time sig change possible on beats not bars?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
liquidmuse
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:18 pm
Contact:

time sig change possible on beats not bars?

Post by liquidmuse » Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:20 pm

I'm working on a tricky little beast where the time sig hops about quite a bit. Unfortunately I've hit a brick wall as one section requires a sig change on the 2nd beat of bar and I can't figure out how to deal with this as the sig appears to only snap to the bar no matter what I do. I'm basically running 4/4, then on the 2nd beat it switches to 3/4.

Any ideas?

Thanks :)

GlennO
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:43 pm
Contact:

Re: time sig change possible on beats not bars?

Post by GlennO » Sat Sep 14, 2019 3:15 pm

What you've described is not 4/4 followed by 3/4. It's 4/4 followed by 1/4 followed by 3/4.
Cubase 10, MacOS 10.13, Avid Artist Mix

liquidmuse
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:18 pm
Contact:

Re: time sig change possible on beats not bars?

Post by liquidmuse » Sat Sep 14, 2019 5:15 pm

GlennO wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 3:15 pm
What you've described is not 4/4 followed by 3/4. It's 4/4 followed by 1/4 followed by 3/4.
Of course, of course! Thanks. What a basic error. :lol:

User avatar
Parrotspain
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: time sig change possible on beats not bars?

Post by Parrotspain » Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:51 pm

It might seem a bit odd, but if you don't want to set your snap quantise to a crotchet beat, you could change your project time signature to 1/4. Then with each beat equalling a bar, you can count anyway you like and snap to barlines.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40

Win10 Home 64. Biostar A960D+ AMD FX8350. 32Gb.
Softube Console 1 Mk2, TC Powercore, Faderport

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: shimao46 and 6 guests