Multitrack Free Warp

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
Juice
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by Juice »

Hello all.

I have a question for Steinberg. What is the point in having the audio warp option in the multitrack quantize panel if the audio your warping doesn't stay phase coherent? Its useless no?

It's all about work flow. Less clicking and scrolling. Instead of being able to add pictures to a track I think it would be in their best interest to finally implement Phase Coherent Multitrack Free Warping! Come on Steinberg!

Any thought people? Lets keep this one going! :!:
Nuendo 10
Nuendo 8
Nuendo 6.0.5
Nuendo 3
Cubase 3
Mac OSX 10.12.6, 48GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC
Antelope Orion 32+
RND 5088 32 Channel Console

vitraska
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by vitraska »

+1
Multitrack warp works fluently with auto drums quantize panel, so algo is there, where is the problem????
Why still not possible to warp manually two tracks in sync??

User avatar
A.j.
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by A.j. »

+1. Most every major DAW can free warp multiple tacks. They've had this bread-and-butter feature for years.

Working in my studio, clients often ask why we can't free warp like they can with their own DAWs at home (Pro Tools, etc). It's awkward, to say the least. I suspect I've lost at least a couple follow-up jobs because of this perplexing omission in Cubase's otherwise excellent feature set.

Frankly, multitrack free warp is almost a "classic" function of a DAW at this point. It long ago stopped being sexy or trendy; it's just something people use DAWs for these days. Users/clients have a right to expect it, and are surprised when I say I can't do it ("Are you sure it's not in there? Can you check again?").

This needs to be remedied. It's like we're missing a screwdriver.

(Respectfully submitted. I love most of what Cubase offers.)
+ listen to druckmanbros (100% Cubase tracked/mixed): http://www.youtube.com/user/druckmanbros
Intel 8700K/Win10/32GB/Cubase 10 64-bit/RME 9652 HDSP/SSL AlphaLink MADI AX

User avatar
cheveyo
Junior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by cheveyo »

10.5 is out and I didn’t read anything about multitrack free warp...
:-( :-( :-(
--
iMac Retina 5k (OSX10.14),
Cubase from Atari to 10.0.x, Wavelab from 5 to 9.5, StudioOne from 3.1 to 4.x, LogicProX 10.x
Notion 6, Sibelius 7.5, Guitar Pro 7, Dorico from 1.0 to 3
Scarlett 18i20, Line6-Helix

lovegames
Senior Member
Posts: 1223
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by lovegames »

cheveyo wrote:
Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:31 pm
10.5 is out and I didn’t read anything about multitrack free warp...
:-( :-( :-(
That will be 11

User avatar
laurof
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:54 am
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by laurof »

+1

Stacks
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by Stacks »

+1

Bourricoconut
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:00 am
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by Bourricoconut »

+1
Cubase Pro 9 / Nuendo 10.2.1 / MacOS High Sierra
M-Audio Profire 610
Icon QCON Pro G2

User avatar
SF_Green
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 1:47 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by SF_Green »

+1
Yes, please.
Cubase Pro 10.5.12, Wavelab Elements 10.0.20, Live 10.1 Suite, Reason 10.4, SonarPt-2017.10, Finale 25, Komplete12 Ult, Omnisphere 2.6, BFD3, ARP Omni, many things with strings.
RME FireFace 800 (D 3.125, fw 2.77), Adam A7X, UAD-2 Quad, NI Komplete Kontrol S88 Mk2, A-800 PRO, CC121, Alesis QS7.1, Arturia BeatStep Pro, Maschine MkII, POD HD500
Ryzen9 3950X, ASrock 570X Extreme4, Win 10 Pro x64 v1909, 32Gb CorsairDDR4-3600
GeForce GTX 950 (442.74), NVM SSD 500Gb (OS), SATA 3 & 1.5Tb
GrSltz My Studio

paulb
Junior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:10 pm
Location: Bisley, Stroud, UK
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by paulb »

+1

Same thread, two years on and still no news on this. Dear Steinberg, if you don't intend doing something about this long-standing feature request, please make that fact known to the user community. If however, you have a plan, then please do make that known to us, so we can relax and wait. Thankyou.
Windows 10 Pro, Intel i7,16Gb RAM, SSDs, Focusrite Saffire56 and Scarlett 18i20, Celemony Melodyne

MasterJames
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by MasterJames »

Yup I am not seeing this ability in 10.2.20 yet either? You should be able to at least copy the data from one channel to another somehow right?
Is there something we are all missing? Audio Alignment Panel? Merge to Multi Channel?
This seems maybe getting close. Typically it's a Cubase doc ref I found
https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... ing_t.html
but it's the same in Nuendo 10.
Anyway in a quick test that seems to be broken and not working as you might expect either.

Audio Alignment Panel says you must bounce the reference first. Alas that doesn't seem to really work either, but kind of depending on if they are top and bottom mics in my example. So that might kind of work in some situations? Not ideal with that bounce needed.

I tried to copy the aligned one back into a pre-bounced project save and it was kind of an average? I bounced that and it pasted okay. So that's another half baked lame attempt to figure out "What were they thinking?!".

It's times like this you think I will use another program to do that and re-import them but that's super lame too.

This inability to react in a timely fashion is screaming "Open Source" to me.
That's when I start thinking if only there was a code plugin system? Then maybe one could have a free open source way to make fixes to 'their' program by having other tools to replace these failing components or something. Alas it's a desperate thought that would have it's own set of problems.

I'll keep wasting time thinking I am the fool but I think you know who has dropped the ball here. It seems like it should be a super simple thing to fix. Add data copy & paste to channels, Replace audio (editable copy/duplicate channel and then replace audio it's done in video editors that way), fix the Group Edit functionality to work on both the same as it seems they intended. [I am thinking to file that last Group Edit notion as a bug, and then maybe that approach will be an easier pill for the developers to swallow.]

+2

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by mozizo »

the one thing that can i think of to wrap multiple tracks with phase coherence in cubase is to convert several audio tracks to multichannel,wrap then bounce then convert the multichannel track back to mono. well thats a workaround that works with limited track number
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

nexis
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by nexis »

+1 This would be a very useful feature! Would love to have this feature in my work flow! Imagine being able to group your drum tracks together and FREE WARP them to be really tight!
Cubase 10.5 PRO, Steinberg MR816 CSX (2 of them), Windows 10 Pro, i7 Processor, 24 gigs of RAM, 3 Separate TB Drives, BluRay Burner Dual Monitors

kamalski
Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:01 am
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by kamalski »

yes, very useful and mentioned A LOT in the past years as a feature request, and implemented in almost every other major DAW on the market for quite some time!
http://www.artofaudio.com.au
PC: AAVIM TECHNOLOGY PXS 6K
OS: Win10 64bit (update blocked!)/ MB: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7/ CPU: Intel i7 6850K - 3.6 GHz/
RAM: 32 GB PC4 21300 Quad-Channel DDR4/ GrFx: NVIDIA Quadro NVS
monitor: 2x SONY Bravia 42"/ 2x UAD-2 OCTO DSP card/ RME Fireface UFX

User avatar
cheveyo
Junior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by cheveyo »

It's like a text processing program that is not able to mark and edit all the same words in a text.
But you are able to configure the color of the buttons to navigate....;-)

For this I already made the switch to Studio One. To use a workaround or to switch just for the editing to another DAW was much too complicated.
This feature is asked for since years...(or decades?) and was never implemented :-(.

In contrast, Dorico (Steinberg) is in steady contact to their customer and is realizing most of the wishes. You can not realize all wishes but you can then communicate with customer about which feature has priority or which feature will never be implemented. In the polls for cubase from Steinberg "Multitrack Free Warp" was at least in the top 10 for several polls. And? I think the polls are just marketing and will never reach the developer team.
--
iMac Retina 5k (OSX10.14),
Cubase from Atari to 10.0.x, Wavelab from 5 to 9.5, StudioOne from 3.1 to 4.x, LogicProX 10.x
Notion 6, Sibelius 7.5, Guitar Pro 7, Dorico from 1.0 to 3
Scarlett 18i20, Line6-Helix

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by mozizo »

cheveyo wrote:
Thu Jun 11, 2020 1:31 pm


For this I already made the switch to Studio One. To use a workaround or to switch just for the editing to another DAW was much too complicated.
This feature is asked for since years...(or decades?) and was never implemented :-(.
i can agree IMO that steinberg really missed some important "deal breaker" features that users needed and other DAWs already implemented over the years
Multitrack Free warp and audio warp on the project window level is one of them.
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

chikitin
Senior Member
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 3:15 am
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by chikitin »

+1
Laptop: iMac, 16GB RAM SSD 2TB, Cubase Pro the latest w/ two external Monitors and SBX subwoofer
VST Connect Pro, NI Komplete 5, EWQLSO, HSO, GA 5
Synths: Yamaha PSR-A3000, Roland Fantom XR
Interface: Steinberg MR-816CSX, UR 22 mkII
Effects: Rocktron DSP, Lexicon MPX 550
Controller: Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX25,49,88, Korg Nano Kontrol, Boss RC 300, Yamaha MFC 10, CMC-PD

User avatar
A.j.
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by A.j. »

Was just re-reading a 2013 post of mine (Cubase 7 era), where I referenced the wait for this feature.

So here's a post from last year, which sums up my feelings. Thank you Steinberg for all you do, especially in these crazy days! (and may I say again--we want multitrack warp features in the next Cubase... it's been a long vigil, and many of us will be so thankful):
A.j. wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:05 pm
+1. Most every major DAW can free warp multiple tracks. They've had this bread-and-butter feature for years.

Working in my studio, clients often ask why we can't free warp like they can with their own DAWs at home (Pro Tools, etc). It's awkward, to say the least. I suspect I've lost at least a couple follow-up jobs because of this perplexing omission in Cubase's otherwise excellent feature set.

Frankly, multitrack free warp is almost a "classic" function of a DAW at this point. It long ago stopped being sexy or trendy; it's just something people use DAWs for these days. Users/clients have a right to expect it, and are surprised when I say I can't do it ("Are you sure it's not in there? Can you check again?").

This needs to be remedied. It's like we're missing a screwdriver.

(Respectfully submitted. I love most of what Cubase offers.)
+ listen to druckmanbros (100% Cubase tracked/mixed): http://www.youtube.com/user/druckmanbros
Intel 8700K/Win10/32GB/Cubase 10 64-bit/RME 9652 HDSP/SSL AlphaLink MADI AX

Thurisaz
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by Thurisaz »

+1 here
The team must also add Triplet and Dotted Grid options to the Audio Editor and the Sampler! :-)
Composer, arranger, orchestrator, multi-instrumentalist and sound engineer
Workstation: HP Z820 (2x Xeon Octa-Core E5-2670 @ 2.6GHz, 64GB Ram DDR3 @ 1333MHz)
OS: Windows 10 Pro 1909
DAWs: Cubase Pro 10.0.60, Studio One 4.6, Pro Tools 12
Notation: Dorico Pro 3.5.0, Overture 5.6, Sibelius 2019.7
VI Host: Vienna Ensemble Pro 7.0.1056

pablin_drummer
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by pablin_drummer »

+10000

chikitin
Senior Member
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 3:15 am
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by chikitin »

Thurisaz wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:13 pm
+1 here
The team must also add Triplet and Dotted Grid options to the Audio Editor and the Sampler! :-)
Please also add Triplet and Dotted Grid options to the Audio Editor and the Sampler! as mentioned!
+1000
Last edited by chikitin on Wed Jul 08, 2020 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Laptop: iMac, 16GB RAM SSD 2TB, Cubase Pro the latest w/ two external Monitors and SBX subwoofer
VST Connect Pro, NI Komplete 5, EWQLSO, HSO, GA 5
Synths: Yamaha PSR-A3000, Roland Fantom XR
Interface: Steinberg MR-816CSX, UR 22 mkII
Effects: Rocktron DSP, Lexicon MPX 550
Controller: Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX25,49,88, Korg Nano Kontrol, Boss RC 300, Yamaha MFC 10, CMC-PD

fyahfox
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by fyahfox »

+1

Electrochimp
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by Electrochimp »

For me, this should be the number one priority for Cubase 11

chikitin
Senior Member
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 3:15 am
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by chikitin »

+1
Laptop: iMac, 16GB RAM SSD 2TB, Cubase Pro the latest w/ two external Monitors and SBX subwoofer
VST Connect Pro, NI Komplete 5, EWQLSO, HSO, GA 5
Synths: Yamaha PSR-A3000, Roland Fantom XR
Interface: Steinberg MR-816CSX, UR 22 mkII
Effects: Rocktron DSP, Lexicon MPX 550
Controller: Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX25,49,88, Korg Nano Kontrol, Boss RC 300, Yamaha MFC 10, CMC-PD

Tonegroove
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 10:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Multitrack Free Warp

Post by Tonegroove »

July 2020. There's a button I see, labeled "Edit Active Audio Event Only". It seems to be the thing that would disable editing audiowarp on multiple selected tracks, but it just does nothing.

Steinberg? Steinberg?

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests