Auto Fade Settings

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Post Reply
hendrix97
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:27 pm
Contact:

Auto Fade Settings

Post by hendrix97 » Thu May 02, 2019 11:50 am

Opening the "Auto Fade Settings" results in a serious Error and a created Crashdump.
After that the Program is still stable.

Anyone can reproduce?

Win10
Attachments
Nuendo 10.0.20.187 64bit 2019.5.2 12.49.03.515.dmp
(1.21 MiB) Downloaded 44 times

Yannick
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Auto Fade Settings

Post by Yannick » Thu May 02, 2019 11:53 am

Absolutely !

viewtopic.php?f=291&t=159392

Win7 64

Yannick
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Auto Fade Settings

Post by Yannick » Thu May 02, 2019 12:03 pm

Auto Fades are somehow buggy/broken

I have identified this bug if anyone cares to repro :

viewtopic.php?f=291&t=159402

The workaround I have now for AutoFade "corrupting" a project is to open the project in Nu8, switch off all auto-fades settings, save then re-open in Nu10 and never touch auto fades anymore...

Regards
Yannick
Last edited by Yannick on Thu May 02, 2019 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hendrix97
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Auto Fade Settings

Post by hendrix97 » Thu May 02, 2019 12:33 pm

yes... seems to be the best way for now.
Hope it gets fixed soon.

Helidream
Junior Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Auto Fade Settings

Post by Helidream » Mon May 06, 2019 8:39 am

Hi, did someone test autocrossfades for recorded clips with Nuendo 10 ?


It was fundamentally broken in previous Nuendo versions (because the lack of post record buffer).

The problem for recorded material is that the end of recorded audio clips do not have a post record buffer, this mean that auto-crossfading is simply not possible.

Worst, the crossfade at the end of each recorded audio clip is silently replaced by a fade out, followed by a fade in of the next clip, without user notification.

This mean that audio quality is altered and most importantly this modification is hided from users because there is no graphical representation of autocrossfades. You need to mixdown the track and zoom in into the resulting waveform to see the result.

This mean as well that most users will not notice the missing crossfades.

The problem does not exhibit at the start of audio clips because the prerecord buffer do allow to extend the recorded clip material to the left so that crossfading becomes possible.

Clearly this is a problem that nobody seems to care about, but this is a serious flaw when using Nuendo for recording sessions. This is something that is working flawlessly in Protools (Protools do have a post record buffer).

If you add this problem to the bugged VCA automation functionality that users have reported since Nuendo 7, it is clear that Nuendo cannot compete with Protools for recording sessions, or at least it is difficult to trust it for that use.

From my experience, the worst thing a DAW can do is silently modifying the mix because of bugs. Those bugs should be at the top priority of the developer correction list so that the software can be trusted by professionals.


See here a description of the problem :

viewtopic.php?f=275&t=136680&hilit=record+crossfade

viewtopic.php?f=276&t=136677


See as well this request :

Convert autocrossfade to crossfade to adjust record autocrossfades

viewtopic.php?f=276&t=136676
Comps+OS: PC Intel Core i7 six core 's - X79 Chipset - 256 Go SATA SSD - 1 To SATA Hard disk, 16 Go RAM - Win 7 Pro 64 Dual 27" monitors - AMD Firepro V7900 video card - Nuendo 8.2.0.
MR816csx - UR44 - MOTU 828 mkIII audio interfaces - Control surfaces : JLCooper MCS3800 (mixing) - AKAI AFX + Midi translator Pro (monitoring) - Rogers LS3/5a proximity monitors.
Sony PCM-7040 DAT - TASCAM HD-P2 recorder - PTV PT5210 Digital sync generator - Steinberg Timebase - Adam Smith ZETA3 synchronizers.
Lindos LA100 audio analyzer, HP 5372A frequency and time interval analyzer, Siglent SDG2042X signal generator - Tektronix TDS5000 scope - Efratom 10 MHz rubidium clock - HP Z3816A GPS frequency standard.

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Auto Fade Settings

Post by HughH » Fri May 17, 2019 10:10 pm

hendrix97 wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 11:50 am
Opening the "Auto Fade Settings" results in a serious Error and a created Crashdump.
After that the Program is still stable.

Anyone can reproduce?

Win10
Yes. Every time.

When I try to set fades for an individual track - uncheck "use Project Settings" - it doesn't take. Box is checked again upon reopen.

If I then open the Project settings I get the "A serious problem . . ." window. From there on it's repeated "A serious problem . . ." windows.
Yannick's suggestion may work to turn it all off in N8 and then not touch it nay be a solution.
Don't have 8 installed.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

Graveley
Junior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: Auto Fade Settings

Post by Graveley » Sat May 18, 2019 5:15 am

Please fix!
N10 Windows 7

Yannick
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Auto Fade Settings

Post by Yannick » Sun May 19, 2019 10:03 am

Some C10 users report the same problem, it seems it doesn't affect everyone...pretty annoying.

On my machine, I have C8,5 C9,5 N7,5 N8 and N10 installed

I suspect something when wrong during N10 install. Could it be some settings migrated badly from other versions ?

In this article :

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

I can only see : Crossfade presets \Presets\RAMPresets.xml

I'd like to know where the Auto Fades settings of the program are stored.

Any idea ?

Regards
Yannick

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Robin Walsh and 3 guests