HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Post Reply
miguelnunes
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post by miguelnunes » Fri May 03, 2019 3:18 am

Ok.
This happened to me before, back in the V5 days, if I can recall. Ive manage to solve this issue back in the day without any help, but Im losing my mind here on N10.
I was trying with Eucon settings, Avid S3 and Dock, and suddenly I only got the playhead of N10 on the ruler space, before those Eucon trials everything was fine with N10, but I opened N8 and I did get the ruler and also playhead on the edit window, everything was fine with V8. This is weird cause I tend to upgrade Steinberg software while keeping an old version.
Wheres the option on prefs in order for the playhead vertical line to extend to the edit window?
Im loosing my mind here...
Here are some screens.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers.
Attachments
Screenshot 2019-05-03 at 02.48.52.png
(820.23 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screenshot 2019-05-03 at 02.41.53.png
(219.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post by twelvetwelve » Fri May 03, 2019 3:37 am

Turn off edit mode under the transport menu.

Eneco
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post by Eneco » Fri May 03, 2019 8:39 am

I always wondered, why it's not possible to have booth at the same time: edit mode and displaying the playhead

basicX
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post by basicX » Fri May 03, 2019 8:51 am

Still "it's a feature not a bug" is what they say...
For me, there is no sense in it and it SHOULD be possible to decide if i want to disable the playhead :-/ !

SB please give us an option for that. Thanks!
Nuendo 3 - 10.1, Cubase 10 Pro, PT 3 - 11.3.1, RME UFX, AVID HD Native, AVID HD I/O, AVID I/O192 (Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance Mega Pack, and so on...)

Windows 10 Pro x64
System from Digital Audio Networx
Intel i9 14core, Gigabyte, 64GB Ram, GF 1050ti, UAD Quad, 3 * Avid Artis Mix, Monitoring: Studio Technologie Model 74

Pro Audio broadcast post for german and international clients
www.media-atelier.tv

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post by fuzzydude » Fri May 03, 2019 9:04 am

basicX wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 8:51 am
Still "it's a feature not a bug" is what they say...
For me, there is no sense in it and it SHOULD be possible to decide if i want to disable the playhead :-/ !

SB please give us an option for that. Thanks!
+1
Comps+OS: Macbook Pro's 10.13.4 I PC's - i7's - M2's - SSD's I Win10 Pro x64 (V-1809)I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro | Absolute Collection | VSTConnect (latest versions)

Dolfo
Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post by Dolfo » Fri May 03, 2019 9:30 am

No sense to disappear the vertical line in edit mode. It could change colour for example.
MacPro 12 cores 3,06GHz 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.5
Nuendo 10 (4 rooms) / Cubase Pro 10
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Yamaha DM2000 V2 / Yamaha 01V96 V2 / Houston
MOTU 896HD mk3 / MOTU Traveler / MOTU 8Pre / MIDI Express 128 / MOTU MTPII

miguelnunes
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post by miguelnunes » Fri May 03, 2019 5:41 pm

Thanks!

Yeah, I never work in "edit" mode and while I was trying for the jog on the pt dock not to behave as a "srub", I must have triggered the edit mode on Nuendo. Ive manage to do that on an avid transport but not on the dock, for the jog to behave like an MCU one, its an eucon issue, there's no prefs for the jog on the dock.
And yes, maybe an option for having the same playhead on edit mode?

Anyways, thanks.

benmrx
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post by benmrx » Fri May 03, 2019 6:29 pm

+1

I'm pretty new to Nuendo, but the 'edit mode' is the ONLY mode that makes any sense to me...lol. Unless I'm missing something, it's the only option that lets us click anywhere and start playback from that point. Whether it's in empty space, in the middle of an event, etc.

It would be nice to see a playhead.
Dolfo wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 9:30 am
No sense to disappear the vertical line in edit mode. It could change colour for example.
+1 good idea!
Nuendo 10.1 (iMac Pro 10 core, 64GB Ram, Mojave), (x3) PTHDX 12.8.1 each with C24 Controllers, (5,1 Cheesegraters, El Capitan, 32GB Ram), (x2) 5.1 Surround mix rooms

User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 739
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post by Sunshy » Fri May 03, 2019 9:57 pm

+1
N 8.3 Cubase 10
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit
RME UFX, UR28M, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

Splaaat
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:04 am
Contact:

Re: HELP! Vertical PlayHead only displays on ruler track.

Post by Splaaat » Sat May 04, 2019 3:32 pm

+1

Not sure why the playhead disappears.
Nuendo 10 | Mac Mini 2018 | 3.2GHz i7 6-Core 32GB RAM | UAD Apollo X | RME UFX

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests