Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Interested in Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 or Cubase Elements 10? Having questions regarding the update or upgrade to the latest version? Please post here!
Post Reply
baumannmusic
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:49 pm
Contact:

Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by baumannmusic » Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:14 pm

Hi all,

I am replacing my workstation with a laptop and at the same time I need to get rid of USB dongles. :-) When working mobile, I find USB dongles pretty annoying and also the risk of damaging or losing the dongle is too big. So I was wondering: Will I still need a USB dongle, if I want to work with Cubase Pro 10 or is it possible to save the license on my hard disk or SD card or something?

I found a list of soft-elicenser software products on the website, where Cubase Pro was not included, but this was from 2017. On the Thomann store it is written, that a USB dongle is still required, is that true???

Thanks!

x-pander
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by x-pander » Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:19 pm

Yes

baumannmusic
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by baumannmusic » Wed Jan 16, 2019 11:01 am

Ok thanks. What a pity. Dongles are so outdated :)

I hope this will change in the future.

x-pander
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by x-pander » Mon Jan 21, 2019 8:49 pm

I read somewhere on this site they are working on a dongleless system.

simthembile
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:27 am
Contact:

Re: Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by simthembile » Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:40 pm

What a shameful world we living in. The most successful antipiracy system over the last 9 years, is about to go down. Im leaving to Marss

cds
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:17 am
Contact:

Re: Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by cds » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:42 pm

Hi !
baumannmusic wrote:
Wed Jan 16, 2019 11:01 am
Dongles are so outdated :)
Well, that pretty much depends on your usecase. People, who need to use their license on multiple systems would be screwed without the HW dongle .....
Currently using: Cubase 10 elements, HSO

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9048
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by -steve- » Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:18 pm

Halion 6, Dorico, and some new VSTs are using the Sel., so it looks like it's coming. You can still move the license to a usb key.

SB will not make the mistake of having poor copy protection, and Cubase is probably the most attractive Steinberg product to hackers, maybe that's why it's not done yet.

As cds points out, if you are not using a dongle, you'll be sh-- out of luck if you want to run the software after a crash without online access, or need to run it on a different computer. In a professional setup this would be an unacceptable circumstance.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Seeds
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by Seeds » Fri May 17, 2019 7:21 pm

Woah, I was just about to buy Cubase for half off switching DAWs

Thanks for this info. I’ll wait for Cubase to catch up and go dongleless ... maybe next year

Milien
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by Milien » Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:34 pm

cds wrote:
Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:42 pm
Hi !
baumannmusic wrote:
Wed Jan 16, 2019 11:01 am
Dongles are so outdated :)
Well, that pretty much depends on your usecase. People, who need to use their license on multiple systems would be screwed without the HW dongle .....
Used Cubase for 15 years. Like it a lot. Haven't used it for the past 2 years, precisely because I have multiple system. Can't be bothered with a software that forces me to remember and hook something up to usb-ports every time I'm going somewhere/changing between portable and desktop.

Studio One, also a great DAW, lets me install it on up to 5 (5 !) different computers and use at the same time. No dongle needed. Seriously, there just aren't any excuses for the dongles anymore..

If they ditch it and let us have it installed on at the very least two computers, I might come back.

/Jesper

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9048
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by -steve- » Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:27 pm

Milien wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:34 pm
Seriously, there just aren't any excuses for the dongles anymore..
That's an opinion from the perspective of a customer who is inconvenienced. Of course you have only data from what you have personally seen, with which to evaluate the extent to which software piracy is prevented by the USB Key.

Read my post above too.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Milien
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Does Cubase Pro 10 still require a Dongle?

Post by Milien » Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:19 am

-steve- wrote:
Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:18 pm
As cds points out, if you are not using a dongle, you'll be sh-- out of luck if you want to run the software after a crash without online access, or need to run it on a different computer. In a professional setup this would be an unacceptable circumstance.
I don't understand this. And what professional setup today doesn't have internet access? Ah, well, the professional studio where I work is actually a good example of that. We didn't have stable internet when we made the switch to studio one (just about digging fiber). Never, ever had any problems with starting the software after the occasional crash though. Or when starting on a different system. At times I had to use my phone as a connection point for a bout 30 seconds, but after that no problem at all.
I don't have enough fingers, however, to count how many times I've forgotten the dongle in one system and therefore not being able to start working on another. Not to mention having to use USB-hubs in portable setups because you run out of USB-ports, thanks to dongles..

I think of it like this. There are two excuses to be made for the dongle:

1. Steinberg can't market Cubase well enough to get people to buy it instead of turning to piracy.
and/or
2. Steinberg can't make software that is hard to crack.

My point of there being no excuses for having the dongle relies on the fact that there are companies out there that make great DAWs without dongles.

And why not have both? Dongle for those who want that and something else for those who want that/aren't afraid of not being able to start the DAW without an internet connection.

And more companies in the industry are getting this. Just go watch Slate Digitals YouTube video about ditching the dongle/making it optional.

Quite often I have clients that ask me about what DAW to get, and which one is "the best". I usually give Cubase high praise, along with Pro Tools, but eventually tell them to look into Studio One. Main reason - multiple activations and dongle free.

/Jesper

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest