N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:34 pm

Steinberg and community:

Please tell me this is user error. I just installed 10.1 and my key command for transparent mode (in which I work almost exclusively) is no longer working, and I can't find it in Key Commands.

Is it gone? I very much want it not to be.

Help!

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Aldersyde » Wed Jun 26, 2019 5:38 pm

I'm also upset at the possibility of transparent events not being an option anymore.

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Wed Jun 26, 2019 5:46 pm

I hope I'm not just panicking because it's not where it was before. Maybe configuration options have changed?

There are plenty of ways to skin a cat in Nuendo, but Transparent Events is (or maybe was...) nice and clean... and toggleable.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by miguelnunes » Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:19 pm

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 5:46 pm
I hope I'm not just panicking because it's not where it was before. Maybe configuration options have changed?

There are plenty of ways to skin a cat in Nuendo, but Transparent Events is (or maybe was...) nice and clean... and toggleable.

Chewy
Same here!
And you've managed to trigger my own panic mode.
I did tried to mess around with the events background colour scheme, if you make changes on the prefs, they don't translate to the events.
Guessing is a full blown bug.

.......

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by HughH » Wed Jun 26, 2019 8:43 pm

miguelnunes wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:19 pm

I did tried to mess around with the events background colour scheme, if you make changes on the prefs, they don't translate to the events.
Guessing is a full blown bug.
.......
It works correctly here. Some changes require that you hit "Apply" before you see the effect.
It seems they have adopted the Cubase style of event handling.
The online manual has also been updated.

Personally - perhaps as a Cubase transplant - I prefer it.

Now I can adjust the visibility of Events as they are moved.
I can see MIDI data much clearer as it's brightness is now adjustable.
I can see waveforms clearer with the outlines and brightness adjustable.
I can gently color the track headers.

I have not yet dared to save a "Preference Preset". That did cause serious problems and I don't see it mentioned as fixed.

Though I had no use for them, I can understand missing Transparent Events if that was a favorite.

They still retained the "Red Line Around the Event" method of selection indication which I do not like - especially if the Event is Red.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability
Pro Tools Ult cause I have to

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:57 pm

I hope this is a between-versions oversight. In the meantime, I'm going to mess around and see if there's a way to approximate it, but don't have high hopes.

It's more than "a favorite." It is a very useful and often used part of how I work.

I would like to see Transparent Events come back, pronto. Why get rid of it? Was it hurting somebody?

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by miguelnunes » Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:17 pm

HughH wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 8:43 pm
miguelnunes wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:19 pm

I did tried to mess around with the events background colour scheme, if you make changes on the prefs, they don't translate to the events.
Guessing is a full blown bug.
.......
It works correctly here. Some changes require that you hit "Apply" before you see the effect.
It seems they have adopted the Cubase style of event handling.
The online manual has also been updated.

Personally - perhaps as a Cubase transplant - I prefer it.

Now I can adjust the visibility of Events as they are moved.
I can see MIDI data much clearer as it's brightness is now adjustable.
I can see waveforms clearer with the outlines and brightness adjustable.
I can gently color the track headers.

I have not yet dared to save a "Preference Preset". That did cause serious problems and I don't see it mentioned as fixed.

Though I had no use for them, I can understand missing Transparent Events if that was a favorite.

They still retained the "Red Line Around the Event" method of selection indication which I do not like - especially if the Event is Red.

Hugh
I did hit "apply".
Im on the issue for 3 hours now, can't seem to get my "clean edit" workflow for Post. Im panicking!
There was no "thick" red line on the vanilla release of N10, what the hells going on?!

Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Aldersyde » Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:55 pm

If anyone from Steinberg is paying attention, I like the transparent mode because it's easier to move audio events around and get them timed right, due to the fact that it's easier to see the diagonal lines representing the beats and sub divisions.

Please bring that feature back ASAP!!

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by HughH » Thu Jun 27, 2019 12:16 am

Aldersyde wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:55 pm
I like the transparent mode because it's easier to move audio events around and get them timed right, due to the fact that it's easier to see the diagonal lines representing the beats and sub divisions.
You can adjust this under Preferences, Event Display, Event Handling Opacity.

You can also adjust Grid Overlay Intensity in the same place.
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability
Pro Tools Ult cause I have to

Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Aldersyde » Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:10 am

HughH wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 12:16 am
Aldersyde wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:55 pm
I like the transparent mode because it's easier to move audio events around and get them timed right, due to the fact that it's easier to see the diagonal lines representing the beats and sub divisions.
You can adjust this under Preferences, Event Display, Event Handling Opacity.

You can also adjust Grid Overlay Intensity in the same place.
That helps but still doesn't work the same.And it's also not as pleasing looking to my eyes as the transparent events.

miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by miguelnunes » Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:53 am

5 hours now into trying to solve this "issue".
This is a major backstab to all of us Nuendo users, I can't edit vocals or whatever in Post, with this kind of settings.
Yup, Im on panic mode, Nuendo is my primary daw for almost 12 years now.

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:15 am

It is a gut punch. Not happy about this. Again, why take it away?

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Aldersyde » Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:40 pm

Agreed. It really doesn't make any sense to delete a useful feature like that.

It looks as though Steinberg has implemented Cubase's preferences, with the color scheme and look, etc., into Nuendo.

Zinnematic
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:34 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Zinnematic » Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:06 pm

I like the new waveform options and overall look, but I agree that the transparent option should still be there.

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:18 pm

Somebody from Steinberg: please say something about this.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Robin Walsh
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Robin Walsh » Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:11 am

I'm really liking the new options. Setting up the opacity has given me the best of both worlds without having to toggle options. The grid visibility (also adjustable) has made things even more streamlined. I'm a happy guy. I can understand the frustration of some guys so, if there's a way to still have the previous options that''l be a bonus, but please don't lose the current setup. It didn't take me long to adapt to the new workflow and I prefer it now.

I'm also assuming that the new workflow is the same as Cubase, which in the long run will make updates and fixes quicker, having less basic differences to deal with between the DAW's. In my book that's a good thing.
Nuendo 10.02 - Windows 10 - i9 9900K - nVidia GeForce 1060 - RME Raydat - Amphion

JBF
Junior Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 12:26 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by JBF » Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:04 pm

The Nuendo's transparent mode was only there in order to fix the screwed up visiblity of Playhead Cursor which was disappearing behind the events when dragging these and to compensate the missing Grid Overlay Intensity option from Cubase.
But Event Handling Opacity set up to the max or the old Nuendo Playhead Cursor behaviour.....
It just doesn't make any sense.
Or can somebody tell me how can I benefit from Events obscuring the playhead cursor? When I am dragging of moving the events, I usually would want to allign them to some sort of visual anchor. That is either grid or in the most cases the playhead cursor.
If the visibility of playhead cursor was implemented properly from the very beginning there would be no need for transparent mode.

But again Steinberg, if you introduce some new options, try to keep the old ones as well - let us, pro users choose, don't force it on us.
I personally don't need the transparent mode, but I can perfectly understand professionals who doesn't want to change their workflows.

Missing Tools from Right Click Menue, missing functions from right click menue, the new color tool form Cubase 10.0 (it was fixed in the following iteration) - there are several examples where Steinberg just breaks the workflow of long time users sometimes just for cosmetic reasons.
Win8.1/64bit / Core i7-3930K 6*3,20 GHz /GA-X79-UP4/4*16 gb/NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti Palit > Cubase 9.0.4 Pro

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:42 pm

Robin Walsh wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:11 am
Setting up the opacity has given me the best of both worlds without having to toggle options. The grid visibility (also adjustable) has made things even more streamlined. I'm a happy guy...It didn't take me long to adapt to the new workflow and I prefer it now.
It's good to hear that you've found that the new setup works for you-- I'm hoping that I can be similarly adaptable. My initial efforts have not felt as promising, but hope springs eternal. The toggle-ability is something I think I'll continue to miss. I would still like to hear from Steinberg about the intended advantages of the new setup and am mystified by the unanticipated and undocumented disappearance of this much-used feature!

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Robin Walsh
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Robin Walsh » Fri Jun 28, 2019 1:02 pm

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:42 pm
Robin Walsh wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:11 am
Setting up the opacity has given me the best of both worlds without having to toggle options. The grid visibility (also adjustable) has made things even more streamlined. I'm a happy guy...It didn't take me long to adapt to the new workflow and I prefer it now.
It's good to hear that you've found that the new setup works for you-- I'm hoping that I can be similarly adaptable. My initial efforts have not felt as promising, but hope springs eternal. The toggle-ability is something I think I'll continue to miss. I would still like to hear from Steinberg about the intended advantages of the new setup and am mystified by the unanticipated and undocumented disappearance of this much-used feature!

Chewy
Chewy, I feel you! I was in the middle of a big mix when I did the update. After a little 'messing around' I carried on mixing with the new layout. By the end of the mix last night I must admit that I prefer the new workflow. I didn't use 'transparent' much because it just made the project really hard to focus on. But, I really missed the original 'opaque' view when sliding clips over each other for editing (it used to work that way and then for a few updates/versions it was gone!) Now it feels as if I've got the it all. I'm going miss having a key command that toggled between 'colorise background' and not - the constant full colour of parts will get a bit tiring for me! Maybe I'm just getting old!!! ;D
Nuendo 10.02 - Windows 10 - i9 9900K - nVidia GeForce 1060 - RME Raydat - Amphion

Sonic_Dropper
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Sonic_Dropper » Fri Jun 28, 2019 11:00 pm

This is terrible. Please fix it back how it was.

miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by miguelnunes » Sat Jun 29, 2019 12:55 am

Robin Walsh wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 1:02 pm
Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:42 pm
Robin Walsh wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:11 am
Setting up the opacity has given me the best of both worlds without having to toggle options. The grid visibility (also adjustable) has made things even more streamlined. I'm a happy guy...It didn't take me long to adapt to the new workflow and I prefer it now.
It's good to hear that you've found that the new setup works for you-- I'm hoping that I can be similarly adaptable. My initial efforts have not felt as promising, but hope springs eternal. The toggle-ability is something I think I'll continue to miss. I would still like to hear from Steinberg about the intended advantages of the new setup and am mystified by the unanticipated and undocumented disappearance of this much-used feature!

Chewy
Chewy, I feel you! I was in the middle of a big mix when I did the update. After a little 'messing around' I carried on mixing with the new layout. By the end of the mix last night I must admit that I prefer the new workflow. I didn't use 'transparent' much because it just made the project really hard to focus on. But, I really missed the original 'opaque' view when sliding clips over each other for editing (it used to work that way and then for a few updates/versions it was gone!) Now it feels as if I've got the it all. I'm going miss having a key command that toggled between 'colorise background' and not - the constant full colour of parts will get a bit tiring for me! Maybe I'm just getting old!!! ;D
Robin, from what I gathered in the past 2 days testing wise, I can't go nowhere near the clean setup I had on previous versions. Ill be posting links with screenshots on the respective threads starting tomorrow, maybe someone from Steinberg says something, its about time.

Cheers.

miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by miguelnunes » Sat Jun 29, 2019 4:13 pm

Ok, Ive attached 2 screenshots, one is from the workflow Ive been using since N6, the other from the N10.1 update. Keep in mind, the release version of N10 was just like the previous versions.
the background colour that I use is the stock one, the most dark one, either dark gray or dark blue.
The screenshot from the 10.1 update has the stock preferences that came with it, I've tried multiple settings, can't get the colour scheme that suits me.
Am I missing something? I had to get back to N8 after this 10.1 update, this type of colour scheme simply doesn't work for me.
Ill appreciate any kind of help from you guys, thanks.

Cheers
Attachments
Nuendo 10.1 colour scheme.png
(682.64 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Nuendo 8 Workspace colour scheme.png
(703.69 KiB) Not downloaded yet

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by twelvetwelve » Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:16 am

Attached is how I have it set up which I find fine to use.
Attachments
N10_colors.png
(260.17 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Robin Walsh
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Robin Walsh » Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:36 am

twelvetwelve wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:16 am
Attached is how I have it set up which I find fine to use.
I love that color palette!!! That should be the default!!
Nuendo 10.02 - Windows 10 - i9 9900K - nVidia GeForce 1060 - RME Raydat - Amphion

miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by miguelnunes » Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:51 pm

twelvetwelve wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:16 am
Attached is how I have it set up which I find fine to use.
Tried it already, couldn't get used to it.
I like coloured waveforms, working like that since N3.
Why remove the transparent events option?!
I simply don't get it.

Cheers.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest