Gain Clipping

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
Post Reply
auggybendoggy
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:40 pm
Contact:

Gain Clipping

Post by auggybendoggy » Wed Sep 18, 2019 3:57 am

Can we get a small icon in the bottom corner of a range - to raise or lower the gain of an audio clip? So much easier than using the audio processes gain.

KHS
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by KHS » Wed Sep 18, 2019 5:28 pm

We already have. Hold your mouse over an audio event and you will see a white dot in the top-middle of the event. Point your mouse to this dot and you can drag the clip gain up/down.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40 - Steinberg UR242 - Windows 10 Latest build - I7-7700K - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo - Corsair MP510 960 GB - Corsair MP510 1920 GB - Samsung 840 EVO 240 GB - Crucial MX300 525 GB.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:01 pm

There's an option in the settings to enable this without selecting the dot, simply using the mouse wheel over the part. That's how I have it set.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080, 2x Presonus Firestudio, Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

auggybendoggy
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by auggybendoggy » Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:20 pm

white dot is for the whole audio clip - my OP is about "in the bottom corner of a range".

Cubase does not do this. See pro tools gain clipping to see what I'm referring to.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by mitchiemasha » Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:54 pm

The only difference is you want to apply this to a range not a part. The work around would be to bounce the range to a new part. I have the return key set up as bounce.

Select the range tool, select a range, press return, return, right click to reselect the pointer, roll the mouse wheel up or down over the new part.

Make sure "Use Mouse Wheel for Event Volume and Faders" is activated in Editing Audio in the Preferences Menu

Alternatively, you could use pre gain automation.

Adjust the Gain of the track (pre section) with W enabled, during playback, a quick way to bring up the automation track for Gain. Select the range on the Audio track, press the down arrow to place the range on the correct automation track (or simply select the range on the automation track), move the mouse to near top of the automation, an Up/Down arrow will appear. Drag Up or Down, Cubase will automatically apply the 2 points at either side of the range, to which you'll get all the extra adjustment controls.

Explaining both methods reads more complicated than they actually are doing it. We may get automation overlayed the audio track soon which will change the need to press down after selecting the range, if preferring to select the range over the audio. I thought there was away to have the automation track to display the wave but I can't seem to find that right now.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080, 2x Presonus Firestudio, Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

KHS
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by KHS » Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:46 pm

auggybendoggy wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:20 pm
white dot is for the whole audio clip - my OP is about "in the bottom corner of a range".

Cubase does not do this. See pro tools gain clipping to see what I'm referring to.
Simple way is to just make cuts. This way you will only clip gain the "new" event.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40 - Steinberg UR242 - Windows 10 Latest build - I7-7700K - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo - Corsair MP510 960 GB - Corsair MP510 1920 GB - Samsung 840 EVO 240 GB - Crucial MX300 525 GB.

GlennO
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by GlennO » Fri Sep 20, 2019 7:02 pm

Yes, all you have to do is cut.

I know PT can do a range, but cut has advantages: it's easier to go back later and make changes when the range has been made permanent into a new event by doing a cut.
Cubase 10, MacOS 10.13, Avid Artist Mix

auggybendoggy
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by auggybendoggy » Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:34 pm

The problem I've read about with cuts is they can create pops/clicks due to the volume/gain change in the 2 different signals. If gain is adjusted w/o the cuts the DAW makes the appropriate adjustments and no pops or clicks are introduced.

Addmitedly, when I tried cutting, i didn't get any pope or clicks in Cubase so maybe C knows what the goal is and achieves it by treating it like one signal.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3670
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by raino » Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:31 pm

auggybendoggy wrote:
Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:34 pm
The problem I've read about with cuts is they can create pops/clicks due to the volume/gain change in the 2 different signals. If gain is adjusted w/o the cuts the DAW makes the appropriate adjustments and no pops or clicks are introduced.

Addmitedly, when I tried cutting, i didn't get any pope or clicks in Cubase so maybe C knows what the goal is and achieves it by treating it like one signal.
I use cuts all over the place and this has never been an issue. And even if this did occur on occasion, it seems to me it's better to fix* that single incident rather than abandon an entire technique because it will *maybe* cause an easily correctable problem.

* probably the easiest fix would be turn off Snap, grab the boundary between the two clips and drag to a slightly different location.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

auggybendoggy
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by auggybendoggy » Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:26 pm

Or maybe simply have a selection that - the center gain dot in the middle of the range - could be applied only to that range. That would be good too.

KHS
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by KHS » Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:59 pm

auggybendoggy wrote:
Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:34 pm
The problem I've read about with cuts is they can create pops/clicks due to the volume/gain change in the 2 different signals. If gain is adjusted w/o the cuts the DAW makes the appropriate adjustments and no pops or clicks are introduced.

Addmitedly, when I tried cutting, i didn't get any pope or clicks in Cubase so maybe C knows what the goal is and achieves it by treating it like one signal.
This is not exactly correct. Making cuts and changing gain or selecting a range and changing gain will do the same thing, both will abrupt the waveform and may or may not introduce pops/clicks (Probably not in both cases). However by making cuts and if you have enabled autofades in Cubase, there will be no pops/clicks for sure as the events are being cross faded automatically.

auggybendoggy wrote:
Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:26 pm
Or maybe simply have a selection that - the center gain dot in the middle of the range - could be applied only to that range. That would be good too.
Or use volume automation as that will function with a selected range.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40 - Steinberg UR242 - Windows 10 Latest build - I7-7700K - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo - Corsair MP510 960 GB - Corsair MP510 1920 GB - Samsung 840 EVO 240 GB - Crucial MX300 525 GB.

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by mozizo » Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:42 am

the pencil tool also modify gain on audio events, but its very old concept and not that intuitive,protools clip gain automation would be the next evolution of the "pencil tool" and with better implementation.basically its an automation within the audio event,it's much better flexible and controllable then cut clip gains for gain changes
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3670
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by raino » Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:54 pm

mozizo wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:42 am
the pencil tool also modify gain on audio events, but its very old concept and not that intuitive,protools clip gain automation would be the next evolution of the "pencil tool" and with better implementation.basically its an automation within the audio event,it's much better flexible and controllable then cut clip gains for gain changes
Hey thanks, I never knew you could do that.

However, it does seem very intuitive to me - draw an automation point and drag it where you want. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Clipping

Post by mozizo » Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:42 pm

raino wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:54 pm
mozizo wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:42 am
the pencil tool also modify gain on audio events, but its very old concept and not that intuitive,protools clip gain automation would be the next evolution of the "pencil tool" and with better implementation.basically its an automation within the audio event,it's much better flexible and controllable then cut clip gains for gain changes
Hey thanks, I never knew you could do that.

However, it does seem very intuitive to me - draw an automation point and drag it where you want. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
haha.. yeah sometimes things are still surprising 8-)
i use the pencil tool here and there, but its not comparable as on protools event gain automation or whatever they call it. it is as convenient to work as a regular automation with range tool etc..the pencil tool is not there yet,you have to make every point and its hard to change and adjust,you cant increase the clip volume'only after you lower it etc...
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kostal and 4 guests