Generic Remote Transmit Issue

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
ScottStick
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:32 am
Contact:

Generic Remote Transmit Issue

Post by ScottStick » Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:39 am

Hi guys,

I'm hoping someone may have an answer to this issue.

I've set up the Generic Remote to both receive and transmit MIDI data for various VST Mixer, Transport, MIDI Mixer and Command functions. All of the functions work as expected when receiving MIDI data on the assigned MIDI In port, but only the VST Mixer, Transport and MIDI Mixer functions will transmit MIDI data on the assigned MIDI Out port. For some reason, none of the Command functions will transmit any data at all. Is there a reason for this, or am I missing something important?

Any and all suggestions are gratefully received!

Cheers.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21989
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote Transmit Issue

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:47 am

Hi and welcome,

I get a Transmit back from the Transport > Device > Start.

What kind of command explicitly is not working to you, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ScottStick
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:32 am
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote Transmit Issue

Post by ScottStick » Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:25 am

Hi Martin,

Thanks for your response, it's greatly appreciated.

None of the Command > Tools>; Command > Add Track >; Command > Quantize Category>; Command > Edit >; Command > Window Zones > and Command > Zoom > options will transmit the assigned MIDI note, but they all receive MIDI and execute as expected.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21989
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote Transmit Issue

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:41 am

Hi,

Right, these commands don't transmit the signal, you are right. Only commands where the Product Owners expect some practical visual feedback on a HW controller transmit the message out.

I agree I can imagine practical use even for these commands.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ScottStick
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:32 am
Contact:

Re: Generic Remote Transmit Issue

Post by ScottStick » Wed Dec 19, 2018 11:59 pm

Hi Martin,

That's what I was afraid of! It's a pity - I was hoping I could get this kind of functionality for the work I'm doing for my PhD. I'm going to think of a workaround if I can!

Thanks for your help - it's been really helpful.

Scott.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lovegames and 2 guests