the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by theRoyal1 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:46 am

joedaddario wrote:
Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:59 pm
Royal, please let us know how this goes. I am very close to doing the same thing myself with the upgrade. Thanks for the Post.
Still in the process of adding some VST's as I am mostly trying to install VST3 compatible plugins and streamline everything.
So far I can say without a doubt the clarity is definitely better.
Where are before I could only use windows font zoom setting now w/the Hidpi and W10 it looks "crisper" on my 4k where as before it was nice just not as sharp. I'd say it's not a big improvement but a noticeable one.
It also seems to load faster and overall feels a bit "snappier".....of course right after I write this it scans my plugs.. :lol:

That said, there is ZERO improvement rn to how it runs.
Also, when I have the cursor set to follow it's very jittery while that could be my video card although it really shouldn't as my card handles 4k...interestingly, This happened before after an updated version although I can't recall which I said to myself, I've seen that jitter before!

It wasn't a matter of have to but had to as Win7 just became too stagnant for my setup and I can easily say although it isn't setting records and exploding the wow factor, it still seems like a good decision.

Now, off to get some more plugs and expansions in, such a tedious part of it. :)
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by joedaddario » Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:13 pm

Royal,
Thank you so much for taking the time 2 tell us about your upgrade experience.
C9.5.50, 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by theRoyal1 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:09 am

joedaddario wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:13 pm
Royal,
Thank you so much for taking the time 2 tell us about your upgrade experience.
No doubt... In sticking with the main topic The GUI is actually behaves a little better and seems more tolerable in 4k.
It behaves well but I'm hoping for some enhancements like better fonts and mixer skins.
As long as any changes they make doesn't hinder or decrease performance. They seem to break things with every update.
I recommend setting aside a few days but definitely get started on updating to 10 unless you want to lock your system up the way it is and never update again until you get another system.

btw, This is what my basic template that I start with looks like and with a project open:
C10 Win10.png
(375.53 KiB) Not downloaded yet
C10 Win10 Project (3).png
(1.78 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Always tinkering to make it better but everytime you do they change the damn color module on you! :cry:
Let me know if you have any other q's... :)
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

guybuss
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by guybuss » Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:06 pm

I really like the way you've got that looking Royal, is there a way to share color schemes without messing up other preferences?

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by skijumptoes » Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:12 pm

As someone running on 2x 1080P screens i'm really jealous of that resolution! ...If things look good on 10.5 i may have to invest in higher res displays i think.

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by theRoyal1 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:39 am

guybuss wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:06 pm
I really like the way you've got that looking Royal, is there a way to share color schemes without messing up other preferences?
TY! Always tweaking it and I have 2 versions of this one.
ANd yes, there is a way...Now, will it work, who knows!? lol :lol:
skijumptoes wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:12 pm
As someone running on 2x 1080P screens i'm really jealous of that resolution! ...If things look good on 10.5 i may have to invest in higher res displays i think.
I'm kind of an early adopter as I worked in the AV Industry for some time so I usually have stuff that is future proof but needs tweaks to work properly early on. iow, I'm a sucker for tech...
That said, you can't go wrong as 4k is finally working correctly so and is relatively inexpensive.
I just got a 40" 4k tv for $200. That's pretty insane...

and again, sticking with the topic, the gui does look better now in Win10 then in Win7.
Just remember, Cubase ONLY SUPPORTS 2 Zoom levels, 100% and 200%, nothing in between and 200% is pretty big but looks sharp af..lol
theRoyal1 wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:16 pm
  • HiDPI is only supported on Windows 10 systems.
  • To enable HiDPI support in Cubase, go to Edit ▸ Preferences ▸ General and check 'Enable HiDPI'. HiDPI support will be enabled next time you start Cubase.
  • When enabled, the user interface will use graphical assets in high resolution.
  • Currently Cubase supports only integer monitor scaling settings from Windows, for example.:
    • Monitor scaling setting of 125% displays Cubase with 100%
    • Monitor scaling setting of 150% displays Cubase with 200%
    • Monitor scaling setting of 175% displays Cubase with 200%
    • Monitor scaling setting of 200% displays Cubase with 200%
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by skijumptoes » Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:52 am

So is the TV as sharp as a conventional computer monitor? I always presume that dedicated computer displays are far superior for text than a display which is designed for watching TV? But maybe that’s no more true.

I’m guessing that C10.5 dropping support for win7 will see those other scaling options followed correctly too in future?

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by theRoyal1 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:57 am

skijumptoes wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:52 am
So is the TV as sharp as a conventional computer monitor? I always presume that dedicated computer displays are far superior for text than a display which is designed for watching TV? But maybe that’s no more true.

I’m guessing that C10.5 dropping support for win7 will see those other scaling options followed correctly too in future?
Not really but 4k for $200 looks better than 1080p for $500 just a few years ago..lol :lol:

IDK about the scaling, as being discussed here and for years Steinberg seems behind the curve when it comes to GUI, resolution, window behavior etc...

Think about it, they are asking people if they want multi-touch capability in 2019 and have yet to adopt correct 4k scaling. Not really on the forefront of things in that aspect IMO.
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

User avatar
jimknopf
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 6:31 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by jimknopf » Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:21 pm

Whoever is responsable in The Cubase team, should give the actual scaling issues the highest possible priority on their Todo list, on a par with urgent bug fixing, and ahead of any other development IMO.

If they don't get this done fast (and that means within 2019), they will be surprised, how much this issue will provoke customers to jump ship, and it will be much harder to get them back, than supply them with something as basic as a useable resolution, with actual monitors, in the first place.

This issue is more urgent than most others! It defines the basic working experience right when you open Cubase, before anything else! A 10.5 version without this fixed could not even be accepted as a legitimate upgrade by most Cubase users!
Last edited by jimknopf on Sun Sep 15, 2019 10:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Robert Kooijman
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by Robert Kooijman » Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:04 pm

Well, I've already jumped to Studio One. Looks much better on our 4k screen, regardless of scaling values.

Steinberg clearly doesn't bother about fixing their long standing GUI issues. Not only the broken DPI scaling, also e.g. the outdated, distracting, ridiculously large window borders that take up unnecessary real estate. So sad!
Windows 10 X64, Asrock Z390 Extreme4, i9-9900k, 64GB 3200Mhz CL14 RAM , 3 x 2TB m.2 NVMe SSD, Fatar SL880 & TMK88 keyboards, Korg Wavestation & Padkontrol, DIY 8-fader MIDI controller using Teensy LC, Samsung 55" 4K & 2 x 27" monitors, Steinberg Midex-8, Cubase 10.0.40, Studio One 4.5.3, Vepro 7.0

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by theRoyal1 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:17 pm

Robert Kooijman wrote:
Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:04 pm
Well, I've already jumped to Studio One. Looks much better on our 4k screen, regardless of scaling values.

Steinberg clearly doesn't bother about fixing their long standing GUI issues. Not only the broken DPI scaling, also e.g. the outdated, distracting, ridiculously large window borders that take up unnecessary real estate. So sad!
It's a major short on their part and long overdue fix.
Never tries studio one as I've been a long time Cubase user. I have tried others and some look sharp af but just lack in the functionality.
I'm not ready to go a whole new route rn.
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Manike and 9 guests