One vst synth = half the cpu power ?

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
User avatar
dj5000
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 9:49 am
Contact:

One vst synth = half the cpu power ?

Post by dj5000 » Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:43 am

hi'

I have a weird issue.
Obviously, I've checked with the Task manager and the resource manager, there's no heavy cpu load, plenty of memory.
windows and drivers are updated, SMART indicating all harddrives healthy.
Running cubase, recording, all good. Yet, playing one chord on Sylenth1, Padshop2 or Vacuum, Massive X, Retrolog, or any vsti, and it jumps over 50% !
Few seconds of play time and it's all lagging like crazy.

Now, I have a fairly good PC, it should handle a couple of vsts, doesn't it?
Any idea what is wrong ?
DJ5000
Music IS Life.

Intel I9-7920 2.9GHz, 64GB DDR4, 10Tb total storage including 256Gb SSD (Samsung 970) as C:
4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti, ROG STRIX X299-E GAMING, Roland OCTA-CAPTURE, PreSonus AudioBox
iOne, Cubase 10.5 Pro, Windows 10 x64 1809

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 672
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: One vst synth = half the cpu power ?

Post by mitchiemasha » Sat Dec 28, 2019 10:47 am

What's the asio buffer set to and what speed was the CPU at when you checked?
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
dj5000
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 9:49 am
Contact:

Re: One vst synth = half the cpu power ?

Post by dj5000 » Sat Dec 28, 2019 12:36 pm

mitchiemasha wrote:
Sat Dec 28, 2019 10:47 am
What's the asio buffer set to and what speed was the CPU at when you checked?
CPU IS 3700, always.
block/buffer on 1024
DJ5000
Music IS Life.

Intel I9-7920 2.9GHz, 64GB DDR4, 10Tb total storage including 256Gb SSD (Samsung 970) as C:
4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti, ROG STRIX X299-E GAMING, Roland OCTA-CAPTURE, PreSonus AudioBox
iOne, Cubase 10.5 Pro, Windows 10 x64 1809

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests