CC121 pre-sale questions

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration Controller CC121.
Post Reply
seahawk
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:00 am
Contact:

CC121 pre-sale questions

Post by seahawk » Wed May 09, 2018 12:12 pm

After seeing how great channel strip control with the Console 1 looks and realizing I really prefer using Cubase's built-in channel settings / strip, I am know thinking about buying the CC121..

I have a few questions. Any info is appreciated!

- I use a EUCON controller (Artist Mix), exclusively for controlling quick controls. Will the CC121 and Artist Mix get along?

- This may be kind of obvious, but when I bring up the Channel Settings window for a track in the project window, will the CC121 switch to that channel? I mainly mix VST rack instrument audio returns from their Channel Settings window, not from the mix console..

- My main use will be controlling the built-in channel EQ. Does it work well for that?

- Will the Channel Select < > buttons take my visibility settings into account? It would be great if I have my visibility set to show tracks with data and have the CC121 only move between those shown tracks in the project window.

- Can I use the AI Knob to control info line fields (and even better.. can I lock it to info line fields?)

- Is the volume knob at the top right of the unit actually user-assignable? I would like to assign it to the channel’s lowcut filter in the pre section.

Thank you!

User avatar
keyzs
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 5:41 am
Contact:

Re: CC121 pre-sale questions

Post by keyzs » Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:37 pm

seahawk wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 12:12 pm
After seeing how great channel strip control with the Console 1 looks and realizing I really prefer using Cubase's built-in channel settings / strip, I am know thinking about buying the CC121..

I have a few questions. Any info is appreciated!

- I use a EUCON controller (Artist Mix), exclusively for controlling quick controls. Will the CC121 and Artist Mix get along?
They shoudln't fight.... i hope. technically they run via separate USB driver controls and all features of the CC121 are set from the Device Setup page within Cubase.

seahawk wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 12:12 pm
- This may be kind of obvious, but when I bring up the Channel Settings window for a track in the project window, will the CC121 switch to that channel? I mainly mix VST rack instrument audio returns from their Channel Settings window, not from the mix console..
the "e" button on the CC121 will open the Channel Edit window of any selected channel. using the Channel Select buttons at the bottom, moves between channels while still keeping that Chanel Edit window open of that new channel.
seahawk wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 12:12 pm
- My main use will be controlling the built-in channel EQ. Does it work well for that?
Perfect. no worries.
seahawk wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 12:12 pm
- Will the Channel Select < > buttons take my visibility settings into account? It would be great if I have my visibility set to show tracks with data and have the CC121 only move between those shown tracks in the project window.
yup as above. similar to having the Channel Edit window open.
seahawk wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 12:12 pm
- Can I use the AI Knob to control info line fields (and even better.. can I lock it to info line fields?)
Nope. Info Line parameters not affected.
seahawk wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 12:12 pm
- Is the volume knob at the top right of the unit actually user-assignable? I would like to assign it to the channel’s lowcut filter in the pre section.
The user assignable buttons are set based on the parameters defined within the MIDI Generic Remote section. Unfortunately the Pre Section is not available. The advantage of the AI Knob is when you have the mouse hovering over almost every parameter, that parameter can be changed using the AI Knob.

There was another similar post on this.

viewtopic.php?f=30&t=135779

Thank you!
[/quote]

hope this helps.
intel i7-3770, Gigabyte Z77, AMD HD6970, Kingstons 32GB, Win7 x64, UR-44, CC-121, Cubase Pro 8.0.40 (Build 623) x64

http://illuminesymphony.ddns.net/

seahawk
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: CC121 pre-sale questions

Post by seahawk » Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:49 am

Thanks for your help, keyzs!

User avatar
rtorstrick
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: CC121 pre-sale questions

Post by rtorstrick » Wed Jul 25, 2018 6:54 pm

keyzs wrote:
Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:37 pm
seahawk wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 12:12 pm
- My main use will be controlling the built-in channel EQ. Does it work well for that?
Perfect. no worries.
Well, just so you know, the layout of the EQ buttons is NOT the same as Cubase, which takes some getting used to. See:

viewtopic.php?f=30&t=138226
Windows 10
Cubase 9.5.30, Halion 6.1.15, Wavelab 9.5.35, Dorico 2.1
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2x2TB SATA media drives,
G-Drive 3TB USB 3 drive.
Steinberg UR-RT 2, Steinberg MR816csx, Yamaha KX8, CC121, UAD-2 Duo (Pcie)

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CC121”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest