Downmix from 3D formats not working: My fault - or bug?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Dietz
Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Vienna / Europe
Contact:

Downmix from 3D formats not working: My fault - or bug?

Post by Dietz » Tue Apr 30, 2019 7:41 pm

Hi all,

can someone with a 3D setup please check if the downmix to 2D formats works as expected? I always thought that must have been doing something wrong in NU8, but now I run into the same issue in NU10: Although the Mix Convert settings are correct, no signal form the top layer appears in the downmix. 5.1, stereo, mono - the actual target format makes no difference.
NU_3D-DownmixBug.png
(95.97 KiB) Not downloaded yet
TIA,
/Dietz

| audio | engineering | music | production |
| soundware | development |

| Nuendo versions from 5.5.6 to 10.0.2 | on various systems and platforms |
| Steinberg user since the 80ies | Nuendo user and forum member since 2000 |

User avatar
Dietz
Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Vienna / Europe
Contact:

Re: Downmix from 3D formats not working: My fault - or bug?

Post by Dietz » Mon May 06, 2019 8:55 pm

... just asking again ... is this a reproducible issue?
/Dietz

| audio | engineering | music | production |
| soundware | development |

| Nuendo versions from 5.5.6 to 10.0.2 | on various systems and platforms |
| Steinberg user since the 80ies | Nuendo user and forum member since 2000 |

User avatar
Dietz
Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Vienna / Europe
Contact:

Re: Downmix from 3D formats not working: My fault - or bug?

Post by Dietz » Wed May 15, 2019 1:50 pm

I final *bump* without high expectations .... 8-/ ... this issue is not easy to work-around, actually, especially in the Control Room's monitor section.
/Dietz

| audio | engineering | music | production |
| soundware | development |

| Nuendo versions from 5.5.6 to 10.0.2 | on various systems and platforms |
| Steinberg user since the 80ies | Nuendo user and forum member since 2000 |

dust
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Downmix from 3D formats not working: My fault - or bug?

Post by dust » Sat May 18, 2019 8:30 am

I don’t have a 3D setup yet but will probably upgrade from 5.1 to 5.1.4 later this year. But I’ve been experimenting with ambisonics for a year now and got the nice Stratus 3D reverb some weeks ago. And with that I’ve been seeing something very similar. Should be pretty easy to reproduce.

User avatar
Dietz
Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Vienna / Europe
Contact:

Re: Downmix from 3D formats not working: My fault - or bug?

Post by Dietz » Sun May 19, 2019 1:13 am

Thanks a lot for the verification!

That's is quite a problem, especially in case of monitoring. I could manually work around this bug somehow for an actual down-mix for delivery, but this is cumbersome to achieve in Nuendo's Control Room. Thing is that I have several stereo monitoring systems, but just one 3D setup, so I absolutely _need_ a proper down-mix when switching to other monitors for comparison.
/Dietz

| audio | engineering | music | production |
| soundware | development |

| Nuendo versions from 5.5.6 to 10.0.2 | on various systems and platforms |
| Steinberg user since the 80ies | Nuendo user and forum member since 2000 |

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jorge Ruiz and 4 guests