Repeatable Crash

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
Blerg
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Repeatable Crash

Post by Blerg » Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:29 pm

Steps to reproduce:
Open Cubase 10
Open an existing project
Leave Cubase running but close the project
Open the project your just closed
Crash

Crash occurs no matter if you made changes to the project or not, no matter if you save the project before closing or not.

See attached crash dump
Attachments
Cubase 10.0.5.72 64bit 2018.12.4 14.23.dmp
(1.02 MiB) Downloaded 61 times
I9-9900K, ASRock Z390 Taichi, 32 gigs ram, 6tb M.2, 4.5tb SSD, 2xUAD Quad, Octo, Win10 64, RME Madi FX, 3xOrions, 2xSigmas, Convert AD+, ISA and UA preamps. Cubase 10, Wavelab 9.5, instruments, mics etc.

x-pander
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by x-pander » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:49 pm

Nice. I just loaded a lexicon plugin and the whole thing crashed.

chickenstick
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by chickenstick » Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:27 pm

Every time I load Waves TG Mastering Chain in Cubase 10, Cubase crashes. Works fine in Cubase 9.5. My other Waves plugins and other brand plugins seem to be ok in Cubase 10. But I'll do a full test later.
ASUS Prime Z370 MB, 8700K CPU, 32GB 3200mhz RAM, 2 x 970 EVO NVMe SSD, 2 x Seagate Barracuda 2016 HDD, Vantec FW800 pcie card, GTX560. Motu 828mk3 Hybrid. WIN 10 64bit Latest.
Cubase 9.5.41 & Cubase 10.0.10

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21865
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:55 pm

Blerg wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:29 pm
Steps to reproduce:
Open Cubase 10
Open an existing project
Leave Cubase running but close the project
Open the project your just closed
Crash

Crash occurs no matter if you made changes to the project or not, no matter if you save the project before closing or not.

See attached crash dump
Hi,

Unfortunately the crash dump points literally to nothing. In the stack, there is just unknown!noop.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Lasso
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by Lasso » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:57 pm

can't reproduce here. Something may be corrupted in that project?
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21865
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:57 pm

x-pander wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:49 pm
Nice. I just loaded a lexicon plugin and the whole thing crashed.
Hi,

Can you imagine this crash is not in Lexicon? Myself, hardly, I have to say.

Make sure you have the latest update installed, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

x-pander
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by x-pander » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:42 pm

Well it works fine in Cubase 9.5, like everything else i use. So i´d say its Cubase 10.
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:57 pm
x-pander wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:49 pm
Nice. I just loaded a lexicon plugin and the whole thing crashed.
Hi,

Can you imagine this crash is not in Lexicon? Myself, hardly, I have to say.

Make sure you have the latest update installed, please.

chickenstick
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by chickenstick » Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:13 am

chickenstick wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:27 pm
Every time I load Waves TG Mastering Chain in Cubase 10, Cubase crashes. Works fine in Cubase 9.5. My other Waves plugins and other brand plugins seem to be ok in Cubase 10. But I'll do a full test later.
Wave got back to me in regards to this problem. They recommend I delete some specific files and reinstall the problem plug-in and restart.

This fixed my problem, thanks Waves.
ASUS Prime Z370 MB, 8700K CPU, 32GB 3200mhz RAM, 2 x 970 EVO NVMe SSD, 2 x Seagate Barracuda 2016 HDD, Vantec FW800 pcie card, GTX560. Motu 828mk3 Hybrid. WIN 10 64bit Latest.
Cubase 9.5.41 & Cubase 10.0.10

Blerg
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by Blerg » Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:12 am

Lasso and Martin,

Just noticed you're both on a mac. I wonder if its only in the Windows 10 version? Thanks for trying though.
I9-9900K, ASRock Z390 Taichi, 32 gigs ram, 6tb M.2, 4.5tb SSD, 2xUAD Quad, Octo, Win10 64, RME Madi FX, 3xOrions, 2xSigmas, Convert AD+, ISA and UA preamps. Cubase 10, Wavelab 9.5, instruments, mics etc.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21865
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:59 am

Blerg wrote:
Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:12 am
Just noticed you're both on a mac. I wonder if its only in the Windows 10 version? Thanks for trying though.
Hi,

I just tested it on Windows. Same result here, no crash.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Rockefeller313
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 1:37 am
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by Rockefeller313 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:47 pm

Windows 10 October Update here.

Cubase 10 crashes when I open any iLok protected plugin or any 9.5 project that contains such plugins

If I run Cubase 10 in Windows 8 compatibility this problem gets solved, but another two new bugs appear:
- eLicenser doesn't have enough permisions to run properly (even running as administrator)
- Disk preload peaks on playback

Cubase 10 is completely useless for me. I cannot work with Slate Digital, Softube or Antares stuff.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21865
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:43 pm

Hi,
Rockefeller313 wrote:
Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:47 pm
Cubase 10 crashes when I open any iLok protected plugin or any 9.5 project that contains such plugins
Try to run iLok application (if there is anything like this) as an Administrator and try to sync with server. Also make sure all licenses are valid.
Rockefeller313 wrote:
Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:47 pm
- eLicenser doesn't have enough permisions to run properly (even running as administrator)
Start eLCC as an Administrator and click to Maintenance. This is an known issue. Windows updates corrupt the Soft-eLCC.
Rockefeller313 wrote:
Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:47 pm
Cubase 10 is completely useless for me. I cannot work with Slate Digital, Softube or Antares stuff.
These are an known issues. As far as I know the plug-in vendors are informed already. Of course, you can inform them too.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by ca-booter » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:23 am

Same here since last week. I am working on the same project, open it in C10, can work in it for the whole day, but then close it, and try to re-open, crash.......
So bad that Cubase 10 does not restart even, crashes on start. I have to reboot my PC. Then start C10 and open that same project without any problems.
I still can open that same project in C9.5.41, that does not have any such problems.
Must say C10 worked just fine the first weeks, but now I am having lots of crashes and bad ones, have to reboot everytime, which is becoming really annoying.
I also got a couple of crashdumps which are more than 200mB(!). I am glad I know where they are stored cause that takes up a lot of space on my C-drive.
I could add my latest crashdump, but that is also 46 Mb, don't know if that is possible here.
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |W10-Pro 1909 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 10.5.12 | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 |SuperiorDrummer 3 | Yamaha-Steinberg N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C + Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II, Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2*EQP-KT

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21865
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:07 am

Hi,

Please share the dmps via Dropbox or similar.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by ca-booter » Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:01 pm

Thanks Martin,

here are 2 crashdumps.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/191twbe54yi0 ... btpoa?dl=0

edit:
After doing some tests I know now that I can re-open that same project time after time after working in it, as long as I do not close C10(and it does not crash during working which is seldom).
But closign the project and then closing Cubase, start it up again and loading that same project, Cubase crashes.
And will not start anymore untul I reboot the computer.
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |W10-Pro 1909 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 10.5.12 | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 |SuperiorDrummer 3 | Yamaha-Steinberg N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C + Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II, Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2*EQP-KT

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21865
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:20 pm

ca-booter wrote:
Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:01 pm
Thanks Martin,

here are 2 crashdumps.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/191twbe54yi0 ... btpoa?dl=0

edit:
After doing some tests I know now that I can re-open that same project time after time after working in it, as long as I do not close C10(and it does not crash during working which is seldom).
But closign the project and then closing Cubase, start it up again and loading that same project, Cubase crashes.
And will not start anymore untul I reboot the computer.
Hi,

I'm afraid the crash dumps are corrupted some 3rd party application. Why the files don't use common Steinberg dmp naming? Why are they so big? And they look somehow weird.

When I resolved them, none of them pointed to anything related to Cubase or a plug-in.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by ca-booter » Wed Dec 12, 2018 9:07 am

Hi Martin.
I found out those large dumpfilesfiles are Windows crashdumps.
The Steinberg ones are in a different location, I was wrong about that. But I did not found C10 examples yet. Cause of it will be my fresh install I did yesterday. If there is a new dumpfile I will post it at once. Thanks!
Last edited by ca-booter on Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |W10-Pro 1909 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 10.5.12 | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 |SuperiorDrummer 3 | Yamaha-Steinberg N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C + Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II, Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2*EQP-KT

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by ca-booter » Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:00 am

Hi Martin,

Here is a dumpfile made just now. I opened my project which I am working on for days now, and while closing it, Cubase crashes.
By the way this is very rare, mostly it closes just fine, and then after trying to re-open it, or closing Cubase and restart it, then it crashes.
Attachments
Cubase 10.0.5.72 64bit 2018.12.12 11.15.dmp
(971.96 KiB) Downloaded 37 times
Cubase 10.0.5.72 64bit 2018.12.12 9.56.dmp
(1.01 MiB) Downloaded 45 times
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |W10-Pro 1909 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 10.5.12 | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 |SuperiorDrummer 3 | Yamaha-Steinberg N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C + Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II, Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2*EQP-KT

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21865
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:55 am

Hi,

Both crashes are the same and I saw them in one of your previoues post, already. It points to the libmmd. It's some Windows library. Could you please investigate and try to update it or fix it on your side?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Repeatable Crash

Post by ca-booter » Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:20 pm

Thanks Martin.
However I did not attached any dump file of C10 in an earlier post, these are my first two.
I do not know what this windows file is, but I will look into it.
My W7 is totally up to date I must say, I always install every update.
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |W10-Pro 1909 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 10.5.12 | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 |SuperiorDrummer 3 | Yamaha-Steinberg N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C + Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II, Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2*EQP-KT

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Rohan74 and 5 guests