Page 1 of 1

Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 7:41 am
by J Buckingham
To have a dedicated local server that launches automatically with Cubase like VEPro seems like an obvious improvement on workflow for all.
Open an instrument track in Cubase and under the hood it is being loaded into the server, no connecting, just done.
Quick Save (uncoupled)
Normal Save
Server project Save
Have multiple projects running simultaneously, jump between them in a flash. If Cubase crashes you're back up and running in 10 seconds flat.
Unless VSL have the copyright on the whole server concept, I don't see why every DAW doesn't have this.
It wouldn't have to ship with Cubase, it would be an add on. I'd pay for it.

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 8:39 am
by TheMaestro
+1

This has always been obvious for me too, especially after the release of Iconica, for the simple reason that it is unusable without such a server.

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:39 pm
by 44pujol44
+1

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:18 pm
by Home Studio 87
yes...

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:03 pm
by Musicmould
+1.
It would be awesome to be able to use the power of several computers.

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 10:24 pm
by DRDRDR
+1

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:35 am
by suntower
This has been talked about since SX1... in a different context. Namely:

WHY CAN'T I HAVE 2 OR MORE PROJECTS OPEN AT THE SAME TIME?

It's the same technical problem. And before the developers stopped talking to the public (2005ish?) we were told it was impossible given the core code.

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 4:03 am
by 44pujol44
suntower wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:35 am
This has been talked about since SX1... in a different context. Namely:

WHY CAN'T I HAVE 2 OR MORE PROJECTS OPEN AT THE SAME TIME?

It's the same technical problem. And before the developers stopped talking to the public (2005ish?) we were told it was impossible given the core code.
hmmm... maybe as the request mentioned, if it was an add-on, rather than part of cubase, it could be done... Think outside the box Steinberg! Literally, actually...

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 11:11 pm
by reztes
It's a great idea. But they also have to improve how the instrument racks behave (especially the outputs).

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:11 pm
by brycem
Yes, especially if it allowed the server to also act as a dsp farm for vst insert plugins!

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 1:28 pm
by jules
suntower wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:35 am
we were told it was impossible given the core code.
Hmmm... doesn’t seem impossible to vienna ensemble pro...
Great idea, big +1.

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:07 pm
by Hurmpie
+1 I also requested a networked solution before. Not only VEPro but SoundGrid also proves it's not impossible.

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 6:20 pm
by cubace
Seems to be a very good idea, add to that the server run on mighty linux server!

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 7:25 pm
by Stephen57
suntower wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:35 am
This has been talked about since SX1...

told it was impossible given the core code.
impossible given the core code. :(

Sums up Cubase and, most likely, the state of the globe. ;)


+1 to Cubase Server.

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:53 pm
by In_Stereo
GREAT idea, YES!

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 11:47 am
by reztes
Cubase Server would be a GREAT feature for Cubase 11. Let's make it real :)

Re: Why Not a Cubase Server?

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:27 pm
by Hurmpie
To make it wider applicable than Cubase only, how about VST4: VSToE (over ethernet)?