Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Quinn3k3 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:52 pm

A repeat of the request in the Cubase 9 Feature Request forum.....

Please add an option for tabbed VST and VSTi windows a la Studio One. This allows a user to move from one effect or instrument to another with fewer mouse clicks. It speeds up the editing of instrument and effects settings and I much prefer it to Cubase's current workflow.

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by McBass » Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:21 am

+1 x 1000
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

User avatar
florian360
Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by florian360 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:42 pm

+1
Artist name: Okular (Producer and DJ from Zürich)
Genre: Progressive Trance
Page: https://soundcloud.com/okularmusic

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Starsprinkler » Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:05 pm

+1

It avoids a lot of floating plugin windows (which is in line with the newer window management from C9 and onwards).

Here's a video about tabbed plugin windows in Studio One:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTqOWWGfONA

As in SO, it should still be possible to pin a tabbed window to have more than one, if desired.

It would also be good if there would be an optional possibility to make the tabbed window follow track selection (and then have the plugins automatically exchanged to the new track selection). It could be a toggle button directly on the tabbed window. That would be better than a preference, since that choice could vary a lot depending on the situation.

Edit: and key commands to switch between tabs back and forth, to avoid using the mouse.
Last edited by Starsprinkler on Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tj99
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Tj99 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:24 pm

+1
Recording - Mixing - Mastering

mk1x86
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:32 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by mk1x86 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 3:18 pm

+1
Cubase Pro 10.0.30
Behringer UMC404HD
Windows 10

maggie
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by maggie » Thu Aug 22, 2019 3:54 pm

+1 x 1.000.000
Cubase 10 pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, Padshop Pro, Tone2 Electra 2, Tone2 Ultraspace, U-He Diva, U-He Presswerk, U-He Hive, Tubeohm Vintage, Virtual CZ, Arturia Solina V2, Arturia Analog Lab, Waldorf Nave, Synapse Dune 2, UVI Falcon, UVI Grand Piano Type D, AiR Xpand!2, KV331 Synthmaster, Steinberg UR22, Arturia Keylab 49 (Black Edition), Intel i7 2600, 16GB RAM, ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN 3, Windows 10 64bit

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by McBass » Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:25 pm

x2 again...
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Starsprinkler » Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:28 pm

More than one million +1 in less than a day, must be some kind of record... ;-)

Tj99
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Tj99 » Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:08 am

+1 x ∞
Please do not forget about that!

Image
Recording - Mixing - Mastering

keyxmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 6:03 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by keyxmusic » Thu Nov 14, 2019 4:25 pm

yes

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by McBass » Wed Nov 20, 2019 3:57 am

This is a no brainer and should have been there since the beginning. It is one of the biggest workflow killers IMO in mixing. The channel editor with channel strip essentially behaves like this but without the 'pin' feature.
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 672
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:35 am

+1. It's got to be coming next.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Tj99
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Tj99 » Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:42 am

McBass wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 3:57 am
This is a no brainer and should have been there since the beginning. It is one of the biggest workflow killers IMO in mixing. The channel editor with channel strip essentially behaves like this but without the 'pin' feature.
Not sure if it would be a good idea to implement in the channel editor. But lets think about how that could be done.
An idea could be to put a 3rd tab in the middle of the channel editor (where now the channel strip/EQ are), where every opened plugin per track gets displayed. So if you open a plugin window of a particular track, on the left you always see the inserts, and on the right all the sends. And if you want to display the EQ or the Channelstrip you change tab in the middle.
Like that:
But then it would be necessary to also be able to hide certain elements on the channel settings view, and make it scalable. Like Sends, Fader. Just make it more customizable. And everytime you open a plugin window the channel settings window should be opened, otherwise this would not have any sense at all.
But if you compare that to the Studio One approach it also uses more screen space. Not sure what to think about that. If its nice or not, what would you say?
Image
Recording - Mixing - Mastering

User avatar
jordikt
Junior Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:35 pm
Location: Girona
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by jordikt » Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:53 am

+1

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by McBass » Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:24 pm

The window would need to automatically re-size for each plugin as you tab through, so I don't think it would work within the channel editor. I was just pointing out the 'chase selected channel' behavior. I also think for backwards compatibility sake that this needs to be an selectable option in preferences. If users like the old way to open each plugin individually then that should be an option.
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

Tj99
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Tj99 » Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:44 pm

McBass wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:24 pm
The window would need to automatically re-size for each plugin as you tab through, so I don't think it would work within the channel editor.
Well if you'd make the channel editor resizable than this should be possible..
You would of course need to do some changes at the channel editor itself as well.
Recording - Mixing - Mastering

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Starsprinkler » Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:02 pm

Tj99 wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:42 am
Not sure if it would be a good idea to implement in the channel editor.
Nobody wrote that. No, it would not be a good idea, it doesn't make sense.
It would just complicate things; giving a busier view, taking more space, and the need to make adaptions of the channel editor.

The plugin window should be a simple separate window.

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Starsprinkler » Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:04 pm

McBass wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:24 pm
I also think for backwards compatibility sake that this needs to be an selectable option in preferences. If users like the old way to open each plugin individually then that should be an option.
Hmm, maybe. The scenario is that someone wants to open several plugins side by side, instead of tabbing them. On the other hand, you could open them as several tabbed plugin windows side by side.
But if so, and/or using a modifier key to open that way temporarily, without the need to switch preference.
But I'm not sure it's really necessary at all.

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by McBass » Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:47 pm

All fair points. I just want the tabbed implementation that follows track selection. With pinable Windows. This works very well in S1.
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

Tj99
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Tj99 » Mon Nov 25, 2019 6:41 pm

McBass wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:47 pm
All fair points. I just want the tabbed implementation that follows track selection. With pinable Windows. This works very well in S1.
After thinking about that for some days, I think I would like to have more than one tabbed plugin window opened at the same time. Still one tabbed plugin window per track, but I think it makes sense to edit parameters of different tracks simultaneously, without always having to select them before.
"Tabs follow track selection" could be added as a separate preference though.
Recording - Mixing - Mastering

mxrlr
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by mxrlr » Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:28 pm

+1

drmq
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by drmq » Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:14 pm

+1

triton100
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 1:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by triton100 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:55 pm

Yes yes yes yes please - hello mr steinberg - i love you and cubase and please implement something like this or abletons lower third plugin layout.

The advantage with abletons fx plugin lower third functionality though, is that at least you see all the plugins at once - so you select a track and can see all inserts immediately (or collapsed with a vertical heading for each one which expands upon clicking).

With this tab system you kinda don't know what plugin is coming next (unless you have used that plugin chain so often and know the order well). So i can imagine there being a lot of tabbing back and forth till you get the right one you want ie. there's no visual overview of what's coming up next in the chain. Yes you can see it in the left side bar but then if you have to click open the plugin section of the side bar to know what's in the chain you may as well just click the plugin you want while you're there. Abletons method seems much more intuitive and a much tidier UI. What I like about using the lower zoner is that you still get to see what's going in the arrange window rather than have the plugin clutter the screen.

Just an opinion. I'm glad this discussion is bringing forth consensus for change in one way or another :) 👍👌
cubase 10.5.5. latest oSX
macbook pro 16 2019 32 gbs kontakt waves absynth trilian maschine studio komplete ultimate symphony orchestra symphobia

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Tabbed Windows For VSTs & VSTis

Post by Starsprinkler » Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:46 am

Tj99 wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 6:41 pm
"Tabs follow track selection" could be added as a separate preference though.
To be clear, I think this choice or preference - to follow track selection - should be made directly on the tabbed plugin window, rather than in the Preferences window. Because the desired behaviour could change back and forth from one second to the other, so it should be quick and easy to switch.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TheMaestro and 1 guest