Page 1 of 2

Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:12 am
by luiza177
Cubase 9.5 was a huge improvement in terms of workflow for automation. But I'd love to have something like a hybrid between the click/mouse/main and range tools, especially if you could single click even on top of a clip to locate the cursor without having to hold down shift+alt. Similar to what Pro Tools and S1 have.

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:26 pm
by Naked Man on Balcony
+1!!! I hate clicking in the upper half of the tiny bar on top just to postition the cursor. ItΒ΄s such a waste of time. I also get cramps in my mouse hand after a while because itΒ΄s such a small space.

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:13 pm
by TheDude
+1
luiza177 wrote: ↑
Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:12 am
Cubase 9.5 was a huge improvement in terms of workflow for automation. But I'd love to have something like a hybrid between the click/mouse/main and range tools, especially if you could single click even on top of a clip to locate the cursor without having to hold down shift+alt. Similar to what Pro Tools and S1 have.
I agree. This is one of the the features I really miss, since I switched from Pro Tools. Audio editing in Cubase could definitely benefit from some improvements.

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 3:46 pm
by Iftekharul Anam
+1

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:46 pm
by In_Stereo
+1. Requested for years, and not implemented yet. This would make such a major difference in speed and workflow for those who use it. Most DAWs have it, for a very good reason.

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:38 pm
by Quinn3k3
+1

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 8:24 am
by nshtain
+1

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:42 am
by Centralmusic
Would like to have the same behavior like in Pro Tools - without switching tools...

+ 1 !!!!

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:45 am
by HowlingUlf
+1

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:01 pm
by Evertone
+1

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 4:51 pm
by TheDude
+1

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:42 pm
by Norbendo
+ 1

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:23 pm
by shanabit
No need for this at all, what we need is more loops or wiz bang things. Why would you improve speed of the DAW?

Remember, if you DONT ask for it may show up

+1

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:32 am
by Iftekharul Anam
shanabit wrote: ↑
Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:23 pm
No need for this at all, what we need is more loops or wiz bang things. Why would you improve speed of the DAW?

Remember, if you DONT ask for it may show up

+1
πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 10:52 am
by RRFLO17

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:21 am
by Charlemagne
+1

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 3:02 pm
by Pablo1980
+100000

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:13 am
by fbeauvaisc
+1 Assignable mouse modifiers for different contexts like in REAPER.

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:48 pm
by TheDude
fbeauvaisc wrote: ↑
Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:13 am
+1 Assignable mouse modifiers for different contexts like in REAPER.
A simple Grab+Range tool (like in Pro Tools or Studio One) would be more than enough as a starting point, but I do have to agree, that Reaper puts other DAWs to shame in this aspect:
https://youtu.be/hsPDVzDeJck

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 3:23 am
by nexis
+1, I've always wondered why don't we have such a cool feature like this yet...

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:29 am
by Turnicate99
TheDude wrote: ↑
Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:48 pm

A simple Grab+Range tool (like in Pro Tools or Studio One) would be more than enough as a starting point, but I do have to agree, that Reaper puts other DAWs to shame in this aspect:
https://youtu.be/hsPDVzDeJck
+1

Whoah. Reaper puts Cubase deeply to shame with what that video shows (as does Pro Tools, but not to the degree of Reaper). Things like that speed up work by so much it's not even funny.

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 2:54 pm
by Nemeton
+1

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:45 pm
by TheDude
nexis wrote: ↑
Thu Feb 28, 2019 3:23 am
+1, I've always wondered why don't we have such a cool feature like this yet...
Exactly - it is 2019, Cubase is at version 10, Stephen Hawking and Stan Lee are no longer among us (R.I.P.), One Direction is no longer a thing (which I personally don't mind) and we still don't have a Smart Tool.

Dear Steinberg developers - its time to make Cubase great again..

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:36 am
by vanhaze3000
+1000 for Reaper's Mouse Modifiers concept implemenation in Cubase plz.
It' so utterly powerful for fast edit workflows.

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:12 pm
by Tomek
Read carefully Steinberg please!

We need SMART TOOL not New Colour Tool :D