[10.0.40] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Gr8h8m
Junior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by Gr8h8m » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:07 pm

Had to regress to v9.5 - v10 is just too horrible to look at and too frustrating in its usability.

kbwills
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by kbwills » Sat May 11, 2019 4:55 pm

Just fired up my brand new (upgrade from 9.5) Cubase 10 - No option to keep previous Transport panel?!?!?!?!?

Moronic - what other 'improvements' lurk ahead :(

Now feel that I shouldn't have bothered with the upgrade..

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1733
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by Stephen57 » Sat May 11, 2019 7:10 pm

+1 to Op

The "old" F2 Transport was so much more appealing and easy to work with. The new "ribbon" concept is unattractive, has less functionality and does not fit neatly in windows. This new "ribbon" looks like something from an early version MS-Word. The old F2 looked like a professional DAW control center.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2324
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by MrSoundman » Sat May 11, 2019 8:59 pm

kbwills wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 4:55 pm
what other 'improvements' lurk ahead :(
Wait till you right-click in the project window .... :twisted:
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

Thurisaz
Junior Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by Thurisaz » Sun May 12, 2019 8:50 pm

Hello Steiny crew, and colleagues,
I'm one of those who want the 2 lines (Cubase 9.x style) Transport Pane back! :-)
I hope you are going to bring it back! :-)
Even I could suggest you to make an Option to switch from 2 lines to single line (for the very few people who like the single line),
in the Panel Settings.
The 2 lines (the old one) Transport Panel is far more comfortable than the current one.

Thank you in advance for the hard work! :-)

Greetings

Gr8h8m
Junior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by Gr8h8m » Sun May 12, 2019 11:20 pm

Its a bewilderingly stupid GUI decision by some designer who clearly doesn't use this program on a day to day basis.
Suggestion > Make transport panel's shape freely configurable by dragging its lower right corner. You want it 2 lines tall? Check. You want it narrow and really tall? Check. You want it stupidly laid out all on one line? Check. This is just basic basic entry-level stuff Steinberg. Sort it out.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2324
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by MrSoundman » Sun May 12, 2019 11:23 pm

Gr8h8m wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 11:20 pm
Its a bewilderingly stupid GUI decision by some designer who clearly doesn't use this program on a day to day basis
+1000
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

Mikos19
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by Mikos19 » Tue May 14, 2019 7:46 am

Hi
I yesterday did upgrade to Cubase 10 from 9.5 and didn't like a new transport panel :( ....
Would be great to have an option to switch , if we want , to old transport panel...
Thanks .
Cubase Pro 10 , Wavelab Pro 9.5 , Absolute 3 VST Inst
RME UC , Dynaudio BM6A
Win 10 x64 , i7 , 12GB RAM , GeForce 430 -1GB

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1291
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by matjones » Tue May 14, 2019 10:04 am

Decided to take advantage of the upgrade deal over the weekend myself, first thing i thought was 'what the #@+£ has happened to the transport bar'?????
Please change it back, why break something that wasn't broken?

+1 for the option to change between the current one and the previous one!!
Cubase 10.0.40 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ 3.7GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus RX 570, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

mozart
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by mozart » Tue May 14, 2019 2:39 pm

matjones wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 10:04 am

Please change it back, why break something that wasn't broken?

+1 for the option to change between the current one and the previous one!!
+1 please steinberg
Music for Film and TV

www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk

vinark
Member
Posts: 573
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by vinark » Wed May 15, 2019 6:42 am

Me too

seanbrennan
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by seanbrennan » Wed May 15, 2019 9:18 pm

Nasty new transport panel, hate it, bring back the old one please or let us have the option at least to use it!!??

wilcofan
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by wilcofan » Wed Jun 19, 2019 4:34 pm

One user mainly looks at this information. Another clicks and interacts.

As the former, I hated the old floating transport and petitioned to have it killed. And often it was only the tempo and quantize status that I was needing to see. Or key commands to set locator fields wouldn't work unless it was open. I like the new location a lot.

But I can see if you mouse with the transport this is an ergonomic mess. Same as the new tools right-click. (which I hate and don't use)

I hope there is a solution for you that leaves the transport elements where they've moved it, optionally.
Cubase Pro 10 | Windows 10 | HP Envy 15

mart
Member
Posts: 652
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by mart » Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:43 pm

+1
Windows 10 Build 1903 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 9.5.5 Cubase 10.0.30, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2324
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by MrSoundman » Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:07 pm

wilcofan wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 4:34 pm
I hated the old floating transport and petitioned to have it killed
This is the bit I really, really don't get -- you got what you wanted as an additional feature (the Transport Bar) but for everyone else, the Transport Panel has been arbitrarily butchered and rendered useless. Now, you don't like the floating Transport Panel, and that's fine, and you can leave it switched off, but the rest of us have lost a useabilty feature that's been there since the Atari days. I leave the Transport Bar switched off, but I don't petition to have it killed off ffs!
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

wilcofan
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by wilcofan » Wed Jun 19, 2019 10:00 pm

Yeah when they added the bottom bar I don’t see why the window had to be removed. The elements could be available in both places.
Cubase Pro 10 | Windows 10 | HP Envy 15

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1733
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by Stephen57 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:35 am

MrSoundman wrote:
Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:47 pm
OK the time for April Fool's is gone and it's not funny anymore -- please bring back the C9-style Transport Panel!
Image
Instead of fixing this, yet another option has been added (Location Range Duration). With everything forced onto only one line in C10, if you "Show All" the panel is already wider than a full HD screen! How can this be anything other than a major UI design flaw? :evil:
Long Version:
The C-9 Transport Panel rocked. I used it in every editor and found it very intuitive and great to work with. This "ribbon style" nightmare is a step backwards. The Pro 9 Panel could have had some updates I suppose, but this is just an off-the-rails strange choice. I've tried to "adapt" to it and I just keep missing the C-9 look, feel and functions of the Panel.

Short version:

+1 Please restore the Cubase Pro 9 Transport Panel (and the right-click power user menu)
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

Elias1957
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:34 pm
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by Elias1957 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:07 am

We can customize the transport bar and the floating bar, so it's possible to get all relevant informations on the screen. Maybe this is one though why the new transport panel is like it is.
But my though is far away from this point of view ;) A freely configurable floating window which can be docked top or bottom of the main window.
C10 Pro,WL Pro.10 / MacMini 2018 i7 32GB 10.14.6 RME UFX II / MacBookPro 2011 i7 10.13.4 8GB UR44

mozart
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by mozart » Thu Jun 20, 2019 9:39 am

MrSoundman wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:07 pm
wilcofan wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 4:34 pm
I hated the old floating transport and petitioned to have it killed
This is the bit I really, really don't get -- you got what you wanted as an additional feature (the Transport Bar) but for everyone else, the Transport Panel has been arbitrarily butchered and rendered useless. Now, you don't like the floating Transport Panel, and that's fine, and you can leave it switched off, but the rest of us have lost a useabilty feature that's been there since the Atari days. I leave the Transport Bar switched off, but I don't petition to have it killed off ffs!
This....
Music for Film and TV

www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk

Funkybot
Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by Funkybot » Thu Jun 20, 2019 8:56 pm

1. What are the things you could do on the old transport, and used frequently, that are no longer available in the new transport?

2. What are the things you could do on the old transport that there isn't a key command for?

From a workflow and design perspective, I don't see any value in having a big, floating transport. If there was something to be gained from it, other than familiarity, then I'm curious as to what that was. I bring up the keybinding thing because in the vast, vast majority of use-cases, assigning a key command to a frequently used task is going to lead to much faster results than using a mouse. But again, if there's something that was lost, or becomes more difficult, then let's talk about it.

Miku_Hanna
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by Miku_Hanna » Thu Jun 20, 2019 9:18 pm

As an experiment I added all the functions to the new floating Transport bar. Lets just say the results were comical. How did this fly past QC?

compositor
Junior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [10.0.20] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by compositor » Fri Jun 28, 2019 2:43 pm

Fabrizio_Pigliucci wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:08 pm
this is my utilization of the new transport bar, I don't want a kilometer-long floating bar, but at the same time a reduced version similar in size as the old one has too few parameters. So I choosen to have a fixed long transport bar with the parameters I use in the lower zone, and a floating bar with just the main commands, to have it always under the mouse. Since the lower zone transport bar disappears in the editor's windows as audio editor or midi key editor when in full screen as I always use, the reduced floating transport bar become necessar, useful and welcomed. This allows me to work the same way as the old version transport bar.
I hope this can help, just my two cents..
A most sensible post, but as stated previously; short of the ability to customize the floating transport bar, the transport panel parse should always be visible.

seanbrennan
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [10.0.30] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by seanbrennan » Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:53 am

I don't see any attempt to give us the old transport panel back or at least customize it to look somewhat similar in this new 10.0.40 release, or have I missed something? :(

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2324
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: [10.0.30] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by MrSoundman » Sat Sep 07, 2019 9:43 am

seanbrennan wrote:
Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:53 am
I don't see any attempt to give us the old transport panel back or at least customize it to look somewhat similar in this new 10.0.40 release, or have I missed something? :(
I doubt we will ever get the old one back, but we might get thrown a biscuit in 10.5. It seems to be a trend in GUI development to make things bigger and dummer so fat fingers on touch screens cause less havoc.

PS Thanks for reminding me to update the title to reflect the fact that this has again been ignored in the 10.0.40 update!
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

ensoniq_ts10
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [10.0.40] Transport Panel (F2) still horrible

Post by ensoniq_ts10 » Sun Sep 08, 2019 12:41 am

I never use that floating transport panel.
You can just set all those functions to show in top or bottom window of cubase..

I un-assigned F2 key from control panel so I would never bring it up accidently.
windows 10 x64. Cubase 10.0.30 x64. overclocked i7-8700k. 32GB ram. 2x 2TB m.2 nvme SSDs

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JohnfromSonar, lovegames and 3 guests