Page 1 of 3

[Confirmed] [CAN-23727] Midi "Record Enable" notes being reset (10.0.30 Bug)

Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 7:44 pm
by Evertone
Just discovered a new bug introduced in 10.0.30 that is not present in 10.0.20 and prior versions(tested).

sound is being cut off when enabling/disabling the Record Enable button on an Instrument/Midi track. This is terrible if you have long midi notes and switch to a different midi track with record enable(preference or manually).

Please take a look at the issue here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/w0yfy2q4b2btj ... g.mov?dl=0

1. Create an instrument track and load an Instrument.
2. Record a take with long midi notes.
3. Play the track and press the Record Enable button on the track.
4. Midi notes sound gets cut off(no sound).

I'm surprised that no one else has noticed this as it cuts off the sound of the midi tracks completely. The only way to get the sound back is to let it loop or stop and then hit play again.

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:05 am
by cubic13
Confirmed here. I don't know if it was already happening with 10.0.20 but something is sure : it is NOT happening with 9.5.50. I have just tested it and, with the latter, you can freely select another track without any sound interruption, this, no matter how the Enable record on selected MIDI track option is set. Two additional observations :

- When there are several notes with a certain durations recorded at different times, if we select another track, this strange sound interruption occurs, but if we select the involved track back again and there are still notes to be read, these will be played.
- The sound interruption also occurs if we enable/disable few times the record on the same track without even selecting another, this, no matter how the Enable record on selected MIDI track option is set. And this is also NOT happening with 9.5.50...

So, it seems that there is a regression here compared to 9.5.50, as if there were "note off" events occuring on all notes played when the Record button is passing from an enabled to disabled state. It indeed needs a quick fix, IMO. :?

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:48 pm
by JeeTee
Confirmed here too.
This is really unacceptable. There should be an instant patch fix for this - no waiting around for months till 10.0.40.
This is CORE FUNCTIONALITY that is NOT functioning.
Till then, looks like I'm going back to 9.5.50 to actually get some work done.

EDIT - I just checked: this issue was introduced by the latest update. 10.0.20 functions as expected.

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:15 pm
by Evertone
cubic13 wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:05 am
- When there are several notes with a certain durations recorded at different times, if we select another track, this strange sound interruption occurs, but if we select the involved track back again and there are still notes to be read, these will be played.
- The sound interruption also occurs if we enable/disable few times the record on the same track without even selecting another, this, no matter how the Enable record on selected MIDI track option is set. And this is also NOT happening with 9.5.50...
Good observations!! Thanks
JeeTee wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:48 pm
This is CORE FUNCTIONALITY that is NOT functioning.
Exactly! This should have never gotten passed the beta testing.

This needs a fix asap as it interrupts playback big time. I already submitted the issue to support and I highly suggest that we all do to get Steinberg to look into quickly.

I might just have to go back to 10.0.20 until it's fixed. :(

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:08 pm
by peakae
But enabling record also disables asioguard on that instrument.
What happens if you turn off asio guard, and test again.

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:58 pm
by cubic13
peakae wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:08 pm
But enabling record also disables asioguard on that instrument.
What happens if you turn off asio guard, and test again.
I just tested it, deactivating ASIO guard in the Studio setup window : exactly the same results...

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:01 pm
by Evertone
peakae wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:08 pm
What happens if you turn off asio guard, and test again.
Nothing. The issue remains. I spent quite a bit of time testing it out in all kinds of ways with no solution.

It almost seems like there is something in the code that is resetting midi notes to off when disengaging the "record Enable button".

If one uses the "Reset" under Midi->Reset from the main menu bar, you'll get the same behavior. Strange

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:14 pm
by Accel0001
CC123 (All Notes Off) is sent.
Record Enable Button and CC123.gif
(61.03 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:18 pm
by cubic13
Accel0001 wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:14 pm
CC123 (All Notes Off) is sent.
Record Enable Button and CC123.gif
Good catch ! Now, I would like someone from the Steinberg team to chime in, just to explain this behavior. Just hope that this isn't a new hidden 'feature'... :?

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:25 pm
by Evertone
Accel0001 wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:14 pm
CC123 (All Notes Off) is sent.
Record Enable Button and CC123.gif
Yes, nice!

So now we know what the problem is.

I can't imagine anyone who would like this to be default, especially those who work with orchestral libraries.

Let's hope this is not by design, cause it would be a really dumb one.
cubic13 wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:18 pm
Now, I would like someone from the Steinberg team to chime in, just to explain this behavior. Just hope that this isn't a new hidden 'feature'... :?
Yes, same here. This needs to be addressed regardless.

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 1:03 am
by JeeTee
Bump.
Of all the Cubase 10 issues I've seen, this is the most disturbing one, as there is no workaround.
I wonder whether Martin Jirsak could confirm this as a bug?

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 7:14 am
by umfufu
Noticing this same issue as well. It's very distracting.

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:37 am
by whitewasteland
Another voice for an option to turn off this feature quickly ! This thing is driving me crazy. Workflow killer.

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:06 pm
by Pablo1980
Can we get an official statement from steinberg?, this is a bug that needs a hotfix ASAP

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 6:23 pm
by bighong
God i thought i accidently hit something on preference. but good to know it's happening for everyone. This is no good at all. come on, cubase! it's driving me crazy. totally messed up my workflow.

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 6:55 pm
by Stephen57
JeeTee wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:48 pm
Confirmed here too.
This is really unacceptable. There should be an instant patch fix for this - no waiting around for months till 10.0.40.
This is CORE FUNCTIONALITY that is NOT functioning.
Till then, looks like I'm going back to 9.5.50 to actually get some work done.

EDIT - I just checked: this issue was introduced by the latest update. 10.0.20 functions as expected.
It did happen sometimes in previous version. I started with Pro 8 and had there were some minor drop out and timing glitches. Now, nearly every move causes a drop out. IMHO, as it is right now, it is not possible to Produce, Record or Mix in Cubase.

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 6:57 pm
by JeeTee
Let's hope that Mr Hans Zimmer is using 10.0.30, and finds out about this. It might get fixed rather quickly if he does!

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 6:59 pm
by Stephen57
Accel0001 wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:14 pm
CC123 (All Notes Off) is sent.
Record Enable Button and CC123.gif
Good grief! :-(

Have you checked other items -- Listen Bus, Solo/Unsolo, Bypass/Unbypass? I'm getting glitches and drop out with nearly every and any move in Cubase Pro 10.0.3

I had not thought to check this with MIDI Monitor. I'll have a look. :-( This is so bad :-(

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:25 pm
by Rob Elliott
Same issue here. Disappointed.

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:35 pm
by esuccess
The same problem, I hope the steinberg team to solve as soon as possible, the current work is greatly affected. :cry: :cry:

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 3:01 pm
by JeeTee
So.... does anyone know - is this the way Cubase is now designed to behave?
Or is this a bug?

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 4:02 pm
by cubic13
This other report is obviously related. So, it seems as it's being considered as a bug.

Now, let's see how much time the fix will need...

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 7:09 pm
by Evertone
JeeTee wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 3:01 pm
So.... does anyone know - is this the way Cubase is now designed to behave?
Or is this a bug?
I doubt it.This is a bug indeed.

It also cuts off the sound when opening the editor on midi events when double clicking so it would not make intellect sense to make this happen by design.

Unless Steinberg made this change intentionally and is being hush about it.

Either a fix or a preference is needed quickly. Crossing my fingers!

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:00 pm
by MrSoundman
(N.B. subsequently edited to make corrections based on further tests)

OK there is something very weird going on here. Here, the "note choking" isn't happening with external MIDI instruments, but it's like there's some kind of reset (other than CC123) being sent, because MIDI expanders that I've set up with sysex are going mute.

I havent' gotten to the bottom of this yet, but what's happening with one of my external MIDI instruments is, with playback running, I record-enable a track (it keeps playing) and everything is OK, but if I then stop playback and restart, the drum channel (on MIDI channel 10) is gone -- this is a channel I set up with sysex at the start of playback. I have to go to zero and start playback again (which sends the sysex to the expander again).

I'll keep investigating (while thinking, why should I have to do this debugging?).

[UPDATE:] just stopping and starting playback makes the external MIDI expanders reset. Nuts! (not true -- corrected)
[UPDATE:] OK it was partly an issue with the MIDI part, which was imported from an SMF I was sent, so not so bad.
[UPDATE:] confirmed the issue described also happens with external MIDI, CC123 is being sent when the record-enable button is turned off.

In a MIDI sequencer, this is a show-stopper bug. :x

Re: Midi "Record Enable" No Sound bug (10.0.30)

Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 10:23 am
by Bhavik Patel
Same thing happens in Editor it self.
if we enable Record in Editor.
this is really distracting and Workflow KILLER...

Please Steinberg.... Fix it ASAP.