the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
JBF
Junior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 12:26 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by JBF » Thu May 23, 2019 11:47 pm

Davyg 44 wrote:
Wed May 15, 2019 1:20 pm
Hi Folks
I have had the same problem with Cubase 10 regarding high contrast issues after installation as described by other users on this forum. I know this sounds obvious but here's how I fixed it and it now looks great without half the glare.
Navigate too edit and select preferences look for user interface and click on Colour schemes then click on Defaults, choose the darkest square from the Choose Colour Scheme menu then click apply.
If you now click on the edge of the transport panel you will notice other elements of the GUI darken down.
Hope this helps everyone out with this issue I'm currently on Windows 7 and im using an Asus GT730 silent graphics card so nothing to special and it works fine now.
Regards
Dave N.I
Fascinating!!!!! I tested it and it works, even with the custom color scheme. Seems to be a bug or something. I can not imagine that's an intended behavieour.
Win8.1/64bit / Core i7-3930K 6*3,20 GHz /GA-X79-UP4/4*16 gb/NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti Palit > Cubase 9.0.4 Pro

User avatar
Transistor
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:31 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by Transistor » Fri May 24, 2019 6:48 am

chris030 wrote:
Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:10 pm

See here:
Image
Kontakt Portable? Is that a new version?

r,
j,
i7-5820K/16384/Win10
CPro9.5.41/WLPro10.0.0/SpectralayersPro6.0/RME HDSPe AES/Mytek 8x192/Motu128 (+ Aurora 8) + [mobile rig] CAI&WLElements[latest versions]/RME Babyface
Plugins. Hardware.

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by 01w » Sun May 26, 2019 3:47 pm

for me mixer GUI is very bad, arranger window is ok.
Mixer (since version 7 I think) is just very badly designed
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

User avatar
Thal
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by Thal » Fri May 31, 2019 7:37 pm

I can confirm that on my setup (win 7) it looks very blurry, to the point that i just can not work with it.
C 9.5 on the other hand looks sharp, fonts are clear, the glowing white is also not present.
I also will have to stick to C9.5 till this is solved.
All the best,
Thal


Windows 7 Ultimate
Cubase Pro 9.5.30 and C10.0.20
Mr816X
i7 8700k

WillfullyDamned
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 1:17 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by WillfullyDamned » Sun Jun 02, 2019 9:29 am

Just updated myself from 9.5. Hate the new GUI with all my heart. The buttons look awful, the white fonts are blinding, and the transport panel looks like a plain mistake. Shame!

Give us the option to customize the GUI so longtime users don't have to suffer awful design decisions for new content/updates!

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by joedaddario » Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:21 am

Glad this wasn't just me thinking there was something wrong with my setup.
I just posted this on another area of the forum...

I just installed C10 from C9.5. Same issue here. The text in the drop down menus is fuzzy. What a shame. Would love to hear is there is a fix. I'm running at 144Hz refresh rate. 1920x1080. Windows 7 64 bit, NVidia.

OK I just read that "HiDPI is only supported on Windows 10 systems". dang!

also found this:
•To enable HiDPI support in Cubase, go to Edit ▸ Preferences ▸ General and check 'Enable HiDPI'. HiDPI support will be enabled next time you start Cubase.
•When enabled, the user interface will use graphical assets in high resolution

this option is not shown on my PC - I'm assuming it's because I'm on Windows 7. Crum!!
C9.5.50, 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

User avatar
Soft_machine
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 10:33 am
Location: Moscow, Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by Soft_machine » Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:23 pm

Another crappy colors example:
1.png
(59.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Where the heck all these colors are getting from ?
DAW: Cubase 10.0.40 build 284 (x64), Windows 7/64-bit
PC: Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5GHz, 16 GB RAM, Asus GT610-SL
Converters: RME UC

Additional gear:
Long Stereo Channel preamp, Korg nanoKontrol, Korg KP3+, Yamaha HS8 monitors, Novation mininova, Novation SL61 MK2, Novation launchpad, Yamaha CP-33

ModalLogic
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by ModalLogic » Wed Jul 31, 2019 3:43 pm

Its the rounded off windows etc.. it looks amateur and not solid. The mixing strip is a garbage too and its very laggy.
Studio One wipes the floor with it for workflow and speed..
I really wish it was as tight to use and look at as it was as Cubase SX1
Still hoping .. still wishing. wont hold my breath !

msy
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by msy » Thu Aug 01, 2019 4:46 pm

Uhm, I installed Cubase 10 trial yesterday. All the text everywhere looks like *flower*, antismooth.. Is there a new setting somewhere to fix this? Im not talking about 4k issues, i have ordinary monitors. No issue in C9.5.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41 on Windows 7 using jBridge for 32bit plugins
HALion 6.3
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200
DAW: Intel Core i7 4790K @ 4.6 GHz |
ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB | 2x2TB SATA2 | Geforce 460Ti
Computer related hardware: UAD-2 Duo, Behringer BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Lead 4, Eurorack (12U) via ES3/ADAT

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by joedaddario » Thu Aug 01, 2019 5:23 pm

Hi msy,

This may be the answer...let us know:
OK I just read that "HiDPI is only supported on Windows 10 systems". dang!

•To enable HiDPI support in Cubase, go to Edit ▸ Preferences ▸ General and check 'Enable HiDPI'. HiDPI support will be enabled next time you start Cubase.
•When enabled, the user interface will use graphical assets in high resolution this option is not shown on my PC - I'm assuming it's because I'm on Windows 7. Crum!!
C9.5.50, 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by theRoyal1 » Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:52 pm

joedaddario wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 5:23 pm
Hi msy,

This may be the answer...let us know:
OK I just read that "HiDPI is only supported on Windows 10 systems". dang!

•To enable HiDPI support in Cubase, go to Edit ▸ Preferences ▸ General and check 'Enable HiDPI'. HiDPI support will be enabled next time you start Cubase.
•When enabled, the user interface will use graphical assets in high resolution this option is not shown on my PC - I'm assuming it's because I'm on Windows 7. Crum!!
I'm still on 7 also but have a 4k setup for a few years now.
They have made improvements but Win7 C10 on 4k is a pita. I was about to update to Win10 but realized Win12 is to be released later this year so I am gonna wait then update to 10 & 12 and go with whichever is better for my rig. (Most likely 10).

IMO Cubase has ALWAYS struggled in the GUI area. They are always behind and late to update anything. When confronted they always blame the OS meanwhile every other daw GUI works seamlessly.

The GUI for Cubase needs to be re-written from scratch. It's 2020 and quite embarrassing that a pro level DAW still struggles with GUI implementation.
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1356
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by In_Stereo » Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:55 pm

theRoyal1 wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:52 pm
[

IMO Cubase has ALWAYS struggled in the GUI area. They are always behind and late to update anything. When confronted they always blame the OS meanwhile every other daw GUI works seamlessly.

The GUI for Cubase needs to be re-written from scratch. It's 2020 and quite embarrassing that a pro level DAW still struggles with GUI implementation.
Agreed, for us Mac users even more so than windows. The GUI on Mac is still slow/with issues compared to all other DAWs I have on the same computer.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by joedaddario » Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:33 pm

theRoyal1 wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:52 pm
joedaddario wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 5:23 pm
Hi msy,

This may be the answer...let us know:
OK I just read that "HiDPI is only supported on Windows 10 systems". dang!

•To enable HiDPI support in Cubase, go to Edit ▸ Preferences ▸ General and check 'Enable HiDPI'. HiDPI support will be enabled next time you start Cubase.
•When enabled, the user interface will use graphical assets in high resolution this option is not shown on my PC - I'm assuming it's because I'm on Windows 7. Crum!!
I'm still on 7 also but have a 4k setup for a few years now.
They have made improvements but Win7 C10 on 4k is a pita. I was about to update to Win10 but realized Win12 is to be released later this year so I am gonna wait then update to 10 & 12 and go with whichever is better for my rig. (Most likely 10).

IMO Cubase has ALWAYS struggled in the GUI area. They are always behind and late to update anything. When confronted they always blame the OS meanwhile every other daw GUI works seamlessly.

The GUI for Cubase needs to be re-written from scratch. It's 2020 and quite embarrassing that a pro level DAW still struggles with GUI implementation.
I hear ya Royal. I'm still on Win 7 and, aside from the crummy look of C10. it's stable. No reason I'm aware of to upgrade to Win 10. I have Win 10 on another PC for business and found it very top-heavy. Win 7 just seems lighter and more streamlined.
C9.5.50, 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by theRoyal1 » Fri Aug 02, 2019 5:39 pm

joedaddario wrote:
Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:33 pm
I hear ya Royal. I'm still on Win 7 and, aside from the crummy look of C10. it's stable. No reason I'm aware of to upgrade to Win 10. I have Win 10 on another PC for business and found it very top-heavy. Win 7 just seems lighter and more streamlined.
Yep,It took me a while to get off XP because it was stable for me. Same here with W7 but it has reached EOL and will no longer be supported so a forced update is on the horizon cause that's when things get unstable and wonky. IOW, No Support or Updates for needed components.

I'm on 10 on my laptop and will most likely do a streamline install but It's 4 years old now so should be stable enough for DAW use....then again, windows happens. lol
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9064
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by -steve- » Fri Aug 02, 2019 10:36 pm

Just dropping in to note that the topic of this thread is the GUI design. If there are more posts leading the topic in another direction, the thread will be moved to the Lounge or Computer and Studio setup.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by theRoyal1 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:21 am

-steve- wrote:
Fri Aug 02, 2019 10:36 pm
Just dropping in to note that the topic of this thread is the GUI design. If there are more posts leading the topic in another direction, the thread will be moved to the Lounge or Computer and Studio setup.
Duly Noted!

Bot: Let's hope with the next update they take input from the community regarding what we actually want.
I like that they have surveys but there wasn't much on the GUI.
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

Tezza
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 6:40 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by Tezza » Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:26 am

I am from a different camp, I hate the standard dark coloring and garish pink midi notes and this put me off buying Cubase but when I saw the lighter blue coloring mixed with a light colored piano roll and the midi notes given pastel colors, it looks great! I hate dark DAW's and since they all seem to go in that direction the choices become limited. Customizations of other DAW's don't work for me but the customizations I have done with Cubase look professional.

I've not used Cubase before but I am happy with the way it looks now, much, much better than any other DAW I have used. I don't know about previous versions of Cubase so I can't comment there but I find the current C10 look (with the modifications) to be great.

User avatar
jimknopf
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 6:31 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by jimknopf » Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:59 pm

To me the overall Cubase 10 GUI looks A LOT better than that of 9.5, and I belong to those not so few, who couldn't care less about the old design. There are details to adjust, but the vey last thing I would want is a way back. So obviously taste differs, and those who prefer the old fashioned way can't speak for all of us or make generalizing statements. Colours, contrasts, font sizes etc. will all stay matters of discussion to make the the new GUI even better, but apart from that, I definitely prefer overview and functionality since Cubase 10.

The only thing, which really has to be fixed fast from my view, is adding 125% and 150% HiDPI scaling: the present 100% and 200% settings simply do NOT fit the most used actual nowadays monitor environments, and workarounds have massive downsides. This fix is urgent, to make HiDPI really useful.

Manike
Member
Posts: 788
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by Manike » Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:03 pm

Tezza wrote:
Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:26 am
I am from a different camp, I hate the standard dark coloring and garish pink midi notes and this put me off buying Cubase but when I saw the lighter blue coloring mixed with a light colored piano roll and the midi notes given pastel colors, it looks great! I hate dark DAW's and since they all seem to go in that direction the choices become limited. Customizations of other DAW's don't work for me but the customizations I have done with Cubase look professional.

I've not used Cubase before but I am happy with the way it looks now, much, much better than any other DAW I have used. I don't know about previous versions of Cubase so I can't comment there but I find the current C10 look (with the modifications) to be great.
Yeah I'd go a long with this - I'd find it hard to go back to a previous version now. With modifications the GUI looks good to me. Essentially lightening the black and choosing a highlight colour I like.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by joedaddario » Thu Aug 22, 2019 6:29 pm

Steve. The GUI and the operating system are obviously intertwined. Not sure there is a better spot for this. But if you have something in mind please let us know.
C9.5.50, 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by joedaddario » Thu Aug 22, 2019 6:30 pm

I know I'm repeating myself but it's really just the pull-down menus that look unprofessional. As I've stated above it looks like I'm stuck with this until I can upgrade to win 10. Yuck
C9.5.50, 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by theRoyal1 » Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:04 am

Welp, gonna most likely jump on the Win 10 wagon this weekend. I hope it improves the gui look on my 4k monitor that I've been using for like 5 years already and, IIRC Cubase 4k res is only supported in Win 10.

ftr, I agree that discussing the OS and gui go hand in hand and have a direct correlation with each other so imo it's relevant to the discussion of the topic.

That said, If it helps the look of it even a weebit, I'll notice and maybe start to like the look. Nah..probably not but as long as it I get no new issues I'll be happy.
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by joedaddario » Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:59 pm

Royal, please let us know how this goes. I am very close to doing the same thing myself with the upgrade. Thanks for the Post.
C9.5.50, 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

ensoniq_ts10
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by ensoniq_ts10 » Sun Sep 01, 2019 3:27 am

Gui is designed pretty good (except the upper half of the mixer of course, that’s a disaster).
It just needs a more modern look that’s all
windows 10 x64. Cubase 10.0.30 x64. overclocked i7-8700k. 32GB ram. 2x 2TB m.2 nvme SSDs

ensoniq_ts10
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: the crappy new GUI of Cubase 10 (yes, it's only a rant)

Post by ensoniq_ts10 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:30 am

I set custom colors in preferences, from those baby blue and other preschool colors to more “serious” looking colors like gray, golden, brown, etc, looks much better now.

Too bad can’t change all those toy-ish shapes and outlines in cubase too something more “serious”
windows 10 x64. Cubase 10.0.30 x64. overclocked i7-8700k. 32GB ram. 2x 2TB m.2 nvme SSDs

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dallon426 and 7 guests