Brauerizing In Cubase

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
jobnow777
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:45 am
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by jobnow777 » Fri Aug 30, 2019 4:16 am

D,
Could you please send me your template for Brauerizing also? Thanks! I fought with trying to set this up for a long time, and finally just gave up! :?
Cubase 10.0.30 & 9.5.41, Wavelab Elements 9.5.50 & 9.0.35/9.5.40, Windows 10 Pro., Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Dell Studio XPS 8900 with 32 GB ram

kokot
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by kokot » Fri Aug 30, 2019 8:36 am

Many public thanks to Dirx for the template!

jobnow777
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:45 am
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by jobnow777 » Fri Aug 30, 2019 8:41 am

i found the spot to retrieve PM...Thanks again Dirx! Looking forward to this...yes...
Cubase 10.0.30 & 9.5.41, Wavelab Elements 9.5.50 & 9.0.35/9.5.40, Windows 10 Pro., Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Dell Studio XPS 8900 with 32 GB ram

ckon
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by ckon » Fri Aug 30, 2019 1:01 pm

from 2007.....

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-much ... p-itb.html

Where users have bashed things out a little. Michael Brauer jumps in early on (and he states elsewhere that he rarely visits gearslutz)

Would also be interested in seeing your template Dirx.

Regards
ckon:

C Pro 10.0.40 (and all previous)
Win7 - x64 (farewell soon)
Main host system:
i7 3770k - 4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM, OS on SSD
Museum DAW: Apple Mac LCII Opcode Studio Vision.

Dirx
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by Dirx » Sat Aug 31, 2019 12:27 am

@jobnow777, message sent
@ckon, right now I can't PM you, you might have disabled it?

Cheers,
Dirx
Signature...

jobnow777
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:45 am
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by jobnow777 » Sat Aug 31, 2019 7:52 pm

Dirx,
Very very interesting. I'm diving right into this. Thank you so much for your work! And thank you for sending. 8-)
Best Regards,
Ted
Cubase 10.0.30 & 9.5.41, Wavelab Elements 9.5.50 & 9.0.35/9.5.40, Windows 10 Pro., Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Dell Studio XPS 8900 with 32 GB ram

Lost Notes
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 9:57 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by Lost Notes » Sat Aug 31, 2019 10:08 pm

Greetings fellow Cubase users,

I would like to try this Brauer method, the links provided here on this topic were very interesting.
Could I please trouble @Dirx and/or @Nytshade for the template?
I would be forever grateful.

Thank you!

Dirx
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by Dirx » Sun Sep 01, 2019 1:44 am

On the way...

Cheers,
Dirx
Signature...

ensoniq_ts10
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by ensoniq_ts10 » Sun Sep 01, 2019 3:25 am

Isnt “Brauer multibus technique” simply just multiple parallel sends ?
windows 10 x64. Cubase 10.0.30 x64. overclocked i7-8700k. 32GB ram. 2x 2TB m.2 nvme SSDs

ckon
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by ckon » Sun Sep 01, 2019 2:09 pm

ensoniq_ts10 wrote:
Sun Sep 01, 2019 3:25 am
Isnt “Brauer multibus technique” simply just multiple parallel sends ?
well yes and no,It is more One Mans fixed approach to getting a specific sound colour based on the use of multiple hardware units whilst avoiding the limits and drawbacks/limitations of single mix bus compression. To attempt an emulation of this ITB there are challenges but yes, basically you are utilising quite basic routing methods.Read through the helpful web post here:

https://brauerizing.wordpress.com/2014/ ... -to-guide/

But to quote Mr Brauer from 2007 he had reservations when trying to emulate ITB:
we've been trying to make it work but there are too many phasing issues. Despite the assurance from several posters that they know how to make it work....it doesn't. For the most basic template and assuming you only apply 40% of what I do, their template might be ok in limited use. But when I start blending different combinations, the sound changes in an undesirable way.

michael brauer
ckon:

C Pro 10.0.40 (and all previous)
Win7 - x64 (farewell soon)
Main host system:
i7 3770k - 4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM, OS on SSD
Museum DAW: Apple Mac LCII Opcode Studio Vision.

ckon
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by ckon » Sun Sep 01, 2019 2:11 pm

Dirx wrote:
Sat Aug 31, 2019 12:27 am
@jobnow777, message sent
@ckon, right now I can't PM you, you might have disabled it?

Cheers,
Dirx
fixed....
ckon:

C Pro 10.0.40 (and all previous)
Win7 - x64 (farewell soon)
Main host system:
i7 3770k - 4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM, OS on SSD
Museum DAW: Apple Mac LCII Opcode Studio Vision.

Dirx
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by Dirx » Sun Sep 01, 2019 8:28 pm

Hi ckon,

link on the way...

Cheers,
Dirx
Signature...

ottomo
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by ottomo » Mon Sep 02, 2019 12:16 am

I d also love to get my hands on that template...i tried to make one myself in the past but i think i had a few issues with delay compensation...its been a while tho and i cant remember what the problem was....Dirx thanx so much for this i hope you dont mind sending it once more:)
Workstation:i7 3 Ghz CPU, Gigabyte Z97, 32Gig RAM, System Drive 256 Gig SSD.
Software: Win10 latest vesrion 64Bit, Cubase 9.5, NI Komplete, Softube Console 1,Slate Digital,Soundtoys and a few more
Interface: RME HDSP Raydat with SSL Alphalink converters. Audient ID14(other system)
Controleers: Avid Artist Mix/Transport, Softube Console 1, Steinberg CC121 Controller, Steinberd CMC contorllers, IOS Metagrid

Dirx
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by Dirx » Mon Sep 02, 2019 8:13 pm

Hi ottomo,

message sent.

Cheers,
Dirx
Signature...

msy
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by msy » Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:31 pm

Dirx: Would also really like to test this method. If you can send me your templates, I'd appriciate it.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41 on Windows 7 using jBridge for 32bit plugins
HALion 6.3
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200
DAW: Intel Core i7 4790K @ 4.6 GHz |
ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB | 2x2TB SATA2 | Geforce 460Ti
Computer related hardware: UAD-2 Duo, Behringer BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Lead 4, Eurorack (12U) via ES3/ADAT

Dirx
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by Dirx » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:40 am

Hi msy,

it's on the way...

Cheers,
Dirx
Signature...

djgraver
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by djgraver » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:23 am

I’m also interesting in Brauerethod of mixing.
Btw. Thanks to @dirx for an amazing template.

Have some questions.

Does brauer send already mixed instruments to their A-D channel ?
For ex. I have vocal chain that contains:
Vocal rider, EQ(cut resonance),slight compressor, color eq. Harder Compressor.

So, after my last compressor I should send to A? (for. Ex)
And same with drums.
I have all my drums send to drum group, where I do some slight processing (if needed).
Same with Synths & Bass.

I have my personal template with all groups,VCA, Fx.
And trying to add brauers technics (Dirx template) to my.

Thanks
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

conan
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by conan » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:32 am

@Dirx @Nytshade I´d like to have a look at those templates too, please.

Dirx
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by Dirx » Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:39 pm

@conan,
PM is on the way.
@djgraver,
Yes, you send your "mixed" Instruments to the A-D channel.
(Lead)-Vocals would be a special case, in my approach (Michael Brauers technique has evolved over the time) you would use (up to ) 5 Aux-sends to the 5 Vocal-Compressors to use a mixture of their compression/sound/colour.
But if your sound is already "fininshed" the way you have it, no problem, send it to any A-D Bus.
(No Rules)

Cheers,
Dirx
Signature...

conan
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by conan » Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:56 am

@Dirx Thanks a lot.

summer2000
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by summer2000 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 5:43 pm

@Dirx @Nytshade... I´d appreciate it also if you could send me the links to your templates. Thanks in advance.

Dirx
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Brauerizing In Cubase

Post by Dirx » Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:49 am

Hi summer2000,

it's on the way...

Cheers,
Dirx
Signature...

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Anando, oyyzz1, planarchist, Starsprinkler and 5 guests