), 4 TB Samples | PSU : Corsair AX850 | Corsair H100i Water Cooler | Pioneer DR-208DBK Burner

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Sat Nov 04, 2017 5:22 am

+1
N8x, C8, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.11.6; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.4

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1175
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by fenderchris » Sat Nov 04, 2017 8:25 am

It is hard to believe that this request has been completely ignored for so many years. There is obviously a solid demand for it and it surely can not be too difficult for Steinberg's experts to implement.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-7 Pro 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Nuendo-8.2.0, Wavelab-6, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Halion Sonic 2, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth)
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3300
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by MattiasNYC » Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:32 pm

How can files be deleted in this process as it currently works?
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
lemix
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by lemix » Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:44 pm

Hmmm,

-select all media in project window
-remove all in pool
-erase from trash
-save as template
?? would that work ??
cheers,
Andrew

W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.30 & PT 12.4------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx-----WXP, Wavelab, Plextor Premium, Hofa DDP
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_McDSP
1.0_2.0 and 5.1 monitoring

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 527
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by ChrisPolus » Sat Nov 04, 2017 8:04 pm

my gut feeling says this should work. still, it would be a nice and handy feature to have that as a "one checkbox action"
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

User avatar
Jim Fox
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by Jim Fox » Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:19 am

lemix wrote:
Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:44 pm
Hmmm,

-select all media in project window
-remove all in pool
-erase from trash
-save as template
?? would that work ??


?? would that work ?? No, you just proved my point. You just deleted all the newly recorded media files from your hard drive. Your new template is good but the song you just recorded a few minutes ago is gone forever. I am talking about a project with newly recorded media files. Not an older project that has media from a previous session. It is an operator error trap.

Also your current project is now blank. Did you remember to Save As Project to a temporary, before you removed all the Events? Assuming you did carefully "Removed media from Pool" and not "Erase from Disk", to continue your current project you then have to close the temporary project and re-open the one you were just working on. Additionally, for safety, you really should Mirror the project to a backup drive before attempting this, which is another step.

All this while 7 musicians just got their groove, recorded a great take, and are anxious for you to setup and start their next song. The pressure is on. Ideally you need to do this after every song because things change, like the drummer added a timbale.

Why not a simple Save As Template check mark to exclude media? Safe and Done.

So glad this topic is being discussed.
Thanks,
Fox
Last edited by Jim Fox on Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
N8, Win7-64bit, i7 Quad Core 3.33GHz, 12GB RAM, RME MADI, RME AES-32, Intensity Pro, Powercore PCIeMkII


User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1175
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by fenderchris » Sun Nov 05, 2017 6:12 pm

Jim Fox wrote:
Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:19 am

Why not a simple Save As Template check mark to exclude media? Safe and Done.
You are right Jim. Simple and fast. Now let's move on to the next track.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-7 Pro 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Nuendo-8.2.0, Wavelab-6, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Halion Sonic 2, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth)
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 527
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by ChrisPolus » Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Jim Fox wrote:
Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:19 am
It is an operator error trap.
lemix wrote:
Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:44 pm
-select all media in project window
-remove all in pool
-erase from trash
-save as template
?? would that work ??
I naturally assumed the first step would be to make a duplicate / copy of your project so you DON'T lose your recorded stuff. But as you pointed out, it's all a workaround and prone to error. As are many things in Nuendo, sadly. Prone to user error.

So many things that can go wrong. I recently lost all my user settings because I created a new user profile to play around in assuming "it would make a copy of my current user settings". Then I mistakenly deleted my profile. While the new profile Nuendo created was not a copy of my current settings but a fresh start. Direct Offline Processing is a minefield, too.

So, yes, +1 to a simple solution. But these things tend to never get implemented by Steinberg.
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by Brain » Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:19 pm

I do this all the time, have NEVER lost a single file in 16 years of using Nuendo.

Save project with audio data
select and delete all events from screen.
use "back up project" to a new location, with the name of the folder and project changed to something usefull, like ?-Template (tell the pop up window to remove all unused data)
then save THIS newly created as a template

Later,
Brain
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1175
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by fenderchris » Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:36 pm

Brain wrote:
Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:19 pm
I do this all the time, have NEVER lost a single file in 16 years of using Nuendo.

Save project with audio data
select and delete all events from screen.
use "back up project" to a new location, with the name of the folder and project changed to something usefull, like ?-Template (tell the pop up window to remove all unused data)
then save THIS newly created as a template

Later,
Brain
Come to think of it, I've done this too. It works.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-7 Pro 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Nuendo-8.2.0, Wavelab-6, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Halion Sonic 2, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth)
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:29 am

In the absence of options, I do the above all the time as well-- but I "back up project" WITH the audio so as to ensure keeping the original safe.

But often I miss stashed and hidden little pieces of room tone, alternate takes, etc. that I've hidden from the project window or just overlooked, and all of those steps feel like an unnecessary inconvenience. Should be a one or two-clicker.

Still a +1 on this request!

Chewy
N8x, C8, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.11.6; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.4

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by Brain » Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:04 pm

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:29 am
In the absence of options, I do the above all the time as well-- but I "back up project" WITH the audio so as to ensure keeping the original safe.

But often I miss stashed and hidden little pieces of room tone, alternate takes, etc. that I've hidden from the project window or just overlooked, and all of those steps feel like an unnecessary inconvenience. Should be a one or two-clicker.

Still a +1 on this request!

Chewy
If you use "prepare archive" you will be far less likely to loose any data.
In 17 years of using Nuendo I have NEVER lost a file if I use prepare archive before saving, then "Back up" project without copying any data.

Cheers Guys,
Brain
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Tue Nov 07, 2017 11:04 pm

Not to get all semantic... but either way feels like too many steps. I haven't used "Prepare Archive" since they moved it over to the Media menu; "Back Up Project" does all of what it does anyway, doesn't it?

I also have not lost any files, ever... well, once, a long time ago, but a Time Machine backup took care of that... but the main issue for me is the hassle. My templates, though no great shakes, are in a pretty progressive state of development, and a one or two-click solution is much more attractive than going though all of the backup steps. Have been wishing for it even back in my "Prepare Archive" days!

Chewy
N8x, C8, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.11.6; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.4

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by Brain » Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:51 am

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
Tue Nov 07, 2017 11:04 pm
Not to get all semantic... but either way feels like too many steps. I haven't used "Prepare Archive" since they moved it over to the Media menu; "Back Up Project" does all of what it does anyway, doesn't it?

I also have not lost any files, ever... well, once, a long time ago, but a Time Machine backup took care of that... but the main issue for me is the hassle. My templates, though no great shakes, are in a pretty progressive state of development, and a one or two-click solution is much more attractive than going though all of the backup steps. Have been wishing for it even back in my "Prepare Archive" days!

Chewy
Prepare archive becomes useful only if you have imported files into the project, but did not have them copy into the working projects audio folder, or if you did some clip processing and the results lives in the "Edits" folder instead of the Audio folder, prepare archive writes new files into the audio folder and severs the link to the "edits" folder
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] "Save as Template" exclude media option

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:05 pm

Brain wrote:
Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:51 am
Prepare archive becomes useful only if you have imported files into the project, but did not have them copy into the working projects audio folder, or if you did some clip processing and the results lives in the "Edits" folder instead of the Audio folder, prepare archive writes new files into the audio folder and severs the link to the "edits" folder
Right... and "Back Up Project" does exactly the same thing, along with duping the project file. Kind of redundant, function-wise ain't it? Or am I missing something?

Though we digress from Mr. Fox's topic... thanks for the opportunity to scratch my head about this one with people who would at least understand what we're talking about. So rare in real life these days...

Chewy
N8x, C8, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.11.6; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.4

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KMT333 and 1 guest