Automation events created on manipulating automation

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Post Reply
QuintessenceMusic
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 2:19 pm
Contact:

Automation events created on manipulating automation

Post by QuintessenceMusic » Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:52 pm

Hey!

I love Nuendo 10! Awesome release guys! Thanks!

One 'bug' that is still present in Nuendo 10 - It got introduced in Nuendo 8.2 - has to do with editing automation. It's a bit complex to explain without getting wordy so I made a video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hDoFGsX ... e=youtu.be

I'll try and do a short explanation in text:
In Nuendo 8.1 and before you could edit automation in 2 ways. The first was to select the points you wanted to edit with the Object Selection tool, "Tilt", "Scale", or "Compress" the material and any automation before or after the selected events would be 'bent' towards the new position of your starting or ending points (or 'Automation Events'), making sure the entire automation pass remained fluent.

The second was to make a selection using the Range Selection tool instead. Any editing done would work identical but by using the range selection tool Nuendo puts an extra point (or Automation Event) before and/or after your selection making sure any automation data before or after the selected events would not be altered in any way, in essence isolating outlying parts from your editting.

Super usefull to have these two options, and I used them both a lot! Since 8.2 however, using the Object Selection tool exhibits the same behavior as the range selection tool. When using "Tilt", "Scale", or "Compress" to edit the automation, it creates extra points (or Automation Events) at the start and/or ending of your edit. Points you have to then manually remove (and are easy to overlook and miss resulting in unintended jumps in automation) if you want the automation to resolve with your edit fluently.

I use automation a lot so getting this remedied is something that would make me very happy.

Cheers!

stingray
Senior Member
Posts: 1046
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: Automation events created on manipulating automation

Post by stingray » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:46 am

QuintessenceMusic wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:52 pm
Super usefull to have these two options, and I used them both a lot! Since 8.2 however, using the Object Selection tool exhibits the same behavior as the range selection tool. When using "Tilt", "Scale", or "Compress" to edit the automation, it creates extra points (or Automation Events) at the start and/or ending of your edit. Points you have to then manually remove (and are easy to overlook and miss resulting in unintended jumps in automation) if you want the automation to resolve with your edit fluently.
I too preferred having the different behaviour between the two tools. It's a pity they changed this detail. There's a workaround when changing the level... simply select the automation points with the object selection tool and drag up or down from one of the automation points (holding down control to make sure the events don't move). i don't know a solution for tilt. (There may be other workarounds or different workflows).

Crispin
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation events created on manipulating automation

Post by Crispin » Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 pm

+1

Graveley
Junior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: Automation events created on manipulating automation

Post by Graveley » Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:12 am

Yes please. So much better before..
N10 Windows 7

QuintessenceMusic
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation events created on manipulating automation

Post by QuintessenceMusic » Fri Jun 21, 2019 11:40 am

stingray wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:46 am
QuintessenceMusic wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:52 pm
Super usefull to have these two options, and I used them both a lot! Since 8.2 however, using the Object Selection tool exhibits the same behavior as the range selection tool. When using "Tilt", "Scale", or "Compress" to edit the automation, it creates extra points (or Automation Events) at the start and/or ending of your edit. Points you have to then manually remove (and are easy to overlook and miss resulting in unintended jumps in automation) if you want the automation to resolve with your edit fluently.
I too preferred having the different behaviour between the two tools. It's a pity they changed this detail. There's a workaround when changing the level... simply select the automation points with the object selection tool and drag up or down from one of the automation points (holding down control to make sure the events don't move). i don't know a solution for tilt. (There may be other workarounds or different workflows).
Glad I'm not alone on this! :D

Thanks for the tip stingray, I found this and some other cluncky workarounds but it still takes the wind out of my sails while editing a lot of times...

popflier
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:41 am
Contact:

Re: Automation events created on manipulating automation

Post by popflier » Thu Jul 11, 2019 11:06 am

stingray wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:46 am
I too preferred having the different behaviour between the two tools. It's a pity they changed this detail. There's a workaround when changing the level... simply select the automation points with the object selection tool and drag up or down from one of the automation points (holding down control to make sure the events don't move). i don't know a solution for tilt. (There may be other workarounds or different workflows).
THANK YOU so much for this tip! It is absolutely driving me insane that they changed the drag up/down behavior to add extra points. I've been spending hours moving everything point by point and it's incredibly frustrating.

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation events created on manipulating automation

Post by fuzzydude » Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:12 am

+1
Comps+OS: Macbook Pro's 10.13.6 I PC's - i7's - M2's - SSD's I Win10 Pro x64 (V-1903) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

QuintessenceMusic
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation events created on manipulating automation

Post by QuintessenceMusic » Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:13 pm

Ahh I posted about this issue before and did not really get a response. I was affraid I was alone, but it turns out I'm not the only one to have this issue!

Cheers guys, let's hope they fix it.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest