Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 814
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by Matthias Quellmann » Thu Nov 15, 2018 1:55 pm

Hi all,

There is a new "Cubase 10 Feedback Survey" available along with the C10 release. Please participate as soon as you have updated to C10 and got familiar with the improvements.

Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Your feedback helps us tremendously to improve Cubase in your interest. It will only take 5 minutes of your time.

Thanks,
Matthias
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Ambientdave
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:17 am
Location: Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by Ambientdave » Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:13 pm

Completed! :D
Windows 10 Pro, with Intel i5 340GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD,500GB HDD,external 1TB HDD,

Audio interface, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen,monitoring through Beyerdynamic DT250 headphones.
Microphone: Rodes NT1A
Midi controllers: Akai MPK249 and M Audio Oxygen 25,
Software: Cubase Pro 10 (latest version),various sound libraries and plugins

User avatar
atlatnesiti
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by atlatnesiti » Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:10 am

Fantastic

zooterman
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by zooterman » Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:32 pm

I love it
Cubase Pro 10.0.10 | Mac Pro 6-core 3.5GHz 32GB RAM | macOS Mojave

Carvin Man
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by Carvin Man » Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:05 pm

Are there really any performance improvements?

windbag
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:56 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by windbag » Sat Nov 17, 2018 11:46 pm

I would recommend there be an option to pay in U. S. dollars for the upgrade. Seems like currency exchanges are rounded up in $50 increments

User avatar
playz123
Junior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by playz123 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:34 pm

windbag wrote:
Sat Nov 17, 2018 11:46 pm
I would recommend there be an option to pay in U. S. dollars for the upgrade. Seems like currency exchanges are rounded up in $50 increments
Seems that way to me too. $99 US is NOT $150 CAN!!
Cubase 10.0.40, Cubase 9.5.50, WaveLab 9.1.0, 2014 Mac Pro, 3.5 GHz, 6 core, OS 10.14.6, 32 GB RAM, RME Multiface II with HDSPe interface, CC121.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3204
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by jaslan » Sun Nov 18, 2018 11:24 pm

Very Nice. The features are nice and it looks nice but most importantly, it has been running super smoothly on my system.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

ResonantMind
Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:39 am

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by ResonantMind » Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:41 am

What sort of feedback should we be giving? How detailed? I really want to see devs in the forums more and able to talk to them directly... There really isn't so many of us that it would be hard to handle and I think Steinberg does need to diversify their beta tester pool because they do make changes without realizing how some people work.

The colour tool for instance I will give example:

I was working on a snare sample "project" in Cubase, in which I was also testing my hardware processors and creating additional samples based off the one - excessive compression settings and eq settings to see what 'useable' mixing effects I could obtain. Anyways, as one can imagine - I ended up with ALOT of printed events that I organized into folders and subfolders and subfolders and I also used colour coding to visually group external hardware process batch revisions, similar settings, favorite picks, etc, etc.


The colour tool was actually indispensable in this work flow and this is why - I would reuse a lot of the same colours, and nothing was quicker than hotkey selecting the colour tool, alt modifier to sample a colour on another event, and then reapply it to another or multiple events. Each time I want to do this now, I have to open the colour menu. :o :? :oops:

I would imagine, anyone else who has projects or jobs with a very high number of separate events (even more than pop production) that are systemically organized, would also use the colour tool this way. It's even difficult figure out exactly which colour I used previously as some are %15 shades of similar colour. Film/Postproduction, sample creating, audio forensics, commercial audio applications like cell phone soundbanks, etc, etc, I would imagine would all have a use for this tool.

So this change actually detrimentally slowed down this workflow.

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by Geppastro » Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:01 pm

Why the new single-row floating Transport Panel is missing some sections, for example the "Click & Count-In & Click Pattern" section?

Since the floating Transport Panel is an "always on top" window, I was happy it's now possible to open any Lower Zone Midi editor in a freely resizable separate window (arrow icon button "Open in Separate Window") and use the new floating Transport panel buttons (superimposed to the "normal" ones) to start play, record, stop etc., and so avoiding that the editor gets hidden by the Main Project Window. But why the missing sections?

I find that sort of things (i.e. features missing on new versions, that will never be restored) quite irritating.
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10 v10.0.40 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

cmbourget
Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:47 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by cmbourget » Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:24 pm

playz123 wrote:
Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:34 pm
windbag wrote:
Sat Nov 17, 2018 11:46 pm
I would recommend there be an option to pay in U. S. dollars for the upgrade. Seems like currency exchanges are rounded up in $50 increments
Seems that way to me too. $99 US is NOT $150 CAN!!
It is true. I also paid 150 CAD. It's not honest.
Cubase 10, Pro Tools 2019.5
PC Windows 10, Intel Xeon E5-2667 v2 3.30GHz, 8 cores, 64 Go
PrismSound Titan, Solo Be and Focal sub

ResonantMind
Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:39 am

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by ResonantMind » Mon Nov 19, 2018 7:28 pm

Also paid $150 cad..... I'll take a credit towards Halion 6 or GA5 :D

James K
Member
Posts: 835
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by James K » Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:17 pm

I'm not entirely sure but perhaps there's different tax involved and the 150 Canadian price. It would be good if Steinberg would address this with us and explain why the Canadian price is more than the conversion from 99 American.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 814
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by Matthias Quellmann » Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:00 pm

James K wrote:
Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:17 pm
I'm not entirely sure but perhaps there's different tax involved and the 150 Canadian price. It would be good if Steinberg would address this with us and explain why the Canadian price is more than the conversion from 99 American.
The Canadian price is simply the Euro price converted into $CAD. The US has its own store due to the size of their market, so their pricing is different.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

ResonantMind
Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:39 am

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by ResonantMind » Thu Nov 22, 2018 4:29 pm

Matthias Quellmann wrote:
Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:00 pm
James K wrote:
Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:17 pm
I'm not entirely sure but perhaps there's different tax involved and the 150 Canadian price. It would be good if Steinberg would address this with us and explain why the Canadian price is more than the conversion from 99 American.
The Canadian price is simply the Euro price converted into $CAD. The US has its own store due to the size of their market, so their pricing is different.

You consider us Europeans not North Americans? Many Canadians might actually be okay with that right now :lol:

It would be great if we could attach pictures in next feedback survey, I really think the new export window could use some refinement. That amount of complex text in a tight space, white on dark background, and then you have the Cubase DAW dark with bright events/objects behind that is very disorienting on the eyes. The arrangement of panels is also not logical for anyone who uses the full features of the export window.

Inverted colours:
Screenshot 2018-11-21 06.28.jpg
(768.65 KiB) Not downloaded yet
panel re-arrangement:
Screenshot 2018-11-21 02.05.14.png
(119.04 KiB) Not downloaded yet
More in depth user discussion:
viewtopic.php?f=285&t=148149

Thanks

User avatar
playz123
Junior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by playz123 » Thu Nov 22, 2018 4:48 pm

Matthias Quellmann wrote:
Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:00 pm
James K wrote:
Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:17 pm
I'm not entirely sure but perhaps there's different tax involved and the 150 Canadian price. It would be good if Steinberg would address this with us and explain why the Canadian price is more than the conversion from 99 American.
The Canadian price is simply the Euro price converted into $CAD. The US has its own store due to the size of their market, so their pricing is different.
So why then, if I go to purchase, is my upgrade price shown as $99 US and not shown as so many Euros? Also, it’s been standard for most companies to show Canadians the price of their products in US dollars not Euros. It’s deceptive to show a $99 price then tell us oh, by the way, it’s not $99 US at all, it’s what we consider to be the price in Euros. I suggest the price should be about $132, based on the price shown in US dollars.
Cubase 10.0.40, Cubase 9.5.50, WaveLab 9.1.0, 2014 Mac Pro, 3.5 GHz, 6 core, OS 10.14.6, 32 GB RAM, RME Multiface II with HDSPe interface, CC121.

James K
Member
Posts: 835
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by James K » Thu Nov 22, 2018 5:17 pm

Thanks for the clarification.
It's a bit rubbish for Canadians to not to be offered the US price equivalent.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
Puli
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by Puli » Sun Nov 25, 2018 2:51 am

I love the improvements overall and especially Vari audio, VST on the right area and the dragging feature. Smooth new GUI.
It's quicker and it just helps to not lose time and ideas, this is very important.

mysteryspy2001
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:55 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by mysteryspy2001 » Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:14 pm

The price when you go to purchase is posted as 99.00 Euro not US
Therefore the 99.00 Euro comes to 150.00 Canadian funds
Last edited by mysteryspy2001 on Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

jjjooonnn
Junior Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by jjjooonnn » Mon Nov 26, 2018 4:38 am

Really appreciate giving us the opportunity for some feedback. Thanks, Steinberg!

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by Starsprinkler » Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:17 am

mysteryspy2001 wrote:
Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:14 pm
Just curious as to why am I paying 150.00 Canadian ?
Because the price is 99 EURO, not US dollar. 99 Euro is about 150 CAD. The US pricing is a bit different, this has already been explained above.

The only odd thing is that you shouldn't have been shown the US price in the beginning, since it's not applicable. It should show the price in CAD directly, alternatively in Euro.

etchell
Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by etchell » Fri Nov 30, 2018 5:23 pm

The survey is barely usable on mobile devices allthough the pages have almost no content!
Main Studio System
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit - 1903 - 32 GB RAM - Intel Xeon E3-1231v3 - RME Fireface UC - Samsung SSD 860 EVO (SATA 6) 250GB (System & Cubase + 3rd Party VST(i))
Cubase 10.0.30 Pro / 9.5.41 Pro

notablemusician
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by notablemusician » Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:51 am

A Cubase user since V1 came out in 1989 on Atari SE, I also used Logic for many years but went back to Cubase when Logic abandoned Windows support.
I really think soul is important and Steinberg has that in a certain form as well as historically being a great instigator of some very fundamental things such as ASIO and virtual studio technology as a whole.
Having upgraded to 10 yesterday I find it's a good progression and seems to work smoother on a number of fronts including render in place where I had been having some problems in 9.5.
As a multi instrumentalist, singer, writer, producer in my own home studio obviously my needs are different to a guy manning the DAW in a big studio, basically doing what the tape tech used to do. The latter needs a less frills more work flow oriented solution, perhaps in some future version there can be a switch to pass from one mode to another?
I'm sure that some smaller things will get addressed in 10.5 but already I'm happy with the change.

Ambientdave
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:17 am
Location: Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by Ambientdave » Sat Dec 01, 2018 9:55 am

I have completed the survey . And now have a chance to play with Cubase 10,in between working in my day job :)

Overall its very good.I like the GUI, the workflow ,the speed of Cubase .The new features, I like such Variaudio 3(which I shall get to grips with sometime). Hoping that the maintenance update or hotfix will address the issues raised by forum members real soon. And not in a few months,keep the rolling updates going.

The option to customize the colors is short,and frustrating ,as I cannot use my own custom color presets from Cubase 9.5.
I have to start over and customize Cubase 10,as I want it.The amount of default colours are now gone,in Cubase 9.5 the choice was much bigger.
Windows 10 Pro, with Intel i5 340GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD,500GB HDD,external 1TB HDD,

Audio interface, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen,monitoring through Beyerdynamic DT250 headphones.
Microphone: Rodes NT1A
Midi controllers: Akai MPK249 and M Audio Oxygen 25,
Software: Cubase Pro 10 (latest version),various sound libraries and plugins

stratquebec
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Feedback Survey

Post by stratquebec » Sat Dec 01, 2018 3:43 pm

Would really like to try Cubase 10. Waiting for the the trial to come out soon!
Cubase Pro 8.0.4
2012 27" 3.4 GHz i7 iMac-1TB Fusion drive, 16GB ram, MacOS 10.12.6
Focusrite Saffire Le w/ thunderbolt adapter / firewire 800/400 cable.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: djkey and 5 guests