import key commands from N8

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Post Reply
maddison
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:39 pm
Contact:

import key commands from N8

Post by maddison » Wed Apr 24, 2019 8:43 pm

When I try to import the key command file from N8 (which is an .XML file) N10 says "that is not a key command file". It's looking for a .key file. Any ideas for a workaround? Is this supposed to be this way?

maddison
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: import key commands from N8

Post by maddison » Wed Apr 24, 2019 8:51 pm

Addendum: In the appdata/roaming/N10, Key commands is still an XML file. No .key files anywhere.

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: import key commands from N8

Post by twelvetwelve » Wed Apr 24, 2019 8:56 pm

.key files are an old holdover from Nuendo 1 days. No idea why that still exists. Copy the XML across.

maddison
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: import key commands from N8

Post by maddison » Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:08 pm

twelvetwelve wrote:
Wed Apr 24, 2019 8:56 pm
.key files are an old holdover from Nuendo 1 days. No idea why that still exists. Copy the XML across.
Could you please explain how to do that? And many thanks if this is the answer!

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: import key commands from N8

Post by twelvetwelve » Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:21 pm

Not sure if you're on PC or Mac but on PC copy the file from your N8 folder into C:\Users\%USERNAME%\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Nuendo 10_64\Presets\KeyCommands

You should then just be able to load them in via the KC window although N10 should have migrated your N8 data folder over (key commands included).

maddison
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: import key commands from N8

Post by maddison » Thu Apr 25, 2019 2:31 am

twelvetwelve wrote:
Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:21 pm
Not sure if you're on PC or Mac but on PC copy the file from your N8 folder into C:\Users\%USERNAME%\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Nuendo 10_64\Presets\KeyCommands

You should then just be able to load them in via the KC window although N10 should have migrated your N8 data folder over (key commands included).
Yes, that's the way I understood it. I copied the N8 key commands XML file into the N10 Appdata/Roaming/Steinberg/N10 folder. Overwrote the one that was there. N10 still opens with its own set of Key commands, and when I try to import the XML file in the KC dialogue, it says "Not a .Key File!"

In the past, I've done what you suggested for each successive upgrade (starting with N2, I believe!). This is the first time it hasn't worked. I'm stymied. Thanks for your advice, though.

Also, just FYI, N10 did not migrate the data over; none of it. And didn't prompt me for migration files.

andyoc
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:19 pm
Contact:

Re: import key commands from N8

Post by andyoc » Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:48 am

Just the opposite experience here.
All the Data, including Key Commands, migrated from N8 to N10.

Just checking....when you copied the N8 KC xml to the N10 folder, did you then restart Nuendo10?
PC1 i9 9900X/128G/RME MADI Express
PC2 i7 4790k/32G/VSL Symph
PC3 i7 6700k/16G/RME Raydat/VSL Symph


Nuendo 10.0.20 /Cubase 10.0.30/ Wavelab 9.5.1/SSL Alpha Link MADI AX/Mackie MCU/NI Maschine Mk 2/VSL Ensemble PRO 6.0.15415/Superior Drummer 3/Omnisphere/Trillian/Stylus RMX :: Roland 5080, 3080, 5050, Yamaha Motif 8, MotRack ES, XS, XF :: Komplete Ultimate 12 :: EZ Keys

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: import key commands from N8

Post by fuzzydude » Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:08 am

andyoc wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:48 am
Just the opposite experience here.
All the Data, including Key Commands, migrated from N8 to N10.
Same here
Comps+OS: Macbook Pro's 10.13.6 I PC's - i7's - M2's - SSD's I Win10 Pro x64 (V-1903) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

andyoc
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:19 pm
Contact:

Re: import key commands from N8

Post by andyoc » Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:25 am

maddison wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 2:31 am
Yes, that's the way I understood it. I copied the N8 key commands XML file into the N10 Appdata/Roaming/Steinberg/N10 folder. Overwrote the one that was there. N10 still opens with its own set of Key commands, and when I try to import the XML file in the KC dialogue, it says "Not a .Key File!"

In the past, I've done what you suggested for each successive upgrade (starting with N2, I believe!). This is the first time it hasn't worked. I'm stymied. Thanks for your advice, though.

Also, just FYI, N10 did not migrate the data over; none of it. And didn't prompt me for migration files.
Again, just checking....
N8 stuff is in "Appdata/Roaming/Steinberg/Nuendo 8_64"?
N10 stuff is in "Appdata/Roaming/Steinberg/Nuendo 10_64"?

The main "Key Commands.xml" file goes in at this level, not in the "Presets/KeyCommands" folder?
PC1 i9 9900X/128G/RME MADI Express
PC2 i7 4790k/32G/VSL Symph
PC3 i7 6700k/16G/RME Raydat/VSL Symph


Nuendo 10.0.20 /Cubase 10.0.30/ Wavelab 9.5.1/SSL Alpha Link MADI AX/Mackie MCU/NI Maschine Mk 2/VSL Ensemble PRO 6.0.15415/Superior Drummer 3/Omnisphere/Trillian/Stylus RMX :: Roland 5080, 3080, 5050, Yamaha Motif 8, MotRack ES, XS, XF :: Komplete Ultimate 12 :: EZ Keys

maddison
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: import key commands from N8

Post by maddison » Thu Apr 25, 2019 2:12 pm

andyoc wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:48 am
Just the opposite experience here.
All the Data, including Key Commands, migrated from N8 to N10.

Just checking....when you copied the N8 KC xml to the N10 folder, did you then restart Nuendo10?
Yes, I did. I'm going to try re-installing N10. Thanks

User avatar
TheBongman
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 3:11 am
Location: Santiago, Chile
Contact:

Re: import key commands from N8

Post by TheBongman » Fri May 03, 2019 1:10 pm

You just need to reload the key commands! Just select it again in the Presets dropdown menu.
Rodrigo Sepúlveda
N10 | N8.3 | Cubasis | Intel i7 | 32 GB | MR816csx | UR22mkII | Euphonix MC Mix & Control | Genelec 1030A + 1092A - 5.1
Halion | HSO | iZotope RX | NI Komplete Ultimate | EastWest Composer Cloud | +++

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests