hitpoints nightmare

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 8 can be posted here.
Post Reply
sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

hitpoints nightmare

Post by sylvainmoreau » Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:28 pm

For years ... wait no.. deceade ! i hope hitpoints will improve in cubase and now nuendo.
it's always crappy.

1- Why, when i enter audio edit, do i have to click twice on Edit Hitpoints arrow for it to work ?
2- Threshold works terrible. Whatever the setting sometime you clearly see some audio below the Threshold getting some hitpoints. Or some tails having undesired hitpoints.
3- I never get a hitpoint at the begining of the file if the time between start file and first transient is below Minimum Length (like if file start was a first hitpoint !)
4- To increase minimum length to max you have to scroll mouse so high in the screen that.. you have to let go and do it a second time !
5- Minimum Length is not long enough ! Detection is so bad that you would hope at least to get rid of undesired hitpoints with minimum lengh feature. But 1sec is nothing when you work for sound field recording or sounds for sampling purpose. 10sec would be a good start !
6- having to clic tinny arrows on top of the ruller to lock / deactivate hitpoint is not easy when you work on full window.
7- not beeing able to auto add offset +/- to detection is sad.
8- why can't we edit multiple regions at once ? we have to go out of edit and.. start all the settings and clickings, zoom again on next region. Because what ever the "Edit active audio event only" hitpoints only affect the region you are editing. Not all selected.
9- oh funny last one : first hitpoint of your audio file is always ALWAYS under the "event start" display so you need to zoom to work on it Image (event start wich is by the way the most annoying feature of audio software ever. Never used this thing and always have to remove it. export multiple file in mono and there's one that has an event start different then all your other audio files. so when you import all those files.. one is offset by the event start anchor ! appened to me on a show with pultiple channels couldn't understand why i had a delay on one channel !)
10- i think there's already so much going wrong with hitpoints that i feel bad adding this last one : why not "hitpoints at zero crossing" option ? just saying.

11- (can't stop) is there a zoom preset and shortcut in sample editor ? missed that one. Because yeah doing all this messing around and no zoom preset doesn't help.

so... yeah. There's so much missing that every time i need to edit samples (even huge quantities) i prefer to go do manually exhaustive repetitions rather then hitpoint detection and random adjustments everywhere.

i was using protools 10y ago and remember transient detection and "remove silence" function much more efficient.
am i doing anything wrong ? please help.
nuendo 8.3 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1067
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by In_Stereo » Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:18 pm

Yes, this has indeed been complained about for many years now. I came from Pro Tools to Cubase (now Nuendo) and was very disappointed with how it is in both Cubase and Nuendo. I think everyone who has used Pro Tools or certain other DAWs would agree that hitpoint detection in Cubendo needs an overhaul/to be improved significantly.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Robin Walsh
Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by Robin Walsh » Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:23 pm

+1
Nuendo 8.3/64bit- Windows 10/64 gigs ram -Nvidia Quad K4000 - RME Raydat - UAD - Amphion

basicX
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by basicX » Wed Sep 12, 2018 3:32 pm

+1
and we want to edit inside the projekt window! Not inside that annoying edit window - for postpro that whole thing is outdated!
Nuendo 8.3.1, Cubase 10 Pro, PT 11.3.1, RME UFX, AVID HD Native, AVID HD I/O, AVID I/O192 (Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance, and so on...)

Windows 10 Pro x64
System from Digital Audio NetworX
Intel i9 14core, Gigabyte, 64GB Ram, GF 1050ti, UAD Quad, 3 * Avid Artis Mix, Monitoring: Studio Technologie Model 74

sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by sylvainmoreau » Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:22 am

basicX wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 3:32 pm
and we want to edit inside the projekt window! Not inside that annoying edit window -
why is that :?:
nuendo 8.3 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

basicX
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by basicX » Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:05 pm

In PostPro i use hitpoit/warp editing just to align stuff to each other.
Dialog, Nats, FX, Foleys - whatever... i work in contexed...
It's really annoying to have to open an etra editor and place it right under the tracks that i trying to alining to each other.
Just let le do it inside the real track/clip right where it is.
Thats how all the other DAWs (PT/ Studio One/ Logic/ etc...) do it.
Way smater, way better, way faster!

;-) !
Nuendo 8.3.1, Cubase 10 Pro, PT 11.3.1, RME UFX, AVID HD Native, AVID HD I/O, AVID I/O192 (Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance, and so on...)

Windows 10 Pro x64
System from Digital Audio NetworX
Intel i9 14core, Gigabyte, 64GB Ram, GF 1050ti, UAD Quad, 3 * Avid Artis Mix, Monitoring: Studio Technologie Model 74

sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by sylvainmoreau » Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:23 am

really mad about this. each time i want to quantize an audio track is same nightmare.
so i decided to compare it with protools and reinstalled my old PT10.
it's a no brainer. pro tools is million time more efficient than nuendo in terms of audio detection.
here are 2 videos with same audio content. one is on nuendo where i move settings around and never get a proper result.
second one is protools where.. i didn't even move anything and it works 99.99% only 3 beats where not detected wich you could leave like that where nuendo creates wrong hirpoints by hundreds that you have to fix in order to use quantize. also note how nuendo is slow when i move some settings...
also note that "tab" function at the end of protools where you just press TAB and timeline skips to next transition. it's so effective you think how can nuendo be so crappy about this ?!

nuendo : https://youtu.be/fG3cVg3oTHI
protools : https://youtu.be/q-DBYs_gCuI
nuendo 8.3 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5110
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by Centralmusic » Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:36 am

In Cubase 10 there is a completely improved hit point detection.
You can also overlay (!)* audio events and you can switch between multiple audios in one audio editor, including hit point view.
It would be nice to have these things in Nuendo 9 (?) too.

* overlay is a better solution for aligning audio, IMHO.
"They told us all they wanted... Was a sound that could kill someone from a distance..." (Kate Bush, Experiment IV)
"Kennst du schon das Handbuch?" ^^
"Wenn du anfängst, mit einem Programm wie Cubase zu arbeiten, dann solltest du mindestens einmal das Handbuch von Anfang bis Ende durchlesen -
du wirst dabei so viele Tipps und Tricks entdecken, die dir wirklich helfen, deinen Stil für die Arbeit mit dem Programm zu entwickeln. " (Junkie XL)

basicX
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by basicX » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:21 pm

**
Just let le do it inside the real track/clip right where it is.
Thats how all the other DAWs (PT/ Studio One/ Logic/ etc...) do it.
Way smater, way better, way faster!
**

:)

but anyway - at least they seem to listen a bit.. ;)
Nuendo 8.3.1, Cubase 10 Pro, PT 11.3.1, RME UFX, AVID HD Native, AVID HD I/O, AVID I/O192 (Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance, and so on...)

Windows 10 Pro x64
System from Digital Audio NetworX
Intel i9 14core, Gigabyte, 64GB Ram, GF 1050ti, UAD Quad, 3 * Avid Artis Mix, Monitoring: Studio Technologie Model 74

ScherzoProd
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by ScherzoProd » Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:36 am

+1
Just edited a straight snare track ie only snare played, no other instruments to bleed and mistrigger a hitpoint, yet I'm getting detection points all over the place
Win7 64 on i7 930 @ 2.8 GHz, 12 GB RAM, Euphonix MC Mix and Transport
Nuendo 8.3, Cubase 6.0.7, Wavelab 9.5
Komplete 8, VSL
Lavry DA10, Cranesong HEDD, Tannoy Ellipse 5.1, Dangerous 2-Bus

Scrummy
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 8:39 pm
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by Scrummy » Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:37 pm

Full drum tracks here, and only the snare tracks have hitpoint issues so far. This problem doesn’t exist in earlier versions of Cubase. If I find the resolution I will post and let you know. This may well be a problem that needs addressed by Steinberg.
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Intel Hexacore I7 based custom built DAW (by me) with 16gb RAM. RME Raydat interface.

sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: hitpoints nightmare

Post by sylvainmoreau » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:50 pm

Don't tell me we have to pay for verion 9 to get that thing working... O can see this coming.
nuendo 8.3 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest