MediaBay not always retaining user entered data

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
lovegames
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

MediaBay not always retaining user entered data

Post by lovegames » Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:14 pm

10.0.4

Image

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19857
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: MediaBay not always retaining user entered data

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:58 pm

Hi,

Do you have the rights to write to this folder where the samples are stored?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

lovegames
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: MediaBay not always retaining user entered data

Post by lovegames » Mon Jan 27, 2020 2:14 am

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:58 pm
Hi,

Do you have the rights to write to this folder where the samples are stored?
yeah I fixed it by restarting the program, maybe was just a once-off problem.

lovegames
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: MediaBay not always retaining user entered data

Post by lovegames » Mon Jan 27, 2020 4:41 am

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:58 pm
Hi,

Do you have the rights to write to this folder where the samples are stored?
Hmm, probably actually seems to be recurring but not always. it's intermittent and I think it has something to do with 'Include Subfolders' button.
Image

lovegames
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: MediaBay not always retaining user entered data

Post by lovegames » Mon Jan 27, 2020 5:01 am

this has narrowed it down more

it seems it occurs when there are
a.) a series of sub-folders
b.) 'Include Subfolders' is on or off when the information is entered...

Image

lovegames
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: MediaBay not always retaining user entered data

Post by lovegames » Mon Jan 27, 2020 5:24 am

2nd problem related to the 'include sub-folders' button:

Image

*edit*

It seems rescanning fixes this 2nd problem, but it is recurring. not sure what causes it and why rescanning fixes. the other problem persists despite rescans.
Image

Grada
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MediaBay not always retaining user entered data

Post by Grada » Mon Jan 27, 2020 8:39 pm

I stumbled on some samples that doesn't remember tags, like there is some kind protection (but its not file write protection) I solve it by batch re-save (Just load them in some program and save as with same type and details like original) I am using Reaper for that :)
Cubase 9.5- Latest - Windows 10 - intel i7-4790k - Asus Maximus VII Hero - RAM: 32GB - EVGA GTX 950 SC, RME HDSPe AIO

Null Test Bug viewtopic.php?f=250&t=117331
Noise Floor Issue viewtopic.php?f=250&t=134316&p=728526#p728526

Vinylizor
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:33 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: MediaBay not always retaining user entered data

Post by Vinylizor » Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:41 am

There are some older .aif files I have in my sample library that Cubase (and Wavelab) won't import or play, yet my other sample players and OSX finder recognises them perfectly ok.
C10.5
Antelope Orion 32+ Thunderbolt
Core Audio driver
Mac Pro 6,1 3 GHz 10-Core Intel Xeon E5 64Gb Ram 1TB HD
OSX 10.14

lovegames
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: MediaBay not always retaining user entered data

Post by lovegames » Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:24 am

Vinylizor wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:41 am
There are some older .aif files I have in my sample library that Cubase (and Wavelab) won't import or play, yet my other sample players and OSX finder recognises them perfectly ok.
All of my files are .wavs and are relatively new, or are new as of a few days ago.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest