Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
fese
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:19 pm
Contact:

Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by fese »

Hi,
just for fun I've written a small single-page HTML app which can load Cubase's "Key Commands.xml" and display it as nice table which you can then print or export or whatever.

Tested with Firefox and Chrome. No idea whether it is useful for anyone (or even me). Sadly it is not possible to use localized descriptions, just the english ones...

I moved my Cubase stuff (including some drum maps) to a github repo:
https://github.com/janminor/cubase

Here is a direct link to the KeyCommands.html app:
https://janminor.github.io/cubase/Cubas ... mands.html
Click on the "open file.." button, locate the "Key Commands.xml" file on your hard drive, on Windows it's in "%APPDATA%\Steinberg\Cubase 10.5_64"(or the respective version, e.g. "9.5_64"). On a Mac, look in “/Users/[username]/Library/Preferences/[program name]/”.

And here the GenericRemote.html app:
https://janminor.github.io/cubase/Cubas ... emote.html
You first need to export the config you want from the "Generic Remote" Dialog in Cubase to an xml file and then open that in the web page.
Last edited by fese on Tue Aug 18, 2020 7:36 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Lhotse
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Lhotse »

Useful stuff. Thanks so much, Fese!

User avatar
JACKnight
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Little Britain, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by JACKnight »

Hey...sweet!
Thanks, Fese
Dell Precision Workstation - 2x Xeon QuadCore 2.4Ghz / 24GB ram / NVidea GTX1050ti / 4x 600GB 15kRPM SAS drives / RME HDSP 9652 w/MIDI add-on / Fireface 802-ADI-8pro / UAD 2 Octo / Mackie MCU Pro - Cubase 10.5.12, Nuendo 8.3.20, Wavelab 10.0.40

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9675
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by -steve- »

Excellent! And totally useful.

There is a perl or vbs key commands parser somewhere in the forum that a lot of work went into years back, but this is very nice- simple to use, and just one file. Thanks!

I'll sticky it.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Stephen57 »

Awesome! -- Thank you!!!!! :D
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Stephen57 »

Q. Could the same sort of thing be done for Generic Remote?
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4796
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by raino »

Thanks. Besides being super useful, it looks great too!
rodger

Cubase Pro 11, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

User avatar
balinas
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by balinas »

Thanks. This is very useful for me!
WIN 10 (2004), Intel i9 9900 5GHz, 32GB RAM, PreSonus Quantum2 through thunderbolt pcie, MCU-PRO, IKM iRig keys 49, Focusrite Asa ONE, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20,

fese
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by fese »

Stephen57 wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 5:26 pm
Q. Could the same sort of thing be done for Generic Remote?
Now that I have some kind of "framework", it's mostly a matter of writing the fitting XSL and make some nice HTML from it, so yes, should be doable.
Question is: what information do you want from the generic remote table? The upper table, the lower? Every field? What would be the useful information?

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Stephen57 »

fese wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 7:46 pm
Stephen57 wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 5:26 pm
Q. Could the same sort of thing be done for Generic Remote?
Now that I have some kind of "framework", it's mostly a matter of writing the fitting XSL and make some nice HTML from it, so yes, should be doable.
Question is: what information do you want from the generic remote table? The upper table, the lower? Every field? What would be the useful information?
Thanks again for the excellent key commands utility.

As far as GR goes. Ideally, it would be Each Bank or perhaps selected banks of the GR. The Lower Table would be most useful for me. The reason this would help me is that I have to remember all my assignments and having a print out would help that process. Also reading the tiny GR editor text is annoying and having a print out or better screen would help.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4796
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by raino »

Would it be possible for the page to remember the path to the XML file & column number settings? Unless you are moving to a new computer and/or monitor setup these are not likely to change.
rodger

Cubase Pro 11, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

fese
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by fese »

raino wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 9:59 pm
Would it be possible for the page to remember the path to the XML file & column number settings? Unless you are moving to a new computer and/or monitor setup these are not likely to change.
Just do a "save as" and "save as complete web page". works in Chrome and Firefox.

fese
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by fese »

Stephen57 wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 8:09 pm
As far as GR goes. Ideally, it would be Each Bank or perhaps selected banks of the GR. The Lower Table would be most useful for me. The reason this would help me is that I have to remember all my assignments and having a print out would help that process. Also reading the tiny GR editor text is annoying and having a print out or better screen would help.
Would this be OK?
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1BQnzZ ... wJYWvIfKod

I just let it output every information that is there. You could always copy and paste sections into Word or something...
You need an exported XML file from the "Studio Setup->Generic Remote" Dialog.
It also works with exported Quick Control XML files.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Stephen57 »

fese wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 11:35 am
Stephen57 wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 8:09 pm
As far as GR goes. Ideally, it would be Each Bank or perhaps selected banks of the GR. The Lower Table would be most useful for me. The reason this would help me is that I have to remember all my assignments and having a print out would help that process. Also reading the tiny GR editor text is annoying and having a print out or better screen would help.
Would this be OK?
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1BQnzZ ... wJYWvIfKod

I just let it output every information that is there. You could always copy and paste sections into Word or something...
You need an exported XML file from the "Studio Setup->Generic Remote" Dialog.
It also works with exported Quick Control XML files.
Fantastic. The general layout was very helpful. I was able to audit my GR settings with much greater ease. There seem to be some value errors in the output, some MIDI channels are reported as -1 and -2, but that seemed more an XML or HTML issue, the values in the actual GR are correct in the MIDI Channel Column.

With the easy readability of the output document, I was able to identify some questions and perhaps some errors in my GR set-up. For me, GR is a work in progress. There also seem to be some issues with it. At times it seem to have to "wake up" on my system before it begins to work. At other times, if I Rename a Bank, the text becomes garbled and I'm not sure what happens -- I just noticed this. I'll leave those issues and questions for a separate posts.

Thanks so much for both of these utilities. It's very generous of you to take the time to post this for us. I wish I'd had this years ago! :D
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

Macster
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 11:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Macster »

Add me to the list. Thanks for taking the time to do this, Fese!
--------------
Windows 10 - Intel i5 8th Gen Processor (8400) - 16GB RAM -One 128GB M2 SSD, 1TB SSD, 500GB SSD - Cubase 10.0.50 - VST Connect Pro - Korg Kronos 73 - Hammond XK1c - Korg M-50 - Discodsp Discovery & OBxd64 - Superior Drummer - East-West Ministry of Rock - Too many other plugins and rack synths to mention.

Tom H
Junior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Tom H »

Doesn't work in either Firefox, Chrome, or Edge. Hopefully, I haven't just double clicked an exploit.
Intel i7 6900, 64GB, MSI X99 Carbon Pro Gaming, Win 10 Pro 64, Antelope Orion 32 HD
USB: Virus TI2, Komplete Kontrol S88, Maschine Studio, OB-6, SUB 37, eLicenser, iLok
PCIe: UAD Octo
MIDI: Fantom X, Eventide Eclipse, other stuff.
Cubase Pro 10, Live 10 Suite.
Komplete 12 Ultimate+, iZotope, Powered Plugins, FabFilter, SoundToys, Waves Mercury+, Spectrasonics, Sylenth, Serum, D16, GForce, SynthMaster, Nexus, Valhalla, etc.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9675
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by -steve- »

Tom H wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 5:06 am
Doesn't work in either Firefox, Chrome, or Edge. Hopefully, I haven't just double clicked an exploit.
I have tested it in all three of those browsers, plus Opera. It's working.

Of course there is no exploit contained in this file. As you can see several people have downloaded and used it.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Stephen57 »

-steve- wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 6:06 pm
Tom H wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 5:06 am
Doesn't work in either Firefox, Chrome, or Edge. Hopefully, I haven't just double clicked an exploit.
I have tested it in all three of those browsers, plus Opera. It's working.

Of course there is no exploit contained in this file. As you can see several people have downloaded and used it.
It's a basic utility to format the XML output using a style sheet -- I think? The code is all there on the page and any suspicious code would likely be flagged by virus and firewall utilities. I've used it in FF and other browsers without issue.

Thanks again to the OP for posting this for us.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9675
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by -steve- »

Indeed, that's right. Any user can open the html file and inspect the code on their own.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4796
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by raino »

-steve- wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 6:22 pm
Indeed, that's right. Any user can open the html file and inspect the code on their own.
Aye, but that way lies madness.
rodger

Cubase Pro 11, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

ulesto
Member
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by ulesto »

Does this only work in Windows? I have tried it in a couple of different browsers in osx and all I get is the source code of the page. Sorry if I am missing something obvious.
Mac Pro, OSX 10.14.6, MR816CSX, Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 10, Halion 6, Halion Sonic, HSO, Waves, UAD...

User avatar
soundpeaks_net
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by soundpeaks_net »

cool, thanks!

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by peakae »

Select all the code and paste it into an txt editor and save as html file.
Cubase Pro 11, Wavelab Elements 9, I9 9900K , win10x64, 32Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

ulesto
Member
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by ulesto »

peakae wrote:
Mon May 21, 2018 8:11 pm
Select all the code and paste it into an txt editor and save as html file.
Thanks Peakae. I tried that with both Textedit and Smultron, and tried to open in Safari, iCab, and Firefox to open but still just shows page source.
Mac Pro, OSX 10.14.6, MR816CSX, Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 10, Halion 6, Halion Sonic, HSO, Waves, UAD...

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9675
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by -steve- »

Probably MacOS is hiding the filename suffix, so it appears to be .html, but is actually .html.txt

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests