How to Draw a MIDI Crash Choke Note in Cubase 10

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
ohnow
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:33 pm
Contact:

How to Draw a MIDI Crash Choke Note in Cubase 10

Post by ohnow » Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:55 pm

Hello,

Using a Roland TD-50 I can record MIDI crash choke notes. I would like to know how to draw a MIDI choke note when done recording and in the editing phase. I know how to draw the note, but not how to choke it. I would like to know how to edit the length of chokes too.

When I’ve looked in Cubase for the CC, I have not found data yet that seems to choke a cymbal or affect the choke length. I thought it was aftertouch but when I look at a recorded choke note’s CC data, I can’t find any where if I change it, it changes the length of the choke. Does anyone know how to do this?
Last edited by ohnow on Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 8.5 Pro, Groove Agent 4 SE, EZDrummer 2, UR44, Focal 65's, Roland TD-50 V-drums, Akai MPK Mini

Main Machine:
Studiocat Platinum Laptop, Win 10 Pro 64 bit v. 1790 build 16299.125, Sky/Kaby Lake Intel Core i7-7700K @4.20GHz, 32GB DDR4/2400 (2x16) RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, 500GB SSD Programs Drive, M.2 SSD: 250GB Projects drive, 500GB SSD Samples Drive

Backup Machine:
Dell Alienware 15 2016, Win 10 Home 64 bit v.1709 build 16299.248, INtel i7-6820HK @2.70Ghz, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, 1TB Programs Drive, 1TB Projects/Samples Drive

External Devices:
WD MyCloud 4TB NAS (Wireless), WD MyBook 4TB (plugged into NAS), Seagate SRD0NF2 4TB, Seagate SRD00F2 2TB, etc.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3686
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: How to Draw a MIDI Crash Choke Note in Cubase 10

Post by raino » Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:34 pm

As far as I know choking a cymbal is going to be dependent on the specific VSTi.

I use BFD3 and in it a choke is treated as if it were another articulation for a specific cymbal or drum. Like all the other articulations the choke articulation can be assigned to a MIDI Note Number in a Drum Map. So a note-on message sent to MIDI Note #X will choke my hats, while Note #Y chokes Ride1, and Note #Z chokes Ride2, etc.

You need to look at the specifics for whatever VSTi is your drum sound generator.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
djangodeadman
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Draw a MIDI Crash Choke Note in Cubase 10

Post by djangodeadman » Fri Sep 13, 2019 3:12 am

As far as I recall, Roland V Drums use aftertouch for choking. Try looking for that.
SCAN PC Intel Core i7 3.4 GHz Quad Core 8Gb DDR3 1600MHz RAM UAD Apollo X 8P Midex 8

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Draw a MIDI Crash Choke Note in Cubase 10

Post by skijumptoes » Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:06 pm

Yeah if it's for V Drums you add a lane for 'Poly Pressure' in the key editor view (Piano roll), Then draw a single point where you want the choke to happen, and then edit that value to make sure it has the correct key value assigned to it.
Remember to add a second value in for the release of that choke also.

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Draw a MIDI Crash Choke Note in Cubase 10

Post by Nickeldome » Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:57 pm

You can add the 'midi monitor' plugin on that track and then send a choke from your Roland TD-50. You should be able to see what event is send with what parameters?
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

User avatar
djangodeadman
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Draw a MIDI Crash Choke Note in Cubase 10

Post by djangodeadman » Fri Sep 13, 2019 8:14 pm

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:57 pm
You can add the 'midi monitor' plugin on that track and then send a choke from your Roland TD-50. You should be able to see what event is send with what parameters?
You should also be able to see that information in the list editor, I think.
SCAN PC Intel Core i7 3.4 GHz Quad Core 8Gb DDR3 1600MHz RAM UAD Apollo X 8P Midex 8

ohnow
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Draw a MIDI Crash Choke Note in Cubase 10

Post by ohnow » Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:04 pm

skijumptoes wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:06 pm
Yeah if it's for V Drums you add a lane for 'Poly Pressure' in the key editor view (Piano roll), Then draw a single point where you want the choke to happen, and then edit that value to make sure it has the correct key value assigned to it.
Remember to add a second value in for the release of that choke also.
I showed the polypressure lane but it didn't have any data. I tried drawing it in going from low to high or high to low values and it didn't do anything.
Cubase 8.5 Pro, Groove Agent 4 SE, EZDrummer 2, UR44, Focal 65's, Roland TD-50 V-drums, Akai MPK Mini

Main Machine:
Studiocat Platinum Laptop, Win 10 Pro 64 bit v. 1790 build 16299.125, Sky/Kaby Lake Intel Core i7-7700K @4.20GHz, 32GB DDR4/2400 (2x16) RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, 500GB SSD Programs Drive, M.2 SSD: 250GB Projects drive, 500GB SSD Samples Drive

Backup Machine:
Dell Alienware 15 2016, Win 10 Home 64 bit v.1709 build 16299.248, INtel i7-6820HK @2.70Ghz, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, 1TB Programs Drive, 1TB Projects/Samples Drive

External Devices:
WD MyCloud 4TB NAS (Wireless), WD MyBook 4TB (plugged into NAS), Seagate SRD0NF2 4TB, Seagate SRD00F2 2TB, etc.

ohnow
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Draw a MIDI Crash Choke Note in Cubase 10

Post by ohnow » Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:07 pm

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:57 pm
You can add the 'midi monitor' plugin on that track and then send a choke from your Roland TD-50. You should be able to see what event is send with what parameters?
II used the MIDI monitor in SD3 and I see aftertouch values but no aftertouch data seems to be recorded. I tried drawing in values from low to high and high to low but no luck. I also saw note on and note off but but when I tracked them in SD3 I think they were related to the hats sensitivity being too high. Only one MIDI note would be recorded in the drum editor (or piano roll). I didn't see a CC for notes on or off. I thought it would have been two separate MIDI (and musical) notes.
Cubase 8.5 Pro, Groove Agent 4 SE, EZDrummer 2, UR44, Focal 65's, Roland TD-50 V-drums, Akai MPK Mini

Main Machine:
Studiocat Platinum Laptop, Win 10 Pro 64 bit v. 1790 build 16299.125, Sky/Kaby Lake Intel Core i7-7700K @4.20GHz, 32GB DDR4/2400 (2x16) RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, 500GB SSD Programs Drive, M.2 SSD: 250GB Projects drive, 500GB SSD Samples Drive

Backup Machine:
Dell Alienware 15 2016, Win 10 Home 64 bit v.1709 build 16299.248, INtel i7-6820HK @2.70Ghz, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, 1TB Programs Drive, 1TB Projects/Samples Drive

External Devices:
WD MyCloud 4TB NAS (Wireless), WD MyBook 4TB (plugged into NAS), Seagate SRD0NF2 4TB, Seagate SRD00F2 2TB, etc.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cartwheel, raino and 6 guests